Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th April 2001, 20:41   #1
poach
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 9
Dear ... err anybody in winamp
I sent this email in the feedback section but I got an email saying it didn't get through to you so I copy/paste my original email here:

---------Original email follows----------

Dear friends from Winamp,

Firstly I'd like to congratulate you for this awesome piece of software that
you share with the world. You're the best!

Now, about the 'bug':
Well it's not a "programming" bug by definition but it is annoying: when you play two mp3s that are supposed to be consecutive (non-stop in between),winamp can't do that. Instead there's a small gap before each song. Most of
my CDs I encoded to mp3s (which is mostly classical and Heavy-metal where the non-stop phenomenon happens quite a lot, between movements for instance)have this problem. It's not an mp3 issue either because this happens when I play the CDs directly in winamp too. I'm not sure whether this cut-off was intentional during the programing (because, well, I guess in normal one-track songs you would want each track to be separate) but if there is a way of merging some tracks to sound continuous, that would really be a great advantage for winamp and I'd be grateful if you considered this issue in one of your future upgrades.
(If there is a simpler solution I have overlooked please point me to the right direction)

Thank you for your interest.
Keep up the good work.
poach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2001, 15:50   #2
CLAiM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to CLAiM
Try experimenting with the crossfade output plugin - this might help you although I'm not sure.
CLAiM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2001, 16:40   #3
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
get a gapless plug-in, there are plenty in the olug-in sction
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2001, 02:52   #4
NeoRenegade
Banned
 
NeoRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada, eh?
Posts: 4,083
Send a message via ICQ to NeoRenegade Send a message via AIM to NeoRenegade
Erm... hmm... not exactly a bug. It's just that the faster your computer is, the smaller the gap will probably be.

I find that the gap is almost totally unnoticeable on my PIII-733 which has 256Mb of RAM.
NeoRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump