Old 2nd June 2019, 10:27   #1
gulbis37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Windows and Linux

My SHOUTcast verion shows,than it runs on Linux version,but I have Windowsx64...should I upgrade now to Windows verion or should I install new version of SHOUTcast server and erase previous?
gulbis37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2019, 10:31   #2
NJK
The Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,981
simple advice

don't try to change anything if you have no clue what to do.
If it works at the moment for you , stick with it.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2019, 10:37   #3
gulbis37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
simple advice

don't try to change anything if you have no clue what to do.
If it works at the moment for you , stick with it.
Ok,but it asks to upgrade DNAS version,which is for Linux,and it is no possible to do on Windows...I still running on 2.5.1 .724 and I can not monetizing my station..
gulbis37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2019, 13:50   #4
NJK
The Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,981
if you run windows you CAN'T use a linux setup.

seen your other posts and the only thing to do is read on shoutcast.com the FAQ before proceding to setup a stream there.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2019, 14:21   #5
gulbis37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
if you run windows you CAN'T use a linux setup.

seen your other posts and the only thing to do is read on shoutcast.com the FAQ before proceding to setup a stream there.
It was 3 years or more ago,when I set up server,I am not so stupid ,probably there was not Windows server version...
gulbis37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2019, 14:26   #6
gulbis37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
if you run windows you CAN'T use a linux setup.

seen your other posts and the only thing to do is read on shoutcast.com the FAQ before proceding to setup a stream there.
anyway,how it is possible,than linux version is running on Windows like in my case...
gulbis37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2019, 19:19   #7
NJK
The Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,981
You can't run a linux version of shoutcast on windows or IOS

in your case you stream from your windows computer to a linux server.

that server can accept a stream from windows, IOS or linux. it's just the data that its recieving.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2019, 07:43   #8
DJ-Garybaldy
Major Dude
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 1,244
Quote:
You can't run a linux version of shoutcast on windows or IOS
Apparently there's software that allows you to run Linux applications on Windows... Who Knew??

Maybe that's what he's wanting to accomplish....



Proud USER of RadioDJ since 2010

Online: Twitter - Blog - RadioDJ
DJ-Garybaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump