Old 21st October 2016, 09:37   #1
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 580
Milkdrop doesn't work on Win10 (1607)

Hello,

during the installation routine of our beloved program an error message pops up saying that DirectX9 (?!) components are missing. The installation is finished properly but as soon as I hit CTRL+K (to start MilkDrop) I again see an error message complaining about missing d3dx9_31.dll file.

All this happened on a clean Windows 10 (1607) installation with its newest drivers from Intel, Creative and nVidia.

Searching the forum for a plausible solution of that problem led me to a thread, in which one of the developer claims to have broken the Plug-In in order to get another problem solved. The post is dated from Nov 2011.

Some user claim to have no problems whatsoever on Windows 10 machines so I would not know spontaneously if the Plug-In is still broken or the fresh Windows 10 installation indeed is missing a file. (what I really doubt)

I also copied and pasted those missing files from DirectX 9.0c (XP) and downloaded an old MilkDop version (1.9) which was not recognized by Winamp. None of these helped.


Do any of you know a workaround to get Milddrop worked?

Last edited by PeterK.; 21st October 2016 at 12:13.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2016, 12:23   #2
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 888
Milkdrop requires DirectX 9. You can download it from microsoft and install it in parallel to higher versions presumably installed on your machine. I have done this on various machines, the installation is quick and in general without problems, and does not interfere with newer DirectX Verseion.
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2016, 15:59   #3
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 580
Hello Nitorami,

I installed DirectX 9.0c, started Winamp and MilkDrop and ...

... works like a charm ...

Thanks
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 14:53   #4
Cathytaylor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Install the latest version

I had the same issue a few days back but now I have installed the latest version and now works fine for me. Thanks to Mr.Lollywood for helping me.
Cathytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump