Old 6th December 2002, 03:45   #1
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
Pc Game Brightness

Is there a way to increase the brightness in pc games without using the desktop brightness control? The slider for brightness in all the games i have doesn't turn it up high enough to see properly, and the desktop brightness control doesn't work on all the games. Im looking for like a program or something. I have a NVidia TNT2 M64 card.

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 03:49   #2
Ember69
Senior Member
 
Ember69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: nowhere
Posts: 299
Send a message via AIM to Ember69 Send a message via Yahoo to Ember69
uhm i dunno if my advice will help u but

i usually go into properties, settings, advanced and turn the brightness up
Ember69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 03:49   #3
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Not that i know of, but i dont think it would be impossible.

How bad is it??

And do you play games often enough that its worth just adjusting the brightness of your monitor?
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 03:52   #4
hestermofet
Major Dude
 
hestermofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,761
Try and get your hands on Adobe's Gamma adjuster. Ships with all versions of Photoshop that I've had the pleasure of using. Not sure if it's available as a standalone product.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.
hestermofet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 03:52   #5
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
WEll the advanced properties thing is the desktop brightness, it makes the desktop brighter and most games brighter, but not all of them, and you usually have to make the desktop unreadably bright to make a game perfect.

Well my monitor brightness is all the way up.

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 03:54   #6
Ember69
Senior Member
 
Ember69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: nowhere
Posts: 299
Send a message via AIM to Ember69 Send a message via Yahoo to Ember69
none of the game have like..ah.. brightness color control in them either?.. i havent played many games as u can tell
Ember69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 03:56   #7
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
They do have brightness controls, but they don't make it bright enough. I want to make the game brighter, not the desktop.

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 03:59   #8
Ember69
Senior Member
 
Ember69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: nowhere
Posts: 299
Send a message via AIM to Ember69 Send a message via Yahoo to Ember69
hmmm.. i cant help ya lol
get a different card?
Ember69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 04:02   #9
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
No way, i can't afford that!

(And is that Adobe gamma thingy an adobe product? Like acrobat reader, or am i wrong on the company? Got a linky?)

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 04:03   #10
hestermofet
Major Dude
 
hestermofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,761
It comes with Adobe Photoshop.

here's some info: http://www.adobe.com/support/techdocs/13252.htm

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.
hestermofet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 04:05   #11
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
Yeah and how much does THAT cost? And does it actually do what i want it to do?(Make games brighter without effecting the desktop?)

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 04:10   #12
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
Is this really not possible? Im surprised there is no program for this, and i guess another question is why does the regular brighness adjuster only work on some games?

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 04:14   #13
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Quote:
Originally posted by Tarron Dashle
Yeah and how much does THAT cost? And does it actually do what i want it to do?(Make games brighter without effecting the desktop?)
Costs as much as photoshop costs (in that it depends where you get it ), but no, it's just a utility so you can adjust your monitors brightness/contrast/color levels so it displays properly. It wont change the brightness for games.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 04:16   #14
hestermofet
Major Dude
 
hestermofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,761
It will also adjust the gamma level and whitepoint of your monitor. These adjustments are persistent, meaning that they will affect games too.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.
hestermofet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 04:20   #15
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
But it wont automatically change the brightness when a game starts (i should have worded my previous response better).
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 04:21   #16
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
I'll search for a freeware program and see what i find, if not, then theres always kazza...

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2002, 08:27   #17
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
i had one ages ago, from www.download.com (a gamma adjuster). And i hate playing games with the gamma up.
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > Games Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump