Old 29th January 2006, 15:51   #161
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally posted by mrym
what is your os?
is it clean installed build 365?
what is the skin are you using? (modern/classic)

benski has already explained like this...

my system is japanese and i can see japanese correctly both non unicode(shift-jis) and unicode id3v2 tags.
so it's not a bug.
may be you should try 'veiw file info... > id3v2 > copy from id3v1 > update'.
or use external tagger that can change shift-jis encoded id3v2 tags into unicode.
as tags i have only the name of the mp3 file (and not id3v2-v1..)
djsolidsnake86 is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 17:06   #162
Yuuko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Any possibility about gatting a nice iTunes like GUI ?
We would have Winamp's nice sound and founctionnalities coupled with iTunes great GUI...
Yuuko is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 17:16   #163
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
Quote:
Originally posted by djsolidsnake86
as tags i have only the name of the mp3 file (and not id3v2-v1..)
Quote:
what is your os?
is it CLEAN installed build 365?
what is the skin are you using? (modern/classic)
please answer these questions.
also, your problem only happened with latest beta?
so far, winamp can't handle certain japanese (multibyte) character file name well even if my system language is japanese.
so i strongly suggest you to not use japanese for file name, and use unicode id3v2 tags instead.
mrym is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 18:16   #164
crazee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 25
I just got done with the Predixis Analysis and noticed that it was really choking on some of my MP3s that were over an hour long (between 50 and 120mins). It was awesomely fast for the others, but these few took an insane toll on my system.

I'm probably not the only one with mixed mp3s with times upwards of an hour, so is there any chance of having an option to limit the maximum length a track can be to be analysed? Of the long tracks it analysed, all of the suggestions are horribly wrong (ranging from acoustic to rock for club/house mix mp3s) so not analysing them shouldn't really be a problem for anyone.
crazee is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 18:29   #165
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally posted by mrym
please answer these questions.
also, your problem only happened with latest beta?
so far, winamp can't handle certain japanese (multibyte) character file name well even if my system language is japanese.
so i strongly suggest you to not use japanese for file name, and use unicode id3v2 tags instead.
xp pro sp2, clean install of 365..
i have this japanese ost from 1 day so i don't know anything..
djsolidsnake86 is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 18:39   #166
ivand67
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Man I'm glad to see you guys are working hard to keep improving Winamp, for a while I've thought that at the very least, working towards a 5.5 or a 6.0 version was never gonna happen.

I really hope the rather small but annoying problems I've talked about are fixed with 5.2.

See here: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=235220
ivand67 is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 19:37   #167
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
@crazee
Predixis/MusicMagic is not developed by Nullsoft.
Please report any issues with the predixis plugin here:
http://forums.predixis.com/index.php?showforum=10

@ivand67
afaik, those issues are fixed. Why not try it & confirm for yourself?

@Yuuko
Hahaha. That's probably the funniest thing I've read all day.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 20:49   #168
Yuuko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Well, seems I will have to switch to iTunes.

Thanks for support.
Yuuko is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 21:00   #169
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Yeah, bye :/
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 21:08   #170
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
@Yuuko, just be aware of a new player... I think its at teh 0.0.0.1 phase, but it looks cool from the screenshots... sorry its not out yet, but just keep your eyes open.

songbirdnest.com

this isnt the place to discuss other players, so
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 29th January 2006, 22:06   #171
AMDude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by Yuuko
Well, seems I will have to switch to iTunes.

Thanks for support.
iTunes ?

LOL dude
Im sorry for ya

4 ever!
AMDude is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 00:10   #172
DM.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Hey everyone, I have a Dell Pocket DJ, running the PlaysForSure firmware. And I must say... I LOVE IT!

Finally there is a program out there which does exactly what I want. I love you guys!!! It works flawless!

Only one problem/suggestion/comment
- It takes awhile for Winamp to recognize it, and display info.

But THANK YOU For releasing MTP support in Winamp!
DM. is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 01:52   #173
Rfire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
A friend who is unable to post himself asked me to post that Samsung YH-920 20GB Mp3 Player is not compatible with the devices part of Winamp 5.2
Rfire is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 02:22   #174
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
There is no garuntee that every device will work. It has to be Plays For Sure compliant. He might want to check to see if a Firmware upgrade is available from Samsung.

[Edit: Checking the Plays For Sure hardware list shows the 920 isn't on there. Sorry]

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 08:13   #175
lifer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally posted by CraigF
@lifer, please keep your 5.2 beta related posts in this thread so they get noticed. I've merged your thread in.
Sorry about that Craig. I must have missed something when posting, so thanks for merging my message into the correct thread. It appears to have tipped off will to a bug, which he has fixed. Thanks, Will! You rock!
lifer is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 13:43   #176
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
other bug: in the media library, in a playlist if i skip to a next file, i must go manually to the next title..
djsolidsnake86 is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 14:50   #177
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by DM.
Hey everyone, I have a Dell Pocket DJ, running the PlaysForSure firmware. And I must say... I LOVE IT!

Finally there is a program out there which does exactly what I want. I love you guys!!! It works flawless!

Only one problem/suggestion/comment
- It takes awhile for Winamp to recognize it, and display info.

But THANK YOU For releasing MTP support in Winamp!
Thanks

I had a vision in my mind about how devices support in winamp should work, but the MTP spec made that hard.

It took me quite a while to get it working how it does, the delay in recognising it is the price we are forced to pay to have it work exactly how i wanted it to.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 15:00   #178
hotrats
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
zen Xtra with PFS problem

Hello
Winamp can see the files in my Zen Xtra (HURRAH!)

But (BOOOO!)

If I try to play a track from winamp this message pops up "This device doesn't support direct playback"

any suggestions?
hotrats is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 15:03   #179
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
that is a restriction imposed by plays for sure, not a bug.

edit: please don't post this in multiple places, i've deleted the thread which you created in addition to the above post.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 15:24   #180
hotrats
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
so is there a way of playing them and what software do I use? . I've tried Mediasource, realplayer, wmp10,notmad explorer and they all seem to take forever to get up and running (and crashing)
hotrats is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 15:42   #181
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
No there isn't. If there was, winamp would do so.

You could use windows explorer to copy the songs to your hard disk then play them back from there.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 16:05   #182
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
Microsoft PlaysForSureunlessyouwanttoplaybackfromdevice

CraigF is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 16:23   #183
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
word craig.

It totally sucks and there is nothing I can do about it.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 21:00   #184
hotrats
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
good ol' microsoft..the saviour of S##T!
hotrats is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 21:06   #185
ByTor201
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Are the 5.2 betas already immune to the Secunia vulnerability? Will just copying the in_mp3.dll from 5.13 do the job? If not, I guess the next one in the series will cover it. Keep up the great work!
ByTor201 is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 21:15   #186
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
A new beta build was promised to arrive very soon. This one will include the fix.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 21:18   #187
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the in_mp3 with the 5.2 betas is a different code base from the 5.12/5.13 versions but the fix will be applied to it

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 21:50   #188
hotrats
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
ENOUGH with all this psychobabble! What we need is an ANSWER!
Are microsoft/creative gonna' resolve this problem? If you bought an oven and when you got it back, you found out it couldn't cook anything, you'd take it back straight away and demand some cooking!
I SAY BROTHERS AND SISTERS, LETS TAKE CHARGE AND DEMAND SOME CHANGE!....OTHERWISE, MR I(dare I say)POD...HERE I COME
hotrats is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 22:00   #189
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Ask Microsoft.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 22:17   #190
hotrats
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Dear Bill,

ENOUGH with all this psychobabble! What we need is an ANSWER!
Are microsoft/creative gonna' resolve this problem? If you bought an oven and when you got it back, you found out it couldn't cook anything, you'd take it back straight away and demand some cooking!
I SAY BROTHERS AND SISTERS, LETS TAKE CHARGE AND DEMAND SOME CHANGE!....OTHERWISE, MR I(dare I say)POD...HERE I COME
hotrats is offline  
Old 30th January 2006, 22:57   #191
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
cut the bullshit or ill just click the relevant buttons and make you go away.

CraigF is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 01:39   #192
djtaylor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@djtaylor
As explained in the 3rd post in this thread, input plugins no longer use individual title formatting. All title formatting is now taken care of via the universal setting in: Prefs > Titles > Advanced Title Formatting. This is enabled by default on clean installs, so I guess it must mean that you installed on top of a previous installation where ATF was disabled. Solution? Enable ATF :/
Thanks. I turned that off because I only wanted MP3s formatted in that way, and all other files, I just wanted the filename. Oh well.

Can I suggest that Winamp Agent is closed when installation is actually started (i.e. when you click on 'Install' in the last step of the installer), rather than as soon as you run the installer? If you run it by mistake and so cancel, you're left without the agent. Thanks.
djtaylor is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 01:52   #193
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Quote:
Originally posted by djtaylor
Thanks. I turned that off because I only wanted MP3s formatted in that way, and all other files, I just wanted the filename. Oh well.
Hmm, I think there's now a way to make it show a certain atf format for different filetypes/extensions. Maybe one of our atf experts can come up with the required formula...?

[edit]

something like:

$IfStrEqual2($fileext(%filename%),mp3,%artist% - %title%,$filepart(%filename%))

which will show "artist - title" for mp3 files only, and filename for all other extensions.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 06:09   #194
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
i thought yuuko's request was funny ... but nonetheless, i did a massive two seconds of searching and found this below. man if you are still listening, see if this does your request justice...

itunes-ish gui here
jmatthews112 is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 09:13   #195
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
i think he means single ui, like:

http://www.winamp.com/skins/details.php?id=143975

or

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....40#post1350240

CraigF is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 11:22   #196
Yuuko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
I was talinkg about something like THAT, yeah :
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread...240#post1350240

Thanks.

Well, separate windows can be nice, but unique window can also be nice. So, why not having the choice ?

I use iTunes for DJing, and I really don't like it, except for the GUI, which makes browsing in real time really easy, especially when you get requests from customers, you wan't them to get their song while barmaid hand them the beer they just ordered. iTunes GUI is the very good point about iTunes, while I still think it is the bad point about Winamp, adding that I didn't found yet a nice skin.

By the way, I am a she. Technology is not phalocracy.
Yuuko is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 12:13   #197
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
sorry

But yeah, I agree with you on choice. Seems silly for winamp to have this fantastically variable skinning engine, and not use it to provide everyone with something they are looking for, especially when the above two skins show its possible.

CraigF is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 16:26   #198
Yuuko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
I have to agree, especially with all the good stuff coming along with 5.2 version.
Yuuko is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 17:30   #199
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Build 393 posted

* Fixes a memory leak when using playlist winshade mode in the modern skin.
* Fixes in_mp3 security hole.
* Added experimental skin-colored icons to media library tree - let us know what you think.
* Changed the "Devices" parent node (in media library) to "Rip & Burn". The dialog on this page is still in the experimental phase.
* Portable Media Player fixes
* Miscellaneous fixes (I'm sure Egg will remind us what they are, but I forgot :)

[Edit --> DJ Egg]

Yup, here goes...

-Fixed blank titles for unknown filetypes ("Fixed in_mp3 blankness. Still gotta fix in_vorbis")
-Fixed blank titles when atf is disabled (uses default "artist - title")
-Fixed not all tracks showing in ml for cd's ripped to m4a
-Fixed tracklength display for mp3's with CRCs
-Fixed tracklength displaying as 0:00 for dragged url's
-Fixed "Show Winamp in folder context menus" always being checked on upgrades
-Fixed winamp not loading if winamp.m3u is deleted or read-only
-Fixed reading of id3 tags not written in Unicode or ISO-8859-1
-Maybe one or two other undocumented little secrets for you to find ;-)
Benski is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 17:39   #200
niktheguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121
Guys you need to change the build number on the thread title!! Great to see the upgrade.

Nikhil
niktheguru is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump