Old 10th September 2002, 04:43   #1
webthing
Forum King
 
webthing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Central Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 2,655
how do I use Winamp to listen to Live365 stations?

how do I use Winamp to listen to Live365 stations?

I need help too thanks
webthing is offline  
Old 10th September 2002, 15:39   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Click on "My settings" link (top right of live365 page)
Under "MP3 Player", checkmark "MP3 Player (eg. Winamp, Sonique, Musicmatch)"
Click "Save settings" button.

Now make sure Winamp3 is set as your default .pls playlist player c/o
Winamp3 -> Prefs -> Media
Select PLS from the extensions list.
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 10th September 2002, 20:00   #3
webthing
Forum King
 
webthing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Central Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 2,655
how do I use Winamp to listen to Live365 stations?

Thanks for the help! But I'm still having a problem. What Internet address do I enter for the location to start the stream. The station I want to listen to is at http://www.live365.com/stations/webthing.
Thanks again!
webthing is offline  
Old 10th September 2002, 20:16   #4
webthing
Forum King
 
webthing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Central Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 2,655
live365 radio

Y is that link not working. Well anyway. My station I want to listen to with winamp is @ Live365 The station name is WMIR RADIO.
Thank webthinghttp://www.live365.com/stations/webthing
webthing is offline  
Old 10th September 2002, 21:29   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Umm, you just click the big yellow "Play" button

and then a small live365 java window should open, and then the .pls playlist auto downloads and opens up and streams in Winamp. It does for me anyway (though admittedly I'm still using Winamp 2.81 as my default .pls player).
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 11th September 2002, 04:32   #6
webthing
Forum King
 
webthing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Central Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 2,655
live365 radio

Getting closer. I set winamp3 as my default .pls player. And it opens when I press play....but no sound. In the playlist editor window I get

1. Temporary
2. file:Internet
3. play[1]

Does the same for me with winamp2.8

thanks for the help webthing
webthing is offline  
Old 11th September 2002, 21:26   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Hmm, sounds like you've got a bit of a corrupt internet cache problem.

Close IE browser
Rt click IE desktop icon
Select "Properties"
General tab -> Temporary Internet Files -> Delete.

Also click the "Settings" button
and make sure the cache size isn't set too large.
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 12th September 2002, 01:08   #8
webthing
Forum King
 
webthing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Central Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 2,655
live365 radio

OK tried that. I keep that pretty clean. Thanks. Let me see. I'm using win98. I rechecked my file extensions everything looks good there. Tried real player worked. Changed back to winamp3 still getting.
1. Internet
2. Temporary
3. play[1]

When I press play Live365 sends me play.xpl from live365. I did'nt see that extension in winamp preferred media for .xpl? I don't think that matters?????

THANKS WEBTHING
Click here to email me


Last edited by webthing; 12th September 2002 at 01:41.
webthing is offline  
Old 12th September 2002, 13:19   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Aaah! The dreaded XPL conflict.
This is a RealPlayer related issue.

How to Unassociate RP8 from Streaming Playlists & Make Winamp the Default Instead
Mugged by RealPlayer
Help! - RealPlayer is still screwing me
RealPlayer has converted PLS and M3U Playlists to .XPL format - forum search
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 12th September 2002, 15:35   #10
webthing
Forum King
 
webthing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Central Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 2,655
THANKS DJEgg

Very Cool Man! That's Great! I'm so Happy now.
That was the ticket!http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=51026
I learned alot. Thanks again.
webthing is offline  
 
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp3 > Winamp3 Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump