Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd July 2005, 11:53   #41
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,941
Quote:
Originally posted by ravetrax


cpu usage is fairly low for all encoding. and sounds pretty decent. it is being used with a 3rd party dsp stacker, allowing several plugins to be used as well.
I have noticed that also running 2 streams at the moment

one on 112kbps with the v1 aac encoder
second on 48kbps with the v2 encoder

both running 44.1khz

made some calls and ask friends to listen in just for a sec and tell me how it sounds, the results are sofar, amazing, great , wow that sound better than radio .... ( dutch national radio station on the internet)

I stand and Salute Will for a job welldone sofar.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 23rd July 2005, 12:05   #42
zee100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 169
Sounds good.
Is there any change to become a beta tester for the new dsp?
zee100 is offline  
Old 24th July 2005, 02:08   #43
Trekkan
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 66
Something I've been doing for a long time is controling Winamp through a program I've written. The problem I have with the current DSP is.. let me see if I can explain it.

I normally have winamp minimized to a tray icon.

If I fire up winamp and it starts out minimized, I throw a track at winamp and start the track playing (all from my custom app), the track plays fine.

The problem however is that the DSP will not start sending data to the server until I bring the DSP up from a minimized state to a normal window state. Then you will see the bytes start flowing and I can minimize as normal.

I've worked around this by bring the winamp window into a normal window mode and then minimizing it again, but it's a really ugly and wasteful way to work around this.

Thanks for working on this, it's been in long need of improvement! Now if we can get some updates to the DNAS...
Trekkan is offline  
Old 25th July 2005, 15:02   #44
DJ Matt
Senior Member
 
DJ Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 433
Wow a new encoder

This might be easy, since I'm not a programmer I might be wrong:

The 1.8.0 SC DSP used the built in windows codecs for encoding, yielding higher quality when you had the right codec installed. I believe this feature was removed because it was causing problems with folks who had busted or missing windows mp3 codecs. Although mp3 is becoming something of the past with AAC+ on the horizon, it would be nice if it could use it again.

If it takes longer than an hour to put in though, it's not worth it

By the way, if you guys would like some more beta testers, I know the other NBOX Radio stations would be interested in helping you test out the new DSP. Shoot me a PM or e-mail if you're interested, thanks

Matt...
Star104 Internet Radio
http://www.star104.net
Oldies104 Celebrating 14 years on the air! (Does anyone remember OldiesRadioNET.com?)
DJ Matt is offline  
Old 25th July 2005, 19:38   #45
ravetrax
Major Dude
 
ravetrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ My name is Rava www.ravetrax.com
Posts: 541
Send a message via ICQ to ravetrax Send a message via AIM to ravetrax Send a message via Yahoo to ravetrax
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Matt
By the way, if you guys would like some more beta testers....
as far as i know all testers have been selected and have been testing it some time now. if my calculations are correct the testing won't last much longer.

Echo34 - A music related irc network for the socially challenged. [ website | chat now ]

Stream Solutions - The next level of Shoutcast server hosting! [ website | forums ]

RaveTrax - Its not a state of mind, Its a way of life. [ website | forums | chatroom ]
» Gen2 A/V Streams - NSV Video [vp6.2 & 64k aacPlus v2] - 64k aacPlus v2 - 24k aacPlus v2
» AMPX Player - Web based player that plays ALL streams! [Audio & Audio/Video]
» Other Streams - 160k MP3 - 64k MP3 - 24k MP3
ravetrax is offline  
Old 25th July 2005, 19:45   #46
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,941
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Matt
Wow a new encoder
That's an understatement.

it's not only a new encoder it's going to be one of the better encoders availible.
Teststreams have been running for several days and most reactions i had so far go from , sounds great all the way to -> what have you done?? it can't be that it sounds so good at such a low bitrate.

64kbps aac+ has a better sound than 112kbps mp3 stream

Personally i think that aac+ sounds great but the bandwidth usage is perfect.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 25th July 2005, 21:04   #47
DJ Matt
Senior Member
 
DJ Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally posted by spaceplay
That's an understatement.
Yeah dude, you're right cause I've checked out the existing low bitrate streams and it kicks mp3pro's ass for sure!

Matt...
Star104 Internet Radio
http://www.star104.net
Oldies104 Celebrating 14 years on the air! (Does anyone remember OldiesRadioNET.com?)
DJ Matt is offline  
Old 26th July 2005, 22:46   #48
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,635
Quote:
Originally posted by spaceplay
64kbps aac+ has a better sound than 112kbps mp3 stream
IMO 32kbps aac+ sounds the same if not better than 112k mp3.

However nothing has been said about how the cost of the encoder is being covered.

SpacialAudio is considering including AACPlus with Sam broadcaster however there would be an additional charge ($100-200)

Is AOL/shoutcast going to front the entire bill for it or something?

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline  
Old 26th July 2005, 22:50   #49
bored_womble
Winamp's Womble
 
bored_womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wimbledon Common
Posts: 1,100
well it depends of course who owns the license and if AOL have a share in the ownership ....directly or not .... food for thought

BW

Without open minds the world will die. Open yours and correct the mistakes you are making right now.
bored_womble is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 00:59   #50
rgATL
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ATL, of course.
Posts: 724
So, I guess my question would be: Which players (and more importantly, which versions of which players) support aac+? My goal has been to include as many people as possible.

So, what versions (if any) of Winamp? WMP? Real? iTunes?

Thanks,
rg.
rgATL is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 01:05   #51
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,635
Quote:
Originally posted by rgATL
So, I guess my question would be: Which players (and more importantly, which versions of which players) support aac+? My goal has been to include as many people as possible.

So, what versions (if any) of Winamp? WMP? Real? iTunes?

Thanks,
rg.
AAC+ has support for Winamp, Realplayer, Quicktime, VideoLAN, Foobar2000, Core Pocket Media Player.

Not sure of versions however it works in all the recent versions I know. There is no support whatsoever for windows media player, which is why I don't switch to AAC right now

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 02:13   #52
ravetrax
Major Dude
 
ravetrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ My name is Rava www.ravetrax.com
Posts: 541
Send a message via ICQ to ravetrax Send a message via AIM to ravetrax Send a message via Yahoo to ravetrax
Quote:
Originally posted by protegechris
There is no support whatsoever for windows media player, which is why I don't switch to AAC right now
also no current aacPlus support for iTunes, and this is the only reason I am still boradcasting mp3 streams. As soon as apple gets off there ass and upgrade iTunes, my mp3 streams are coming offline.

Echo34 - A music related irc network for the socially challenged. [ website | chat now ]

Stream Solutions - The next level of Shoutcast server hosting! [ website | forums ]

RaveTrax - Its not a state of mind, Its a way of life. [ website | forums | chatroom ]
» Gen2 A/V Streams - NSV Video [vp6.2 & 64k aacPlus v2] - 64k aacPlus v2 - 24k aacPlus v2
» AMPX Player - Web based player that plays ALL streams! [Audio & Audio/Video]
» Other Streams - 160k MP3 - 64k MP3 - 24k MP3
ravetrax is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 05:14   #53
Jay
Moderator Alumni
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Next Door
Posts: 8,942
yup, it's a chicken or egg situation. If content providers overwhelmingly start utilizing aac. Player producers will have little choice but to support it though. Otherwise their player goes away.
Jay is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 17:25   #54
sns2015
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 218
So, how much longer until we get AACPlus...

Please excuse my impatience, I'm just too excited to be able to use this in NSV.
sns2015 is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 17:53   #55
ravetrax
Major Dude
 
ravetrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ My name is Rava www.ravetrax.com
Posts: 541
Send a message via ICQ to ravetrax Send a message via AIM to ravetrax Send a message via Yahoo to ravetrax
i know the 1.9.0 dsp is in limited beta and it has aacPlus support, however nsv with aacPlus support is still in pre~beta.

the dates i was given for release have already past so I am not sure what’s going on with them. i think it has something to do with licensing, but then again I have no clue.

Echo34 - A music related irc network for the socially challenged. [ website | chat now ]

Stream Solutions - The next level of Shoutcast server hosting! [ website | forums ]

RaveTrax - Its not a state of mind, Its a way of life. [ website | forums | chatroom ]
» Gen2 A/V Streams - NSV Video [vp6.2 & 64k aacPlus v2] - 64k aacPlus v2 - 24k aacPlus v2
» AMPX Player - Web based player that plays ALL streams! [Audio & Audio/Video]
» Other Streams - 160k MP3 - 64k MP3 - 24k MP3
ravetrax is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 18:13   #56
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Quote:
Originally posted by ravetrax
i know the 1.9.0 dsp is in limited beta and it has aacPlus support, however nsv with aacPlus support is still in pre~beta.

the dates i was given for release have already past so I am not sure what’s going on with them. i think it has something to do with licensing, but then again I have no clue.

Your so tight lipped its like they have been sewn together

i feel the delay is because as you say licencing,which really
means how much nullsoft/aol will charge for aacPlus support.
my understanding is spacial audio will be charging $100 +
so why would aol give it away for free,its not in their nature.

I will pay who ever provides the product first ive always said that ,it worth it just for the drop in bandwidth costs.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 18:49   #57
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,941
Quote:
Originally posted by Jkey
Your so tight lipped its like they have been sewn together
Could it be that those of us who were given the dsp for testing really don't know ?

Could it be that We promised Will that we would keep certain things to ourselves ?

both can be answered with yes, so it's not that our lips are sewed together
certain things simply are not told to us, so How? can we tell them here

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 19:16   #58
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,635
Quote:
Originally posted by Jkey
i feel the delay is because as you say licencing,which really
means how much nullsoft/aol will charge for aacPlus support.
I doubt it has anything to do with broadcaster cost, more likely something to do with nullsoft licensing it out from Orban so thousands of people will have it then..

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 19:25   #59
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
Orban doesn't own the AACPlus technology, it's CodingTech that the need to pay off.

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 19:56   #60
Jay
Moderator Alumni
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Next Door
Posts: 8,942
actually it's a dual licensing from what I understand. You have to license both AAC and the SBR+PS technology.
Jay is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 20:07   #61
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Quote:
Originally posted by KXRM
actually it's a dual licensing from what I understand. You have to license both AAC and the SBR+PS technology.
i see so every new aac+ product that is devolped by nullsoft/aol has to be submitted for ct licencing ?

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 28th July 2005, 21:26   #62
ravetrax
Major Dude
 
ravetrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ My name is Rava www.ravetrax.com
Posts: 541
Send a message via ICQ to ravetrax Send a message via AIM to ravetrax Send a message via Yahoo to ravetrax
Quote:
Originally posted by spaceplay
Could it be that We promised Will that we would keep certain things to ourselves?
well to be truthful, my promises are much higher up the latter than will, and for that reason even will couldn't convince me to release what i have, nor would i share with him even knowing what he is working on.

Echo34 - A music related irc network for the socially challenged. [ website | chat now ]

Stream Solutions - The next level of Shoutcast server hosting! [ website | forums ]

RaveTrax - Its not a state of mind, Its a way of life. [ website | forums | chatroom ]
» Gen2 A/V Streams - NSV Video [vp6.2 & 64k aacPlus v2] - 64k aacPlus v2 - 24k aacPlus v2
» AMPX Player - Web based player that plays ALL streams! [Audio & Audio/Video]
» Other Streams - 160k MP3 - 64k MP3 - 24k MP3
ravetrax is offline  
Old 29th July 2005, 01:02   #63
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
im intrested to know does the new dsp and aac+ encoder
have the abilty to stream @ 48khz samplerate ?.
or is it limited to 44.1 khz ?

i would be greatful for an answer from a beta tester

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 29th July 2005, 05:55   #64
ravetrax
Major Dude
 
ravetrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ My name is Rava www.ravetrax.com
Posts: 541
Send a message via ICQ to ravetrax Send a message via AIM to ravetrax Send a message via Yahoo to ravetrax
Quote:
Originally posted by Jkey
im intrested to know does the new dsp and aac+ encoder
have the abilty to stream @ 48khz samplerate ?.
or is it limited to 44.1 khz ?
aww now we woudln't want to spoil the surpirse now...

Echo34 - A music related irc network for the socially challenged. [ website | chat now ]

Stream Solutions - The next level of Shoutcast server hosting! [ website | forums ]

RaveTrax - Its not a state of mind, Its a way of life. [ website | forums | chatroom ]
» Gen2 A/V Streams - NSV Video [vp6.2 & 64k aacPlus v2] - 64k aacPlus v2 - 24k aacPlus v2
» AMPX Player - Web based player that plays ALL streams! [Audio & Audio/Video]
» Other Streams - 160k MP3 - 64k MP3 - 24k MP3
ravetrax is offline  
Old 29th July 2005, 11:24   #65
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Quote:
Originally posted by ravetrax
aww now we woudln't want to spoil the surpirse now...
thanks rava u nutta :P,i only asked because i know orbans
encoder does this.

anyhow my patient nature has kicked back in so i will
just wait to find out and go back to getting my nsv
stream up and running again.


BtW thanks for returning my pm rava its good to know
even people who feel they are at the top of the food chain
sometimes come down and mingle with the common folk.

thanks
mandark

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 29th July 2005, 14:45   #66
ravetrax
Major Dude
 
ravetrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ My name is Rava www.ravetrax.com
Posts: 541
Send a message via ICQ to ravetrax Send a message via AIM to ravetrax Send a message via Yahoo to ravetrax
Quote:
Originally posted by Jkey
BtW thanks for returning my pm rava its good to know
even people who feel they are at the top of the food chain
sometimes come down and mingle with the common folk.
pfftt... my real intention for coming down was for a snack...

/me is still hungry.

but seriously to clairify this a bit... i by no means feel like i am on top of any food chain. i do however feel very bleesed that i have been given a chance to play with the big boys toys for a while why they aren't looking.

Echo34 - A music related irc network for the socially challenged. [ website | chat now ]

Stream Solutions - The next level of Shoutcast server hosting! [ website | forums ]

RaveTrax - Its not a state of mind, Its a way of life. [ website | forums | chatroom ]
» Gen2 A/V Streams - NSV Video [vp6.2 & 64k aacPlus v2] - 64k aacPlus v2 - 24k aacPlus v2
» AMPX Player - Web based player that plays ALL streams! [Audio & Audio/Video]
» Other Streams - 160k MP3 - 64k MP3 - 24k MP3
ravetrax is offline  
Old 29th July 2005, 16:51   #67
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Quote:
Originally posted by ravetrax
pfftt... my real intention for coming down was for a snack...

/me is still hungry.

but seriously to clairify this a bit... i by no means feel like i am on top of any food chain. i do however feel very bleesed that i have been given a chance to play with the big boys toys for a while why they aren't looking.

lol

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 30th July 2005, 01:51   #68
sns2015
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally posted by ravetrax
i think it has something to do with licensing,
Weren't they supposed to get the licensing BEFORE they started working on the encoder? I thought you had to pay before you were even supposed to start coding.
sns2015 is offline  
Old 30th July 2005, 10:57   #69
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Quote:
Originally posted by sns2015
Weren't they supposed to get the licensing BEFORE they started working on the encoder? I thought you had to pay before you were even supposed to start coding.
http://www.codingtechnologies.com/company/history.htm

http://www.cimon.se/anyheter.htm
Quote:
26 July 2004
America Online licenses aacPlus v2 Audio Codec from Coding Technologies. Coding Technologies announced today that America Online has licensed its aacPlus v2 audio codec for use with its media delivery platform and the NSV file format. aacPlus v2 will enable AOL to efficiently deliver high-quality audio and audio-visual services at low bit rates to AOL members.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 8th August 2005, 19:21   #70
rgATL
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ATL, of course.
Posts: 724
Any updates on this?

rg.
rgATL is offline  
Old 8th August 2005, 21:57   #71
chuckeh
SHOUTcast Freak
 
chuckeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NRW, Germany
Posts: 323
I heard, that the beta version is in testing mode. Some people are testing it a few days/weeks until it get released!
chuckeh is offline  
Old 8th August 2005, 22:24   #72
DJ Optiavela
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via Yahoo to DJ Optiavela
Have i gone insane or did no one think of auto detecting internet connection with the dsp and having it automatically changing the bitrate and value do to your detectable settings..i dunno just thinking..
DJ Optiavela is offline  
Old 8th August 2005, 22:25   #73
DJ Optiavela
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via Yahoo to DJ Optiavela
oh and also in unison with your usage of the connection letting it adjust to use only the available bandwidth..oops forgot to add that in ..sorry for the extra post! =)
DJ Optiavela is offline  
Old 9th August 2005, 04:14   #74
ravetrax
Major Dude
 
ravetrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ My name is Rava www.ravetrax.com
Posts: 541
Send a message via ICQ to ravetrax Send a message via AIM to ravetrax Send a message via Yahoo to ravetrax
Quote:
Originally posted by chuckeh
I heard, that the beta version is in testing mode. Some people are testing it a few days/weeks until it get released!
you are correct...

but i've been testing the nsv aacPlus version for about 2 months now, and the dsp aacPlus for about a month, however, i still haven't heard a release date yet.

Echo34 - A music related irc network for the socially challenged. [ website | chat now ]

Stream Solutions - The next level of Shoutcast server hosting! [ website | forums ]

RaveTrax - Its not a state of mind, Its a way of life. [ website | forums | chatroom ]
» Gen2 A/V Streams - NSV Video [vp6.2 & 64k aacPlus v2] - 64k aacPlus v2 - 24k aacPlus v2
» AMPX Player - Web based player that plays ALL streams! [Audio & Audio/Video]
» Other Streams - 160k MP3 - 64k MP3 - 24k MP3
ravetrax is offline  
Old 16th August 2005, 08:53   #75
ZuGzUg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 36
Send only Winamp title changes?

Hey Will,

OK, so this suggestion may just win the "why the hell would you ever want to do that" award of the year...

Could you make it so the ShoutCAST DSP plugin could be optionally configured so that it *only* streams *titles* ?

Perhaps make it so that if you select No Encoder, it still allows you to connect to the server, but then only sends the Winamp title change information to the ShoutCAST server.

Just to be sure this is clear, it should *not* behave as a NULL encoder (should not turn any input stream into a stream full of zeros), it should send nothing at all to the server except Winamp title changes.

Do-able?

-Z
ZuGzUg is offline  
Old 17th August 2005, 02:33   #76
cragllo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bridgend, South Wales
Posts: 55
There is only one thing i dont like about it, and that that if you wnat to speak, you need to set it to soundcard mode, and this will stream every sound you pc makes
Maybe a way of linking your microphone with it without going into soundcard mode? Thats what I realy wnat to see anyway...

A save to file option would be awesome sometime in the near future too

Craig.
cragllo is offline  
Old 17th August 2005, 14:55   #77
Jay
Moderator Alumni
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Next Door
Posts: 8,942
you can do this via the recording mixer.
Jay is offline  
Old 17th August 2005, 15:14   #78
cragllo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bridgend, South Wales
Posts: 55
Recording mixer, whats that, and where do i find it?
cragllo is offline  
Old 17th August 2005, 17:21   #79
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
Any ideas when this will be available???
Sounds great anyways. I'm sure looking forward to the minimize option.
net-cruizer is offline  
Old 17th August 2005, 17:28   #80
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
net cruiser what happend to your net cruizer logo
/me liked that
tuckerm is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump