Old 5th February 2018, 00:26   #1
theSlacklife
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
What is precomp.exe? Why is it hogging resources?

Windows 10 Pro version 1709 (OS Build 16299.125)
i7-4790k @ 4.6GHz
GTX 770's in sli

Hi there all. First of all thanks to the dev(s) for winamp. Anyways, so I'm having a problem with an .exe file associated with winamp. I'm not sure if what I'm experiencing is related to the actual winamp program or just a rouge program/virus in disguise.

The problem I'm having is precomp.exe is starting itself on restart of my PC, and is using a lot of resources. It says only 30% cpu usage when running, yet my PC becomes very slow and choppy. All aspects of the pc are affected by this, including firefox internet browser. I have to go into resource monitor to close it down, as it doesn't appear on the task manager process list. I did a search for the term precomp in explorer and the only associated file was in \AppData\Roaming\Winamp . Anyone have any ideas?
theSlacklife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2018, 08:25   #2
theSlacklife
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
So apparently precomp is a command line pre-compressor. Not sure what the purpose it serves but that is its intended function. However what I had on my pc was a virus/malware that had disguised itself as precomp.exe. It appears to be a crypto-currency miner.

Here are the results from a Virus Total scan, https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/2...dd3c/analysis/

Is this a know problem or am I the first to experience it?
theSlacklife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2018, 10:09   #3
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 4,050
Only 1 true way to get your computer rid of malware like this reset/reinstall Windows

Where did you download Winamp from?
DJ-Garybaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 01:48   #4
theSlacklife
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
I believe I have always gotten winamp following the link from winamp.com which leads you to a forum post on these forums. It was definitely running from winamps directory though in C:\users\user\AppData\Roaming\Winamp\precomp\precomp.exe .

I wish I had of made a copy and put it in a sand boxed system so I could have analyzed it but too late for that. I'm not implying that the virus came from here, so I'm not sure why it choose winamp to use as cover, I guess because it looked like a legitimate process to the average user. If I hadn't of had gpu-z up I wouldn't have a clue it was using 99% of my gpu's.
theSlacklife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump