Old 1st August 2004, 21:51   #1
lefthanded
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
windows volume control && winamp 5.02 volume control

I found lots of posts for disabiling/seprating the connection between the winamp volume slider and windows volume control but my problem is exactly the opposite: I want them to be one and the same.

I have tryed using both:
"DirectSound output v2.2.10 [out_ds.dll]"
"waveOut output v2.0.2.a [out_wave.dll]"

I can only get them to disable the slider in winamp. I want it to control the master volume or wave volume for the system through Winamp 5.02.

Chances are I am doing something wrong, any help is very much apprecated.
lefthanded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2004, 21:57   #2
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
For me, that waveOut output volume and the Wave system volume are the same. Note that if you change the volume through Windows volume control, the slider in Winamp will not be automatically refreshed. The connection might be there nevertheless.
(check by lowering system volume; after that, click the volume slider in Winamp at the spot where it is shown...
if you hear a difference, the volumes are connected)

Btw, I'm using 5.04, I'm not sure wether that matters, but try upgrading.

[edit]
be sure the mixer device in Windows volume control is the same as in Winamp > Prefs > Output > waveOut
[edit2]
edited a bit ^^

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2004, 22:19   #3
lefthanded
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
no connection

the windows volume control and winamp are using the same sound card / mixer device.

the sounds are independed of each other. Basicly winamp is stacked on top of the systems wave volume.

I am going to try downloading the current version, but still this problem is in need of more help :0(
lefthanded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2004, 22:23   #4
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
Use Wave Out, make sure Alt method is NOT selected in the waveOut config.

It will control Winder's WAVE volume. You can't control Master with Winamp.

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2004, 22:36   #5
lefthanded
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Revelation

LOL I was right; that is that I was doing something wrong.

It was working all along with waveOut. The problem is that the windows volume control is not refreshing dynamically (have to close and reopen to see the change). In win98 it would do it on the fly.

Thanks for the help people, more so for the fastest responses I have ever seen in a forum.
lefthanded is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump