Old 11th June 2009, 07:55   #1
spectrum70
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
winamp too heavy

Hello all,

i am using winamp from many years, from winamp 2.0 i guess.
It has always been my favorite player, for the look and the performance.

I am running now 5.5, and from some releases it is become very slow at startup, even with activesync lookup disabled, i feel a big hard disk job starting it, and at the first startup i can have it ready for playing just after 10 seconds. I have a quad core intel, and 1G ram, sata hd.

I am starting to look for another player abandoning winamp, but i am very sorry of this.
This comment come from the "winamp user" side, so don't take it as a criticism from the outside. I hope some kind of fast and responsive startup can be arranged back, maybe disabling some features, or if this chance already exist, as a common user, i'would prefer they probably should be all disabled at install time.

thanks for the attention,

greetings
Angelo
spectrum70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2009, 08:40   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
READ ME: If you blindly clicked next while installing Winamp

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2009, 15:43   #3
brettadam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Winamp is very very good application, but it is true that it occupies more memory than we anticipated. But for a good program we might sacrifice something.
brettadam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2009, 22:45   #4
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
one thing that would help speed up the startup is get more memory
1gb is now the new minimum for any system and if your processor is faster than that it is recommended to match it with the same amount of memory (if possible)
also this topic belongs somewhere else not in winamp discussion
mods please move this topic

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2009, 23:30   #5
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Wildrose-Wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sunny Southern Alberta
Posts: 6,133
Quote:
also this topic belongs somewhere else not in winamp discussion
So what would you like to discuss in Winamp Discussion? Since you don't want Winamp discussed.

Wildrose-Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 01:18   #6
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
i'm saying that the person is complaining about winamp being bulky and slow startup times
normally topics like this end up in the bitchlist

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 02:19   #7
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Wildrose-Wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sunny Southern Alberta
Posts: 6,133
This thread is in the right place, except for your post. That one should be in the bitch list!

Wildrose-Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 04:36   #8
djpete
Major Dude
 
djpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 940
laugh

I have to laugh.
Usually the original poster would be shot down by "senior" members or admins but instead the other poor fellow cops it for making a valid point.
Sawg had the perfect answer with just one line of text. Easy.

IMHO a lot of people on Winamp forums are a touch tense.

I blame it all on COFFEE.

Now where's the kettle...

Cheers, Pete

Anything & Everything Winamp - All In One Place...
Winamp Enthusiasts Group
djpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 10:05   #9
spectrum70
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks all for the replies,

yes, i blindly clicked "NEXT", as this is what a standard user always do, resulting in a final slow startup, activesync intaller continuosly popup and so..

Now i will try to reinstall it carefully, just for test, leaving out not needed parts, but as i said, a first "blind" setup give the "heavy" result i described.


I have actually 2 GB ram, winamp seems is taking between 31 and 40 K to play, don't think 1GB limit help to load winamp faster, maybe some raid configuration could help.

angelo
spectrum70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 15:12   #10
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
I'm on 1GB RAM and Winamp loads quite fast since I have unchecked all the options I don't use while installing the latest version. Also the latest 5.552 is quite faster than say 5.54 for startup.

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 08:00   #11
djpete
Major Dude
 
djpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 940
Do what Sawg said and it will fly.
Or add the turbo and also just use classic skins.
VERY lightweight then.

Cheers, Pete

Anything & Everything Winamp - All In One Place...
Winamp Enthusiasts Group
djpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2009, 13:16   #12
upsfeup
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 58
I too think that winamp is getting pretty heavy.

I know it still light compared with many that that are around there, but there is still something amiss.

Yes, I've unselected everything I don't need at install. I even tried to drop the ML altogether but didn't notice any performance increase.

Winamp chews about 60megs and takes about 30 seconds to 1 minute to shut down if I have been playing for some hours.

I'll keep trying to fiddle with the plugins to see if I can reach to an acceptable configuration.

All I ask is to don't bash users that say winamp is getting slow and smack them a link about installer options. Winamp IS getting slower with time (as it is growing) so is something that should be look into it!
upsfeup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2009, 08:48   #13
McGuywer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by djpete1959
Or add the turbo and also just use classic skins.
VERY lightweight then.
Good idea.

I personally have used this and found that it helps a lot...
McGuywer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump