Old 3rd November 2022, 11:06   #1
davidvankemenade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 4
DSP plugin cannot connect to Shoutcast server

Hi all, I've just upgraded to
- Winamp 5.9.0 build 9999
- Shoutcast Source DSP 2.4.1 build 444
- Shoutcast server 2.6.1.777

I can't get the Source DSP to the server. All three reside on the same machine.

The Source DSP keeps trying to reconnect, but never succeeds. If I put in an imaginary server name or another password, it reacts in the same way.

The Shoutcast server doesn't seem to receive anything from the Source DSP. If I telnet locally to port 8000 and enter the password, I get connected straight away.

Does anyone have an idea what I'm missing? Many thanks in advance!

David
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Shoutcast Winamp troubleshooting.png
Views:	68
Size:	180.0 KB
ID:	55119  
davidvankemenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2022, 12:24   #2
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,218
From the screenshot I see you are using VNC, have the server and the DSP on the same port, and have not filled in the localhost IP address.

Are you running this on a remote virtual machine? If so, does the localhost virtual adapter exist or is it only getting a inter/intra-net adapter?

Try connecting using the other IP address.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2022, 12:51   #3
davidvankemenade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 4
Hi thinktink, thanks for looking into this. I'm using a physical machine, not a VM. You're right I used VNC for the screengrab, but this doesn't seem to influence the behavior.

I've tried to replace "localhost" with 127.0.0.1, the local hostname and my public IP address (with firewall switched off for a moment) but none of this helps.

I'm particularly puzzled that telnet sessions from the machine itself or from another one are logged by Shoutcast server, but the DSP plugin seems to do nothing in terms of connecting...
davidvankemenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2022, 13:24   #4
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,218
I double checked your reported version numbers and by your report you are using the latest versions.

This is a bit baffling.

What changes, if any, did you make to the DNAS configuration file? Double check your listen bindings.

Try populating all of the "Output Configuration" details, even the fields that contain defaults, except for the DJ field. Change "Connect using:" from [Automatic mode] to the v2 mode.

As an experiment, try using AterKast instead of the official SHOUTcast DSP.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2022, 13:53   #5
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,218
Forgot to ask, did you enable logging in the DSP? If you can, attach the logs.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2022, 14:09   #6
davidvankemenade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 4
I've just tried Afterkast and that worked straight away! I think I'll just stay with this, it does the job!

Many thanks for your help.
davidvankemenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2022, 15:19   #7
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidvankemenade View Post
... I think I'll just stay with this, it does the job!

...
Gratifying to know that AterKast works but that was not my intention. It would be good to know what's causing the official DSP to not connect so that it can be looked at by the developers and given an opportunity to correct it.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2022, 06:52   #8
davidvankemenade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 4
I've tried the DSP once more with a standard config, then again with all kinds of debugging added to the config (conf file attached).

This didn't seem to make any difference, it seems Shoutcast server doesn't receive anything from the DSP. I've also attached the DSP log.

I've added another screengrab that shows something else that cought my eye. When I check for any available upgrades from the DSP, it never completes the action. I therefore currently think DSP is not able to connect over the network for some reason.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_PVR - 2022-11-04T07-34-23.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	334.6 KB
ID:	55122  
Attached Files
File Type: conf sc_serv.conf (2.1 KB, 60 views)
File Type: log dsp_sc_1.log (5.4 KB, 56 views)
davidvankemenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2022, 16:50   #9
nono303
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 3
Hi,
Same issue for me.
KO : Winamp 5.9.0 build 9999 / Shoutcast Source DSP 2.4.1 build 444 / Shoutcast server 2.6.1.777
OK : Winamp 5.666 build 3516 / Shoutcast Source DSP 2.4.1 build 444 / Shoutcast server 2.6.1.777

It seems to be a global connection issue as I didn’t see any TCP connection out of winamp.exe (5.9.0) when tried to connect to Shoutcast server (tried localhost, 127.0.0.1, 192.168.x.x)
Same when I click on "check for updates" in DSP plugin "about…" tab : no TCP connection out of winamp.exe (5.9.0). button keep locked indefinitely
nono303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2022, 19:42   #10
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,218
Might be an incompatibility with the 5.9 jnetlib libraries.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2022, 14:46   #11
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 4,587
Use a Standalone encoder...
DJ-Garybaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2022, 18:03   #12
nono303
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 3
Thx @thinktink for the jnetlib libraries.
Adding zlib.dll in Shared folder fix the issue for me
nono303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2022, 19:15   #13
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by nono303 View Post
Thx @thinktink for the jnetlib libraries.
Adding zlib.dll in Shared folder fix the issue for me
Where did you get zlib.dll from?
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2022, 06:32   #14
nono303
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 3
I build it from src (cf. https://github.com/nono303/win-build...dules/zlib.bat)
nono303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump