Old 31st October 2003, 03:51   #201
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Why do I think that most of the stuff(Internationalization,title scroll speed...) is added to the WA3 side of WA5?

Is the WA2 side really limited?

Thanx
iron2000 is offline  
Old 31st October 2003, 04:17   #202
EfaustuS9
Major Dude
 
EfaustuS9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,895
Send a message via ICQ to EfaustuS9 Send a message via AIM to EfaustuS9 Send a message via Yahoo to EfaustuS9
3 Questions:

1st the CDDB feature of winamp5 fails to load stating "CDDB is not installed" how do I rectify this?

2nd can Winamp library 1.5 of winamp 5 be transfered to Winamp 2.95?

3rd I know its available but how do I access and activate the crossfading feature of Winamp5 (keyboard shortcut). I have been using sqrsoft v1.75 crossfading app with WA2,but it continuously crashes?

EfaustuS9 is offline  
Old 31st October 2003, 07:57   #203
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
1. Reinstall

2. Install Winamp5 without freeform skins support. Tada!

3. Preferences > Plug-ins > Output > DirectSound Output > Configure > Fading Tab
 
Old 31st October 2003, 08:55   #204
Paparazzi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally posted by Paparazzi
Was just wondering how do I activate this and where does it pop out at?

Cheerios
Quote:
Originally posted by auhsor
I was wondering about this. I think it's if you right click on the song tile in the main window, it has a little menu for file info etc. I'm not sure if thats what its referring to tho.
But if one has got to right click, whats the point??? Its not popping out!!! Besides, File Info is just another menu item!
Paparazzi is offline  
Old 31st October 2003, 08:58   #205
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It is a Pop-up menu, though. But that is what it is referring to. Notices how it was under the Modern Skin improvements section and not a normal improvement.
 
Old 1st November 2003, 00:48   #206
George Worley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 35
In both Beta 1 and Beta 2 of Winamp 5 MPG time wrong in the Play List. It gives all of the time is 5:55 even with the video being only a few seconds long.
George Worley is offline  
Old 1st November 2003, 01:13   #207
Dipso
Senior Member
 
Dipso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 379
Beta to seems to have som crashes and hangs releated to the media library and refreshing directories, i havent quite figgured out what happens, but if the bug occurs, winamp starts freezing at start and i have to delete the configs and data related to ML in order for it to work again.

Also beta2 seems to have broken media keyboard API support (yes, i have read the faq, but im talking about the microsoft STANDARD for multimedia keyboard, witch most new keyboards use, and it was working in beta1)

Phear the headbanging llama!!!

http://dipso.deviantart.com <- Art, Graphics, Photography.
Dipso is offline  
Old 1st November 2003, 11:04   #208
Starwarriorzero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
I heard about this beta in IRC and while I was hesitant on using it when I heard it was beta version, trying it, I say it is awesome very nice work if you gotta be close to releasing as non-beta judging on the looks (I have yet to get a single error). I look forward to winamp 5 and any (if any) new stuff you'll put with it.
Starwarriorzero is offline  
Old 1st November 2003, 21:55   #209
kingo'mountain
in need of banned aid
 
kingo'mountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: over the rainb... uh... nevermind
Posts: 2,716
not hurrying on using beta2, but nullsoft.... youre an A team!!!
kingo'mountain is offline  
Old 1st November 2003, 22:18   #210
rijswijk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally posted by Apollos
Er, why does my song restart when I edit an ID tag?
Its a fix because id tags sometimes can't be updated while the file is being used
rijswijk is offline  
Old 1st November 2003, 22:50   #211
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally posted by iron2000
Why do I think that most of the stuff(Internationalization,title scroll speed...) is added to the WA3 side of WA5?

Is the WA2 side really limited?
quite simply,
Yes!!

the wa2 platform is very limited and requires hacking to do a lot of the more useful things plugins do. the wa3/Wasabi platform is extremely flexible. essentially, it allows you to do just about anything.

~WHEREamI
WHEREamI is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 01:27   #212
arch_enemy
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 73
i read this "In the next version we will have ratings, playcounts and a play history in the ML!!"
are they talkign about the next version of winamp or the next beta of winamp 5?

and also, will winamp 5 install over winamp 2.x if its saved to a new directory?

and also, this is kind of OT but where can i dl past versions of winamp such as Winamp 2.8?
arch_enemy is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 02:03   #213
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
1) where did you read this?

2) No. You will then have two versions of Winamp installed, 2.x & 5.0 beta

3) winampheaven.net | oldversion.com
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 02:06   #214
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
1) where did you read this?
Will posted it here.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 02:49   #215
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Oh, right! Looks like Will knows more than most.

No idea if he meant 5.0 or 5.1 though . . .
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 04:46   #216
arch_enemy
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 73
hey, thanks a lot. i have nanother question. im having trouble with the avs thing. how do i make it not be random? i couldnt find it in the avs editor.
arch_enemy is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 10:48   #217
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Quote:
im having trouble with the avs thing. how do i make it not be random? i couldnt find it in the avs editor.
Settings/Presets Hotkeys/uncheck Randomly switch presets.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 11:29   #218
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
<3 milkdrop
mark is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 13:06   #219
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Oh, right! Looks like Will knows more than most.

No idea if he meant 5.0 or 5.1 though . . .
5.0 beta 3

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 13:34   #220
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
[impatient redneck 12 year old aol using n00b]

OMG!!!11!WHEN DOO WEE GIT BEETAR 3?!?!!?!!? OMG!WTF?LOL!11

[/impatient redneck 12 year old aol using n00b]
mark is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 13:41   #221
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
ts ts,
always those redneck 12 year old aol using noobs.

ts, ts


EDIT: time to remove this feature from the wishlist.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8

Last edited by amano; 2nd November 2003 at 14:04.
amano is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 16:07   #222
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Beta 3 hasn't been made built yet, one of the devs just mentioned that they had put it in.

check this, yo. http://bluemars.org/queryedit.png

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 16:32   #223
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
wow... the ratings thing, if it works like itunes system of play-high-rated-songs-more, will be awesome.

now if i could only just get brightness/contrast controls for the video...
inthegray is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 17:19   #224
mrrabbit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to mrrabbit
Winamp 5 rocks!
Great work

Q: The visualization takes 25% of my 3Ghz CPU, isn't that a bit much?
mrrabbit is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 17:28   #225
wakingrufus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally posted by will
Beta 3 hasn't been made built yet, one of the devs just mentioned that they had put it in.

check this, yo. http://bluemars.org/queryedit.png
i can't wait!
wakingrufus is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 17:57   #226
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Quote:
Originally posted by mrrabbit
Q: The visualization takes 25% of my 3Ghz CPU, isn't that a bit much?
Which visualization? Please be more specific.
The built-in spectrum analyzer?
The beat-detector in modern skin stretch-mode?
avs plugin?
milkdrop plugin?
other?
combo?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 18:07   #227
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Will the query editor add more bloat to Winamp?
Will it use up more hard disk space?
Like in order to calculate ratings(and playcount..etc), more details need to be saved.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 18:25   #228
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by iron2000
Will the query editor add more bloat to Winamp?
Will it use up more hard disk space?
Like in order to calculate ratings(and playcount..etc), more details need to be saved.
no, no and no.

Winamp already stores metadata about everything else to do with your tracks, so these extra few fields will add next to nothing as far as overhead, processor time and dll size. And this dialog is just to help build up queries, so is not going to be bloated (anyway, francis is wiring all that up, and hes a non-bloat master)

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 18:34   #229
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Thanks for the confirmation.
I feel more at ease now.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 21:49   #230
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
It looks a bit complificated. Perhaps a simple search mode?
mark is offline  
Old 2nd November 2003, 22:04   #231
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just use the normal search boc already in the ML.
 
Old 2nd November 2003, 22:57   #232
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
hmm. just did some performance settings on my celeron 800 with modern skin:

no vis, no title scrolling: 10-15% CPU
no vis, title scrolling: 20-30% CPU
vis (30ms), title scrolling (slow): 65% CPU load

hmm. title scrolling seems to have notable effect on performance. I wonder why there is no option to disable song title scrolling in the prefs for modern skins. I can set it to slow, but I cannot disable it completely.

That is something for my Winamp 5 Wishlist!

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 3rd November 2003, 01:04   #233
ertmann|CPH
Forum Viking
(Forum King)
 
ertmann|CPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The North
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally posted by will
no, no and no.

Winamp already stores metadata about everything else to do with your tracks, so these extra few fields will add next to nothing as far as overhead, processor time and dll size. And this dialog is just to help build up queries, so is not going to be bloated (anyway, francis is wiring all that up, and hes a non-bloat master)
hmmmmmm..... if you have 5000 tracks in your ml, if the average track title is 20 charecters + number of times played, let's just say a 2 digit number + a 10 digit date

160000 bits = 20000 bytes = 0.15 MB

Hardly bloat, is it?

or will it store them in the id tags somehow
ertmann|CPH is offline  
Old 3rd November 2003, 01:38   #234
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
doesn't it just store the info in the metadata database winamp makes?

C:\program files\winamp\plugins\ml\

if your interested
lunarboy1 is offline  
Old 3rd November 2003, 03:15   #235
StAnGeR04
Senior Member
 
StAnGeR04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far East Coast
Posts: 196
Send a message via AIM to StAnGeR04 Send a message via Yahoo to StAnGeR04
Quote:
Originally posted by bubkaii
BUG: double clicking on the lightning icon no longer brings up the media libarary in beta 2
is it giving you the about box bubkaii ??
that's what it's doing to me
StAnGeR04 is offline  
Old 3rd November 2003, 03:19   #236
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
@bubkaii

Just "off" by default.
Preferences > Options > Library > Library Options Tab > "Main Window lightning bolt opens Library instead of About Box"
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd November 2003, 03:20   #237
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
DJ Egg, you're real fast.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline  
Old 3rd November 2003, 04:27   #238
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
why did they change that? all those used to winamp 2.9x will be confused.

I hear the big cry from those sticking with the classic skins "oh no, the ML is gone!"

I hope they set the default setting back to WA2.9x behaviour. access to the about dialog is possible by the right click window. I think that's sufficient.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 3rd November 2003, 04:41   #239
lwells
Member
 
lwells's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sydney.Au
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally posted by amano
why did they change that? all those used to winamp 2.9x will be confused.

I hear the big cry from those sticking with the classic skins "oh no, the ML is gone!"

I hope they set the default setting back to WA2.9x behaviour. access to the about dialog is possible by the right click window. I think that's sufficient.
I would imagine they changed the behaviour because they expect most freeform skins to include a dedicated button for the ML.

Remember, the ML was hacked into the 2.9x series with no allowance for skinning it, and to save a whole bunch of 2.x skins from needing to be redone to include a button, they made the decision to have the lightning bolt launch the ML. With Winamp 3 and 5, its a very different kettle of fish.

LW.
lwells is offline  
Old 3rd November 2003, 05:40   #240
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
jup, but most freeform skins don't have a lightning bolt at all. With this new settings, Classic skins lose functionality whereas modern skins don't gain any.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump