Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th January 2004, 03:59   #1
SkaFreak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 256
Send a message via AIM to SkaFreak
Want server. 56k-64k,10 listeners,$1.25 or less per,PayPal accepted

Hey
The subject says it all

I am looking for a shoutcast server that has Want server. 56k-64k for $1.25 or less. I only want 10 listeners a month, and i can only pay with PayPal.

Please don't tell me to go to the radiotoolbox.com. I already looked through all those and they are either over $1.25 or have a minimum order of 20 spots a month.

THANKS!

Ska Rules!!!
SkaFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 05:32   #2
MotherEarth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 111
Send a message via ICQ to MotherEarth Send a message via AIM to MotherEarth Send a message via Yahoo to MotherEarth
Try www.mediacast1.com, or www.radiostreamer.com. The latter has 56k at .90/stream.
MotherEarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 05:43   #3
SkaFreak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 256
Send a message via AIM to SkaFreak
thanks but mediacast is $1.65 for 56-64k and I wanted $1.25 or under

and radiostreamer has a minimum order of 20 spots. I only want 10

Ska Rules!!!
SkaFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 05:59   #4
MotherEarth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 111
Send a message via ICQ to MotherEarth Send a message via AIM to MotherEarth Send a message via Yahoo to MotherEarth
Try a search, here: http://www.radiotoolbox.com/hosts/
MotherEarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 06:06   #5
SkaFreak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 256
Send a message via AIM to SkaFreak
Re: Want server. 56k-64k,10 listeners,$1.25 or less per,PayPal accepted

CAN YOU NOT READ???
Quote:
Originally posted by SkaFreak
Please don't tell me to go to the radiotoolbox.com. I already looked through all those and they are either over $1.25 or have a minimum order of 20 spots a month.

THANKS!

Ska Rules!!!
SkaFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 06:22   #6
MotherEarth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 111
Send a message via ICQ to MotherEarth Send a message via AIM to MotherEarth Send a message via Yahoo to MotherEarth
Oops, sorry about that. Looks like your SOL, then.
MotherEarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 09:30   #7
jwhalen
Major Dude
 
jwhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ct
Posts: 1,203
Send a message via AIM to jwhalen
[EDIT: OOPS I just noticed you only wanted 10 listeners max. Quick answer: THERE ARE NONE.]


try going to: Spoiler: http://www.newerastreaming.com

I use them and am very happy.

jwhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 09:33   #8
jwhalen
Major Dude
 
jwhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ct
Posts: 1,203
Send a message via AIM to jwhalen
did you ever consider CONTACTING any of these places and seeing if they could make a 10 user account JUST FOR YOU? You'll find many places ARE very flexible. Give it a shot!

jwhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 14:09   #9
Rafael2127
Member
 
Rafael2127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York Ecuador
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Rafael2127
I can get you slots of 128kbps for a $1.00 think about 56kbps that will be about 0.50 cents hey if you want let me know
Rafael2127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 14:40   #10
MotherEarth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 111
Send a message via ICQ to MotherEarth Send a message via AIM to MotherEarth Send a message via Yahoo to MotherEarth
Where?
MotherEarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 15:21   #11
Amplex9
Senior Member
 
Amplex9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pool Of Life
Posts: 448
Try this one M8

ScreamingHost

Quote:
Please note minimum order is 10.

24k STREAM
£0.25GBP ($0.40USD) per
concurrent listener per month

64k STREAM
£0.50GBP (£0.80USD) per
concurrent listener per month

96k STREAM
£1.00GBP (£1.60USD) per
concurrent listener per month

128k STREAM
£2.00GBP (£3.20USD) per
concurrent listener per month


-=[England's Finest Rock Station - Real Rock Radio At Its Best ]=-
|- 24/7 - 64k mp3PRO -|- powerd by: StreamSolutions.Co.Uk -|
Amplex9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 16:36   #12
MotherEarth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 111
Send a message via ICQ to MotherEarth Send a message via AIM to MotherEarth Send a message via Yahoo to MotherEarth
Erm...56k isn't even listed.
MotherEarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 17:03   #13
Amplex9
Senior Member
 
Amplex9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pool Of Life
Posts: 448
'SkaFreak' did ask about 56-64k at $1.25 or less.
I read the post and replied with what I thought was a good host fitting the needs of the request.
There is 64K for $0.80 (£0.50 in real money)
Maybe you gotta ask about 56k, I dont know, I was just posting the examples of what they provide and the costs.
Amplex9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 18:33   #14
jackherer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 942
Yes i would say that Amplex9s response fits exactly what was asked, screaminghost's minimum order is 10 slots and they charge $0.80 per slot. Which is exactly what SkaFreak wants.


Do not PM me for tech support !
jackherer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 18:58   #15
Rafael2127
Member
 
Rafael2127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York Ecuador
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Rafael2127
SHARING WITH YOU

Ok guys let me tell you about this company I'm not advertising because is not my company nor I work for them, I have 350 slots with them and I wanted to share this with you because I wanted to let everyone know about this company and how good they are, I been in the shoutcast radio for 4 years now, I found this company last year 2003 so far no problems no down times and fast connection
A lot of people say when you find something cheap is not good because it wont last to long, well they still here after 6 moths and with a great service not like Audio-consulting that vanish with out an email
Remember that I'm sharing this with because a have a small radio like you and not to much money to expend

Here is the website
http://www.solid-gaming.net/modules....type=shoutcast

Pricing is as follows: (price breaks at 100, 200 and 500 slots)

24kbps stream (voice quality): $0.25 cents/slot

56kbps stream (voice/music): $0.40 cents/slot

96kbps stream (music): $0.60 cents/slot

128kbps stream (top music quality) $0.90 cents/slot
Rafael2127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 19:31   #16
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
ok.. 90 cents PER SLOT at 128??

Do they answer the phones when there's a problem? What's the catch.....

That's just.....

They're using two Dixie cups and a string, right?

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 19:56   #17
jackherer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 942
$0.90 a slot at 128K equates to a 10 meg connection for $72 per month. That just seems too cheap, there must be a catch


Do not PM me for tech support !
jackherer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 20:08   #18
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
Exactly...

I am going to try 10 streams at 128k.. If anything, I spent $9.... I gotta see what it's like and check it out... Maybe Ill make a daily log and send it to Jay @ radiotoolbox or turn it into a reality show

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 20:10   #19
SkaFreak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 256
Send a message via AIM to SkaFreak
wow! that definitly seems to good to be true but who knows. I was looking for 10 spots for $10 or less and with that I can get 24.
I'm gonna try it out!

Ska Rules!!!
SkaFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 20:17   #20
Amplex9
Senior Member
 
Amplex9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pool Of Life
Posts: 448
You'll never know till you try and $9 aint that much.
If you document the months activities your doing us all a favour by finding out if it realy is a good deal or bad management just waiting to go bust.
Go forth and find the answers we seek.


-=[England's Finest Rock Station - Real Rock Radio At Its Best ]=-
|- 24/7 - 64k mp3PRO -|- powerd by: StreamSolutions.Co.Uk -|
Amplex9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 20:19   #21
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
Sure...

And they called him.... Chris of the Yukon!

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 22:15   #22
jwhalen
Major Dude
 
jwhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ct
Posts: 1,203
Send a message via AIM to jwhalen
I'm gonna give them a shot.

"too good to be true" is a thought that comes to mind.

I'd LOVE to be wrong!

jwhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 22:20   #23
Rafael2127
Member
 
Rafael2127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York Ecuador
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Rafael2127
Re: SHARING WITH YOU

Well this is for real, I know sounds to good to be true but is for real , you will never know till you find out for yourself,
I wanted to share this with you guys before but I wasn't sure if they were for real, now that I have been with them for more than 6 months I can tell you this is for real and would like to share with everyone, this way we all save money and get more slots, if someone here knows where we can get slots lower than this prices please post it here that way we save more

Please share with us thank you
Rafael2127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 22:54   #24
jwhalen
Major Dude
 
jwhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ct
Posts: 1,203
Send a message via AIM to jwhalen
question:

does this place have an interface for the config? How do YOU make a change to the config, sayyy to silence YP touches? Can YOU do it, or do you have to submit a help ticket? If so, how fast is turnaround?

jwhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 23:23   #25
Rafael2127
Member
 
Rafael2127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York Ecuador
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Rafael2127
jwhalen there is not help ticket that I know, everytime I wanted to edit the file I had one of the admis do it for me you can chat with them live or use instant messenger is faster but I dont know about that, they use to give SSH FTP access to us but not anymore
they have a lot of guys that work there so its really fast you dont have to worry about it

Last edited by Rafael2127; 28th January 2004 at 23:42.
Rafael2127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 23:43   #26
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
im starting a journal of my experience.. ill post a url as soon as it's online...

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 00:47   #27
Jay
Moderator Alumni
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Next Door
Posts: 8,942
You can be guarenteed that if they become popular they will be up'ing their rates. It's a very common trend when people start up to price too low.
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 01:05   #28
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
Hmmmm

How does one get it in writing that they are locked in to a rate for a long period of time?

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 01:38   #29
jackherer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 942
You have to ask them, it's up to them whether they want to do it and it usually works both ways i.e. you have to keep paying for the term. You could try it for a bit and thenif your happy, ask them if you can pay for a while in advance, then they can't put your price up if you have already paid.


Do not PM me for tech support !
jackherer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 02:21   #30
Rafael2127
Member
 
Rafael2127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York Ecuador
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Rafael2127
If you get more than 50 slots I think you can get a discount I don't know about paying in advance, this prices are already lowered to the lowes prices that you can find
Rafael2127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 02:39   #31
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
Okay.. I just started "Project:Solid"

"Project:Solid" is my journal and account of this service. You can read it at www.9412.com/projectsolid

I'll be updating this regularly so you will be able to track how my test of this service is and use my experience for your reference.

Hope this of help to all...

Thanks,
Chris

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 02:46   #32
SkaFreak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 256
Send a message via AIM to SkaFreak
wow, looks like you are putting a lot into that site. I just signed up as well and will be reading along as you add stuff to the page. Thanks for doing it!

Ska Rules!!!
SkaFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 02:51   #33
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
eh.. i do pages like people do crossword puzzles... figured that there is a good question that needs to be answered - people need to know that want to know.

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 03:45   #34
feelo24
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57
Chris, I am a new shoutcaster...been on the air for over a month now and I am learning a lot from you guys here on the forum. My question to you guys and I am sure this is going to sound dumb, but, here goes...You guys seem so interested is this 128kbps stream and slots...I have no idea what slots means and why you would outsource your stream. I am currently streaming at 24kbps and 80kbps through road runner cable, although my listener base is not as big as you guys yet what I understand is that once I hit 25 or 30 listeners I will start losing bandwith. Is that correct? Thanks
feelo24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 04:01   #35
Rafael2127
Member
 
Rafael2127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York Ecuador
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Rafael2127
Cable modems can only handle 30 max listeners at 24kbps you will need a relay server if you want more listeners, then you have to pay for slots
Thats why we are here trying to find the lowes prices but good servers no down times no buffering
Rafael2127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 04:31   #36
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
The "ill stream 100 streams (slots) on my own PC at 56k" mentality is the one that gets 7 in every 10 Internet Broadcasters problems in the first two weeks. It's a very understandable problem. New broadcaster does not realize the limitations of the cable modem and what the math works out to. I did this myself when I got off Live365 back in Feb, 2000 and as soon as the traffic started to build, the stream got choppy and buffered something fierce...

Ya get 80 messages in 2 minutes from angry listeners that "Yesterday" by the Beatles is unlistenable and a stream of angry words flow - ya learn real quick

The sad truth is that unless you are a TRUE hobbyist (get Shoutcast server, tinker, see what makes it tick with 2 or 3 listeners max and then put toy away) you will run into problems trying to maintain a station without outsourcing.

Besides, outsourcing helps with your PC's performance. You're not running a Shoutcast server, Winamp, DRS or SAM, Oddsock gooides (dont start flamming if I dont mention them all - it's a point im making, not a infomercial), encoding MP3's, checking email, multiple IM programs and playing The Sims Online and wondering "Why am I crawling".

The Shoutcast server being outsourced just takes a program out of the equation.

Another problem that is encountered is not enough OOMPH in the PC. Running a Pentium II 300 with Windows 98se and a generic sound card while running your station is going to lead to problems in encoding the stream, being to handle all the processes, etc.

But, that discussion is for another thread.

Keep reading the forums. They are a great source. Also, CasterClub, Audiorealm, Oddsock.org and Radio Toolbox are awsome resources to utilize.

I've been approached about running a online magazine for our industry and I can't see the $$$ from it to do it full time. But these guys I listed are great sources of info. AND ASK AWAY!

Have fun with your station!

Mahalo,
Chris

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 04:36   #37
feelo24
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57
Let me get this straight, with a streaming provider I don't have to run the Shoutcast server, winamp DSP, or Sam? Would all I have to do is set the playlist...?
feelo24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 04:47   #38
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
All you would have to do is have Winamp with the Shoutcast DSP (or SAM with it's encoder, etc.) send the signal to the remote server from the streamhost provider.

So where you have "Localhost" you would have a IP from the provider.

Still gotta set your playlist, still gotta send the stream out... but you send ONE stream to the server at the shoutcast server.

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 04:58   #39
MotherEarth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 111
Send a message via ICQ to MotherEarth Send a message via AIM to MotherEarth Send a message via Yahoo to MotherEarth
Well, you do have to send something TO the server.

We here at 9412 use SAM2 - but you can get away with as little as Winamp 2.81+Shoutcast DNAS and an m3u playlist.
MotherEarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 05:03   #40
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
/me shudders......

Sorry.. just remembered loading Winamp 2.21 with 1037 songs and doing random rotate.... THEN JAY (our Hero!) said there's this crazy Affrikan that made this program with a guy in Texas that I should use....

"memories... like the colors of my mind...."

Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump