Old 15th December 2008, 01:35   #1
AndyD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
Expected behavior? windowshade mode squishes

Expected behavior? windowshade switching to main mode squishes windows that aren't maximized. Is this supposed to be happening?
AndyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2008, 02:38   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
If you have the docked toolbar mode and Winamp docked to the top (or bottom) other windows will self adjust. Just like any other toolbar or your taskbar.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2008, 21:24   #3
AndyD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
This is definitely not right. Before I reformatted, I never had issues with windows being resized. Now it's just ridiculous. Windows that are maximized and then minimized, are squished as well. Why would it adjust window sizes for something that was maximized?
AndyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2008, 21:48   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it depends on the skin as sometimes the docked toolbar is applied on the wrong layout (ie the main one). you'll need to right-click on the player to get the 'main' menu and go to the window settings -> docked toolbar menu and change it to 'not docked' and that should resolve the issue. if not i'd expect someone else can offer some more info (isn't an area i generally deal in).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2008, 21:52   #5
AndyD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
The thing is that before this new install I did have it docked on the top. Doesn't make any sense if I have it as always on top that it would still push down all the windows to the bottom of the screen. Defeats the purpose. And it definitely doesn't make sense that it will affect window sizes for an app that's maximized.

I'm using Bento
AndyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2008, 21:08   #6
AndyD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
I can't be the only person that has this issue and bothered by it
AndyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2008, 21:16   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
if auto-hide is unchecked then it will act just the same as a fixed docked area (like the taskbar). really without much more information on what settings are or aren't enabled in your bento configuration we're just having to guess which is as a waste of time for everyone concerned.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2008, 21:22   #8
AndyD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
Docked to the top
Auto Hide is on
Always on top

But I don't see why settings would matter when concerning windows that are maximized but are affected whenever I switch from windowshade to main mode.

For example, I'll have firefox maximized. I'll go to winamp main mode to change album. This will squish Firefox to bottom of the screen even though Firefox is maximized. It'll snap back after I switch winamp to windowshade mode but when I minimize that window manually, it will be squished.

This happens with every single app I have open including ones that are just running in the tray (like Utorrent)

Doesn't really make a whole lot of sense that the windows are squished to the bottom if I have always on Top on. Defeats the purpose
AndyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2008, 12:28   #9
AndyD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
So I gave my details - all I want is confirmation that this is typical behavior so I don't have to waste any more of my time either
AndyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 05:35   #10
willdao3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
For what it's worth, AndyD, If you See This--Me, Too

Happening to me, too.

Winamp docked to bottom, autohide and always on top are OFF.

When I maximize from Windowshade mode, it squishes all other open windows to the top. Moves icons that I have fixed in various clusters around the desktop all to the top, too.

This is not right--and never happened before.
willdao3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 08:51   #11
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
When in maximized mode, make sure that docked toolbar is not enabled.

[edit] Addendum
Both the maximized and restore/normal view have toolbar mode. If toolbar mode is enabled either of the "full" views and you go from the WindowShade docked toolbar to one the "full" views, that will displace other items on the desktop. So make sure that docked toolbar is not enabled when in either of the "full" views. Disabling docked bar mode in the "full" views, will not disable it for WindowShade mode.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 15:18   #12
willdao3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
THANKS! Worked wonders; everything is as I like it, now.

BTW: this whole "separate docked toolbar/not-docked toolbar WHEN IN NORMAL AND MAXIMIZED VIEWS" is totally freaky, non-intuitive, confusing, etc. I mean, "Docked toolbar" means "when in docked toolbar mode," not "normal" or maximized" mode, right? One would think?

Also, having to remember to CTRL + Rt. Click to get to a menu (or even to Rt. click in some "dead space," to get to a menu and then hunt for the docked toolbar submenu popup) is crazy, too. Why not have it embedded in one of the normal Options menus in the top left, where everyone would expect it to be, and not have to make users (ahem, let's be real, I mean ME!, lol) tear their hair out looking for some "secret key combo" all over the freakin' window for a couple of ours over two days; ergonomically, the Bento skin still needs some work to make its myriad and complex "features" (not "bugs," of course) more comprehensible to users...

...I'm done rantin'...just some food for thought, eh?

Thanks, JonnyMac. You do good work, and it's appreciated. My experience on these Winamp boards has been uniformly great, thanks to you--not usually the case with application forums, in my long experience with 'em. Great product and great support from the dedicated community.

Now I'll go update that .txt file with the new instructions; hopefully, I won't have to bother you again with questions on these subjects...but, of course, that's what I thought three months ago, hah...

Peace,


willdao3
willdao3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 21:14   #13
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
You're welcome and Thanks!

It Docked Toolbar options are also available via Winamp's main menu by clicking on the tide/wave button in the left of the title bar(main menu > Window Settings > Docked Toolbar). Ctrl+right click on a empty/negative space is a shoutcut to the Window Settings menu.

I do see you point about docked mode in normal or maximized views. However, if the tabs pane/panel is collapsed and docked toolbar is set to Top with Auto-Hide, that can make a nice hide and pop-down access to Winamp.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 00:12   #14
AndyD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
But how is that really a solution though? I want the app to be docked. I don't believe that pushing down windows including windows that are not even open (minimized to tray) need to be minimized into small boxes and not properly sized to the original size when the windows shade mode is switched off.

I no longer use the app because of this issue.
AndyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 12:30   #15
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
It is more of a Windows thing that a Winamp thing. The docked toolbar mode uses the same Windows function as the task-bar does. If you expand the size of the taskbar, that will also displace items on the desktop. If you like to keep Winamp in docked mode while in a "full" view, try enabling auto-hide.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 16:40   #16
geodesic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2
I must admit that at this point, after having used winamp since around 1997 I am probably giving up. This 'squishing' behavior is too much. I am using the v5.581 which at the time of writing was the latest version. So I expect that after a dozen years whatever the program does is what it has been designed to do. While I have liked to listen to some of the online stations and to record from them, or to playback stored music, I generally have used winamp to playback voice recordings and dictations while I transcribe them and edit them into Word. While my primary computer is being fixed, I had had to use an earlier computer and configuration.

No matter what I do, no matter how much I play around with the window settings / docked tool bar, top, floating, auto-hide, top or not - winamp messes with all the other 'non-maximized' windows, and with the desktop icons, squishing them to the bottom of the screen, for whatever reason i cannot tell, and then doesn't return them to the previous state. So if I am trying to dictate to a non-maximized version of word, or if I am working with some non-maximized version of acrobat or some other text reader as I compose some writing, winamp will resize everything, and leave it all unreadable at the bottom of the screen. I know of no other program that does this, and to blame 'the windows os' for this seem disingenuous. What other program demands that any other open, but non-maximized window must be manually resized after each and every time it is used?

If I have the winamp tool bar located say midway down the screen, and I want to access winamp to select a particular audio file, the toolbar jumps to the top of the screen, opens, and squishes all non-maximized programs permanently at the bottom of the page. If I want to continue writing, using the audio as it plays, I am then expected to pull each and every window back up to its position and manually resize them, which is never quite perfect. And this must be done quickly as the audio plays. And winamp doesn't just permanently resize windows, it also *permanently* changes the location of desktop icons. no other program does this.

Why can't there be a 'toolbar' that one can access without it interfering with everything else on the screen? I might point out that lately when I try to even avoid this windowshade mode to see if i can access winamp with alt-tab, pressing the restore/minimize/maximize, and yet this results in winamp seemingly locked to various places on the screen - so I have no choice but to use the windowshade mode and its invasion of all other program's windows. at the moment I am writing, winamp is open in another monitor - so that i can even use my computer to write this - but is locked halfway down the page, can't be moved, can't be resized (and the bottom of the winamp screen is way below the bottom of my total screen. The only choice I seem to have is to maximize winamp or use windowshad mode. What happened. This used to be a good program.
geodesic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 20:02   #17
geodesic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2
This has gone beyond windowshade mode. Now, simply turning on winamp - just turning it on, opens a window that pushes (permanently) all icons of the desktop to the bottom, and squished (permanently until manually resized) all windows. Winamp at this point has entered the level of rogue program.

Winamp is a rogue program because of the way it effects programs it should have nothing to do with. It will even squash (permanently until manually resized) the Windows OS Control Panel, since that too manifested in a window. And again, I am simply talking turning winamp on. Now worrying about the task bar - it will always move all the desktop icons and squish all the programs.
geodesic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 04:06   #18
jimjulian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
Just for the record, the year is 2018, and I'm having the same problem.
jimjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 04:19   #19
jimjulian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
I just found a solution to the problem.

Window settings:
Auto-hide
Top

The key is to not maximze Winamp, and then shrink the bottom, leaving an inch or so at the bottom of the Winamp window. Then the existing opened windows, minimized or not, will not be squashed/resized. The full width of the screen can be used, just not the full height.

Good luck and enjoy.
jimjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 04:21   #20
jimjulian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
Correction: "I've just found a solution."
jimjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2018, 06:26   #21
Danniella
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 7
Finally after 8 years it is solved
Danniella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 02:05   #22
jimjulian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
...at least you didn't say "Duh?".
jimjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 02:20   #23
jimjulian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
I also found this while searching the archives:

"Using the Bento skin? Options (menu bar) > Window Sizing > uncheck 'Link shade and player width' "
jimjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump