Old 23rd November 2021, 11:28   #1
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 4,030
What is your Broadband Speed

OK Folks what is your Broadband Speed right now?

I've just upgraded my connection from a 50MB download speed for a Fibre Optic connection with with these speeds



Its crazy to think how far Broadband has come in 20 years I was on a 1MB Download connection way back in 2002
DJ-Garybaldy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2021, 12:11   #2
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,131
300 down and 30 up

and yep i also started out in 2002 with 1 MB down and 512 KB up
and what a great speed it was, it didn't take all night with dial up to download a 7 minut song..... and if somebody called you the internet connection broke....... and you had to start all over again.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2021, 12:36   #3
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 4,030
If I wanted to for £50 a month I could have gone for a 1GB download speed but for me that would have been overkill.

As for downloading stuff via Dial Up yep it was a pain... was paying 1p a minute for dial up (AOL & Freeserve)


Back in 1999/2000 I found a tool that helped download mp3 files when I was on dial-up it would continue again after the connection reset after 2 hours.. Don't know if you remember Audiogalaxy
DJ-Garybaldy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2021, 14:55   #4
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-Garybaldy View Post


Back in 1999/2000 I found a tool that helped download mp3 files when I was on dial-up it would continue again after the connection reset after 2 hours.. Don't know if you remember Audiogalaxy
nope , was glad to find Napster and besides that software all my Win 95 could handle was Winamp to play my downloaded songs......
anything else won't run on my very crappy computer that i build myself besides Wolf3d
After i got broadband internet i got a better and new computer.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2021, 15:22   #5
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 4,030
I was a Windows 98 user at the time I was using audiogalaxy....

The PC was my then partners & it was painfully slow and crashed a lot.

My first PC had 512MB of RAM installed and ran XP (Badly)

I bought a 32GB machine last year and its collecting dust in the spare room the VGA port has blown waiting to get it in for repair.
DJ-Garybaldy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2022, 05:17   #6
emc2recordings
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 2


Hi there. Have some speed.
emc2recordings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2022, 05:20   #7
emc2recordings
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 2
Well. that post is a bit much without posting my image. It won't link...

24 ping
939.65 Mbps Dn
944.41 Mbps Up

U-Verse Fiber

My first PC had a 2400 baud rate modem on dial up. I was dialing into bulletin boards on my IBM PS/2 with 25Mhz proc and 8kb RAM and a whopping 25Mb HDD. That was a really nice computer at the time! Ran Doom and Wolf 3D non-stop really well.
emc2recordings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2022, 14:13   #8
ChocolateAdventurouz
Senior Member
 
ChocolateAdventurouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Persontopia :P
Posts: 145
26 ping

6.2 (7.4 sometimes) Mbps [Download]
0.8 (1.1 sometimes) Mbps [Upload]

It is embarrassing...
ChocolateAdventurouz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2022, 02:29   #9
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
MarkRH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 479
Well, mine is less than it used to be. Now I average 20 Mbps down and 2 Mbps up. I'm not paying for it now so I can't complain too much.
MarkRH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2022, 01:33   #10
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-Garybaldy View Post
OK Folks what is your Broadband Speed right now?

I've just upgraded my connection from a 50MB download speed for a Fibre Optic connection with with these speeds



Its crazy to think how far Broadband has come in 20 years I was on a 1MB Download connection way back in 2002
How much a month are you paying for that and who's the provider?
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2022, 09:21   #11
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 4,030
Hyperoptic is the name of my ISP I pay £35 a month

They put their connections in the Block I live in.
DJ-Garybaldy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2022, 00:05   #12
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,310
Back in the day (~2000), we used to play Q2CTF with triple-digit pings, uphill through the snow both ways without any feet, and we liked it.

Today: 8 ms ping, 27 mbps down, 7 mbps up, costing 65 AUD (36 GBP/44 EUR/48 USD) per month.

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2022, 15:42   #13
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 4,030
20 years ago I got my first Broadband connection 1.5mbps D/L IF I was lucky it wasn't fit for purpose but thats as good as it got back then.

More companies are starting to up their speeds maybe you ISP will have a speedier package eventually for you.

I've been using this company for over 3 months now and my internet is great I can stream TV better than I used to be able to a on a 50mbps with Virgin Media
DJ-Garybaldy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2022, 06:28   #14
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-Garybaldy View Post
More companies are starting to up their speeds maybe you ISP will have a speedier package eventually for you.
We don't do enough with the internet at home to justify any additional expense. We're currently on the "25 down, 10 up" package, so achieving 27 mbps is better than fair. Upload speed is irrelevant.

In terms of speed, we could opt to go up to one of the following:
• +$10 for 50 down, 20 up
• +$20 for 75 down, 20 up
• +$30 for 100 down, 20 up
• +$40 for 100 down, 40 up

… but again, we don't need any more than what we already have. We already pay a "premium" ($6/mth) not to be on the bottom-rung $59/mth package of 12 down, 1 up.

In terms of absolute volume, we currently get up to 500 GB/mth and could pay +$4/mth for unlimited, but we really don't need it. We used ~250 GB last month.

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2022, 07:19   #15
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,131
at the moment my speed is
300 down and 30 up for 58.95 euro ( 88.11 aus dollar / 64.71 US dollar)

i could upgrade to 1000mb up and 50 up but that means 81.55 euro a month and given the fact that my card in the computer only goes to 1000 it's a waste of money and like the post above , i don't need it.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2022, 16:17   #16
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 4,030
Going to have to have a word with my ISP just did a speedtest and my DL speed is only 300mbps whereas it should be 500mbps

This connection is still better than Virgin Media ever was
DJ-Garybaldy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2022, 01:30   #17
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,310
Quote:
my DL speed is only 300mbps
have to have a word with my ISP

We lead very different lives.

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2022, 08:03   #18
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by iomegajaz View Post

We lead very different lives.
don't we all??

the only reason for my speed is that we work from home and i have to upload very big files to the server of the local radiostation .
If they would offer 30/30 i could work with that but download is 300 so it save a bit of time when downloading audio files from a server.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump