Old 31st December 2010, 20:58   #41
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
All fixed up and the configuration files are now downloadable, even when viewing it from a local directory.

DrO, I sent you a PM. I had to add alot of stuff to it to get the local-only download working. Worth it though since it doesn't rely on a server and therefore remains portable.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2011, 02:44   #42
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Coming soon: Calendar!

*shoves nose even deeper into grindstone*
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2011, 08:54   #43
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Calendar xml config file is done.



P.S.
Happy New Year!
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2011, 21:16   #44
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Finally got rid of those damn red squiggly FireFox spell check lines. They were hurting my eyes.

In accordance with what DrO is doing, I've renamed and moved the files into it's namesake own folder.

http://bogproghome.hopto.org/config_...g_builder.html

I just also tested it with FireFox on linux. Works as expected including the downloader stuff.


thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2011, 22:54   #45
PhoenixWarez
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to PhoenixWarez Send a message via Yahoo to PhoenixWarez Send a message via Skype™ to PhoenixWarez
I must say, exelent e work @thinktink, cheers!

Best reguardes;
- Miguel de la Nieves

Please follow one of my affiliate links so I may continue construction of PhoenixWarez,Unlimited!
Get a free .com/.net/.info domain name or use your own here!
Learn to speak Japanese like a pro by clicking here!

Last edited by PhoenixWarez; 1st January 2011 at 22:55. Reason: ???
PhoenixWarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2011, 11:58   #46
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
ty Phoenix
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2011, 20:12   #47
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Finally got the damn config settings backup stuff working right. Also did some retooling on some background stuff to work-around IE problematic cookie stuff.

I think I have one more thing to add to it...
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 01:31   #48
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Now includes the symbolically named playlists settings. Probably gonna be a while before I get new ideas.

Latest release now live at usual location.

Time for a nap...

thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 01:52   #49
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
great job on this thinkthink

This is going to save people massive amounts of time.

Since we are on about it and I am the last one that edited this thread, anyone object to me throwing a link to this in the "Need SHOUTcast help" thread", located here: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=246636???
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 03:07   #50
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
to make it idiot proof ... adding a DJ "automatically" add a calendar dj event for that DJ

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 13:48   #51
giss68
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
I guess we have to delete sc_serv_basic.conf and sc_trans_basic.conf and just use this conf builder output?
giss68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 15:31   #52
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
fc*uk: should be fine to do that especially if thinktink's given the ok to ship it officially

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaromanda View Post
to make it idiot proof ... adding a DJ "automatically" add a calendar dj event for that DJ
good idea that

Quote:
Originally Posted by giss68 View Post
I guess we have to delete sc_serv_basic.conf and sc_trans_basic.conf and just use this conf builder output?
you can save the configuration files generated by this to any filename you want. the sc_serv_*.conf files included in the distribution packages are mainly there for getting to know what can be done with the configuration options and to show off different aspects though if you've not happy with editing text files / having issues then trying this out is more likely to give what is wanted.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 18:01   #53
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
@DrO: Got your PM, will have a look at it when I get off work.

@fc*uk: Yes, but hold off a bit while some finalization/reconciliation work is in progress.

@jaromanda: I had thought of that before but I forgot to put it in. Should be easy enough to do on a simple level but I want to try to get some kind of dynamic link between what is added so that if a change is made in one section it updates the other. Will have a look into it when I get home off work.

@giss68: There's really no need to delete anything. Just save the file as is and pass it as the parameter instead of one of the other ones. I purposely made the default of the downloaded config file name in such a way as to not overwrite any of the other example config files (based on the latest current public install) so that it won't mess up anything else and you can revert back to the other confs if you want/need to. It will work just fine with other unused confs in the same folder.

I'm also gonna see if I can add a batch-file/linux-command-script download thingy to make it even easier. I dunno if it'll work though there might be a security issue with that but I dunno, gotta test it first.

bbl/brb, Mondays suck...

...mostly...

thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 19:22   #54
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
DrO and I are playing ping-pong with the files atm.

I had to dump the idea of linked dj->calendar event settings, it was causing more problems than it solved and it really didn't seem congruent to the nature of calendar events. But I did add an add-dj-to-the-calendar button. Did the same with the named playlists. It's not published yet but hopefully soon.

I'm thinking I should finally put something in my sig...
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2011, 04:47   #55
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
I found some flaws in the config backup/restore stuff, about 3 other background bugs, removed some unused, and a small amount of repetitive code. Also includes the above mentioned buttons.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2011, 19:34   #56
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
just drop me a pm when you would like this added and I will see it done.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2011, 20:40   #57
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Cool, I'm just waiting on DrO who has, at the moment, a mound of other priorities.

thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2011, 21:01   #58
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i just need to make some additions about when it is run locally and then i'm done on it for the time being i think (as a locally running swf for the download button just won't do what i'd like it to do even with manually compiled versions set never to try to access the internet ).

/me shakes a fist at flash security mumbo jumbo rubbish

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2011, 20:13   #59
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
DrO did some excellent work although I needed to tweak some things in the CSS so that it would look the same in IE as in FF and rename some stuff to match the current convention (internal stuff.)

@DrO I will be PMing you the updated version very soon.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2011, 22:08   #60
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
not as good as the work you've done on it all

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 14:57   #61
SC_faisal
SHOUTcast (Alumni)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 162
just stopping by and saying what an amazing tool this is!!! awesome! great work guys.
SC_faisal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 16:32   #62
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Thank you DrO & SC_faisal.

Update:
DrO found an error in the config output for "saveriplistonexit" and has brought it to my attention. It has been fixed.

thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 22:34   #63
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
the config builder has become a little bit awesome!!

but, a question. It states in help for "Auth Hash", that you need a unique Auth Hash per Endpoint ... yet on shoutcast my stations, it talks of "Stations", which implies (or more correctly I've inferred) that the auth key is per station, so if you have 3 different bitrate streams for example, for the one station, you would use the same Auth Hash

that's how I understand it, anyway

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 23:46   #64
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
When I first asked to join the ranks of the YP2 beta testing I was informed I needed a separate and unique auth hash for each endpoint regardless of bitrate. The station name for each endpoint-registered-auth-hash is still the same but each endpoint itself (I was told) requires a unique hash.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 13:20   #65
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you can use the same authhash for different endpoints (is what i've seen from testing out things) and is basically there to group different streams to be provided as the one station. i'll check the docs and amend this as appropriate.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 14:44   #66
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
If this is true then it would appear I was mis-informed.


thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 14:56   #67
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i'll double check for certain but that's how it has seemed from what i've been doing under testing.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 15:46   #68
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
k, if after you've verified it's for certain then it means the config builder is gonna need some changing.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 15:52   #69
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
how so as i thought it's working fine in that it just populates the streamauthhash for the stream config being used as is required so i don't think there's a need to change anything as entering the hash per stream makes more sense (even if they can be shared).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 16:12   #70
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
True, but the intent of it is for one named station with the possibility for one or multiple endpoints of the same stream name/title. Since this configures both sc_serv and sc_trans (of which currently sc_trans only supports one stream name/title to all endpoints per instance) that means that one sc_trans instance serves the DNAS and it only serves the same stream name/title/metadata for each endpoint. It would make more sense therefore that if the above is true you don't need or really want to individually specify an auth-hash for each endpoint as that doesn't logically flow in-line with what's going on. Of course it could be left the way it is and just re-inform the user to use the same auth-hash for each endpoint but that's a bit repetitive and also could cause confusion on the part of the user. And not just that if it can be presented to the user in a simpler manner (while leaving the more advanced options available) without harming the ability to create successful configs I think it should.

I can't think of a reason not to change it (if, of course, the above is true.)

I will, of course, wait for official word though.

Shouldn't be terribly hard anyway, one less array and one more static input (hidden and shown as appropriate.)
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 16:23   #71
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the other option (as i've used this to make multi-station configs so being able to enter different hashes is useful) is to have a master input field like the mp3 encoder parts and use that in all cases unless a per-stream option is entered.

is just a thought and so the docs are wrong from what i can tell with re-testing so i've got the fun of changing that tomorrow now so i can add in the option along with updating the docs at the same time if you're happy with it or not

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 16:31   #72
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
the other option (as i've used this to make multi-station configs so being able to enter different hashes is useful) is to have a master input field like the mp3 encoder parts and use that in all cases unless a per-stream option is entered. just a thought.
Now that you mention it that might actually be better since removing the individual auth-hash inputs will break previously created configuration backups.

I'll do that.



[EDIT /]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
...and so the docs are wrong from what i can tell with re-testing so i've got the fun of changing that...
Is that the official word?
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 16:39   #73
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
well that's what my tests are showing. either way it makes sense to change the auth hash handling to what has been suggested and i'll sort out fixing the docs.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 19:56   #74
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
so is auth hash 1 per station, or 1 per stream?

saying "the docs are wrong" doesn't really say which is the correct answer, though from the rest of the conversation I gather "1 per station" is correct

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 21:40   #75
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
1 station per hash is how it's been working with my tests.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 00:24   #76
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
k, I'm finally back home...
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 06:37   #77
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Updated. Now includes a default auth hash setting and settings+downloaders for launcher scripts/batches.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 19:22   #78
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Yo DrO, did you get my PM from last night?
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 20:06   #79
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
yup though haven't had a chance to look at it yet or finish my doc updates

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2011, 22:11   #80
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Updated:
  • None, all, or custom modes has been added for debug logging options, initial work done by DrO.
  • A grip of code was added to allow coding of the automatic updating of items in the calendar when DJ or Playlist names are changed.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Tags
config, sc2, yp2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump