Old 27th October 2004, 20:41   #1
reannaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to reannaking
Oversized window and bad sound out of left speaker only

Well, as the title of the topic says, I get some messed up stuff when I try to play media in WinAmp. I just upgraded, too.
The Winamp window is grossly oversized and sound plays badly out of only the left speaker. I can't figure out what's going on-- all other media players sound just fine.
reannaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004, 21:02   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Skin Problem
It that Winamp's modern (or another modern) skin?
Depending on the skin or Window you can resize it by clicking on the right bottom corner and dragging it.
-or-
Ctrl+'Right Click' on a "empty" space of the skin = a shortcut to scaling.
-or-
While Winamp is not running, go to the Winamp folder and delete the studio.xnf file. That will reset Modern skins to their defaults.

Sound Problem
Try one of more of the following
  • Have you tried closing Winamp & Windows and rebooting the computer?
  • Try the following DirectSound config tweaks....
    http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....26#post1212926
    Just to be sure, close Winamp & Windows and reboot the computer after making the DS config tweaks.
  • Disable any DSP/Effect plug-ins
    Preferences (Ctrl-P) > Plug-ins > DSP/effect > select (none)
  • Check Winamp's rqualizer and ballance slider
  • Check the Windows Mixer > double click on the little speaker icon in the systray (tasktray) > make sure the ballance sliders and volumes are set correctly.
  • No dice? Try updating the sound drivers. If you have a soundcard go the manufacturer's website for updates. If you have an on board sound chip, go to the website of your computer provider or the manufacturer of the mother board. Also make sure DirectX is up to date for your system.
  • Still no dice? A full uninstall/reinstall (AKA clean install) of Winamp is suggested.
  • Still, still no dice? Please post a reply with system specs.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004, 21:19   #3
reannaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to reannaking
Complete re-install worked like a charm. Thanks for the help!
reannaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump