Old 8th September 2007, 20:58   #1
gsly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Equalizer

1) The bar graph at the top of window that shows frequencies - how high does it go, it doesn't say. The equalizer is only to 16h. I can't understand why up to 44h is ignored. We lower 16h, but everything above is still just as high? Same in Realplayer.

2) Auto-load presets - loads for the designated song but doesn't revert for the next song.

3) Equalizer ON button - it equalizes to straight line, it's not NO equalization if we have no settings. Correct?
gsly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 06:09   #2
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
1) most humans can't hear frequencies higher than 16Khz

cd's are 22khz per channel at 16bits.(and since they are stereo its 44.1khz)

2) yes

3) equiliser is ON but it doesn't do anything apart from use resources.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 09:57   #3
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
The sample rate shown as 22kHz or 44 kHz indicates number of audio samples per second. The equalizer works with audio signal frequencies, which range from 20Hz - 20kHz which is audible.

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 10:15   #4
flocksoft
Major Dude
 
flocksoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally posted by Rocker
cd's are 22khz per channel at 16bits.(and since they are stereo its 44.1 khz)
this is true, but the cd's are at 44.1KHz, not because the audio is stereo, but for the Nyquist–Shannon sampling theorem

Exact reconstruction of a continuous-time baseband signal from its samples is possible if the signal is bandlimited and the sampling frequency is greater than twice the signal bandwidth
flocksoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 10:49   #5
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
technicalities eh
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 11:31   #6
pEar 242
Member
 
pEar 242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Moscow, Korolev
Posts: 97
I do not use winamp eq. Work winamp EQ is awful. Ranges of frequencies are picked up not competently. Other party of it foobar 2000 EQ use it.
pEar 242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 11:49   #7
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
eh....... what?
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 14:30   #8
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
@ gsly

Question 2)...

If you want the EQ to revert back for non auto presets, you will need to set (or reset) a default/"fall back preset...
  1. set the sliders to your preference for a default
  2. press Presets button
  3. select Save
  4. select Default
For more information on using the Equalizer, see the Equalizer Q&A Guide.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2007, 11:35   #9
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
@ gsly

Question 2)...

If you want the EQ to revert back for non auto presets, you will need to set (or reset) a default/"fall back preset...[list=1][*] set the sliders to your preference for a default[*] press Presets button[*] select Save[*] select Default[/list=1]
For more information on using the Equalizer, see the Equalizer Q&A Guide.
Thanks! Didn't know that!

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 08:32   #10
gsly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Re 2 - talking about a playlist where it goes from one song to next.
Re 3 - my impression is it changes the sound.
gsly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 16:07   #11
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally posted by gsly
Re 2 - talking about a playlist where it goes from one song to next.
Re 3 - my impression is it changes the sound.
Re 2 - As said above, create a EQ preset named 'Default' and it will revert to it as you wished.
Re 3 - It really does not change the sound.

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2007, 21:50   #12
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
RE 2
If we are understanding your question correctly, you want the EQ to revert back to a default or regular preset for files you don't have auto presets set to. Correct? See the attachment which shows the instructions in the previous reply(ies).

RE 3
I have not noticed changes in the sound with the EQ when all sliders are at normal/"flat level" values. So if you are hearing a change, it would most likely be placebo effect. However, as the EQ uses additional resources when on, some users with lower end systems may notice some distortion.
Attached Images
File Type: gif eq_default.gif (25.4 KB, 631 views)

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump