Old 11th January 2012, 21:08   #1
jerboa-dumont
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
DNAS 2 shut down

Hello,

I use Shoutcast time to time. I had a webradio in 2005 but it is over. But i like this way for webradio.
I have problem with the DNAS 2. When i open Shoutcast in Winamp, it seems normal.
When i open the DNAS, it is not the same, it askes to chose 0 1 2 3 or 4.
Whatever i chose, it close down the DNAS. No data is sending.
I lost my time all the night to try to uninstall this, open ports of router etc... réinstall. It changes nothing.

What to do ?
Why this DNAS is more complicated than the other one ?
jerboa-dumont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2012, 21:36   #2
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,009
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
The new v2 DNAS is supposed to be more complicated to facilitate the new functionality to meet the demands of the modern and sophisticated broadcaster. Don't complain, it's free.
  1. Create new configurations with the config_builder that comes with the installer.
  2. Attempt to run the DNAS. If it doesn't work as expected please post your logs and configurations so that we can find out what's wrong.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 00:42   #3
jerboa-dumont
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
It is complicated for me. I'm dumb and i'm not a programmer.

I don't understand the config thing. I reset it. I get this :
Quote:
;DNAS configuration file
;Made with the SHOUTcast 2 Configuration Builder

yp1debug=1
yp2debug=1
shoutcastsourcedebug=1
uvox2sourcedebug=1
shoutcast1clientdebug=1
shoutcast2clientdebug=1
relayshoutcastdebug=1
relayuvoxdebug=1
relaydebug=1
streamdatadebug=1
httpstyledebug=1
statsdebug=1
microserverdebug=1
threadrunnerdebug=1
rtmpclientdebug=1
webclientdebug=1
password=******
adminpassword=**********
requirestreamconfigs=1
logfile=C:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.log
w3clog=C:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_w3c.log
banfile=C:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.ban
ripfile=C:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.rip

streamid=1
The file is named my_sc_serv.conf and is in the same folder as DNAS.

now it has 5 choices. i tried them all, but nothing work.
It closes.
I get this:

Quote:
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Logger updating log file to use
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from my_sc_serv.conf
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 2
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 2 network threads
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8000
2012-01-12 00:48:10 E msg:Error opening port 8000 because Could not bind to :8000 because Address already in use.
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Runner shutdown
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:<***> Logger shutdown
I get into the router. The 8000 to 8010 is open in TCP for the radio. I found nothing else who shares the same ports. So I don't understand this bug too.


The shoucast thing is set on "localhost".
Winamp/Shoutcast gets the music from the soundcard.
Connecting, disconnect, reconnecting etc… not sending anything.

( nullsoft shoutcast v 2.2.3 )
jerboa-dumont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 10:55   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerboa-dumont View Post
When i open the DNAS, it is not the same, it askes to chose 0 1 2 3 or 4.
Whatever i chose, it close down the DNAS. No data is sending.
I lost my time all the night to try to uninstall this, open ports of router etc... réinstall. It changes nothing.
no config file is being passed which is a requirement of using the current build of the DNAS (either by specifying it on the command-line or by drag+dropping the file onto sc_serv.exe). this is all covered in the documentation -> http://wiki.winamp.com/wiki/SHOUTcas...in_the_Console

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerboa-dumont View Post
Why this DNAS is more complicated than the other one ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerboa-dumont View Post
It is complicated for me. I'm dumb and i'm not a programmer.
it only seems more complicated as we've naively assumed the level of computer skills which people trying to use the DNAS have and is something that will be improved with the next release (no eta) as manually specifying the config file seems to be alien to most Windows users (as we tried to make the DNAS more consistent in behaviour over all OS versions).

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerboa-dumont View Post
The 8000 to 8010 is open in TCP for the radio.
only port 8000 (or what has been set for portbase) and if you want to allow remote (non-network) v1 based source connections then port 8001 (or portbase+1) needs to be open. opening the additional 8002-8010 ports is not needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerboa-dumont View Post
I get this:
Quote:
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Logger updating log file to use
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from my_sc_serv.conf
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 2
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 2 network threads
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8000
2012-01-12 00:48:10 E msg:Error opening port 8000 because Could not bind to :8000 because Address already in use.
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:[MAIN] Runner shutdown
2012-01-12 00:48:10 I msg:<***> Logger shutdown
the log clearly shows why it is not able to run as something is already running on port 8000 e.g. could be another DNAS instance or some other program. if not, change portbase to something else in the config file and then edit the port forwarding rules as applicable.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2012, 14:32   #5
jerboa-dumont
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Hello

Thanks for your reply.

Yes, programming is not a natural thing for windows users. They just want the simplier thing, easy to learn, ready to use.

Finaly i manage to broadcast. My conf file was messed up by bad copy paste. And I don't know what was the 8000 port problem, but i use the 50.

As a side question, i saw that Absolute radio has a streaming in FLAC ( inside ogg )
http://www.absoluteradio.co.uk/listen/
I don't know how they manage to do that. Do you think it can be done with Winamp-Shoutcast too ?
jerboa-dumont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2012, 13:04   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
SHOUTcast only supports MP3 and AAC+ streams. from a quick look, they appear to be using something else (though at the time of checking their OGG FLAC stream is down (though it could be anything from an Icecast server to some other content delivery system they might be using).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
dnas

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump