Old 27th September 2007, 14:45   #1
jsaleiro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Setting Winamp default keys (not Global Hotkeys)

Hello,


i can i change the default keys of Winamp? I am not talking about the Global Hotkeys, but the keys we use when winamp is focused?

Thanks,

João Saleiro
jsaleiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2007, 15:27   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Those cannot be changed.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2007, 15:33   #3
jsaleiro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
I have a presenter device that I use with Powerpoint, but i would like to use it to control Winamp. The keys it sends are F5, ESC, Page Up, Page Down, and b . Since these are very generic keys they can't be used as Global Hotkeys. I would prefer to change the default keys.

I don't see a reason why they can't be changed. Can't that be added to a future release of Winamp? Or as a plugin?

Thanks.
BTW, I use Winamp since it's first public release, but i never had opportunity to say... Great work, guys.
jsaleiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2007, 15:54   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you'd need to alter the accelerator table mappings in a custom language pack file (there's a pre-built version for 5.35 in the dev forum stickies - would just need a resource editor then edit it with) to map those keys to the relevant menu actions (if they exist) and of cource winamp would have to focused at the time (not having a remote i can't remember how those things interact with the messages sent)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2007, 16:10   #5
jsaleiro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
DrO, thanks for your help. Can you point me where to get the resource editor? I've made some googling without success...

Thanks,

João Saleiro
jsaleiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2007, 16:44   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
resource hacker is the one i generally use (not on my own machine so i can't remember what is needed to be done to edit the accelerator table offhand)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2007, 17:40   #7
flocksoft
Major Dude
 
flocksoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 695
Resource Hacker from a safe source: http://www.softpedia.com/get/Program...e-Hacker.shtml

I use it to change the fonts in programs: MS Sans Serif -> MS Shell Dialg
flocksoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump