Old 11th February 2007, 07:19   #1
adimoshu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Winamp on Vista doesn't play on 6 channels

Hello all,

I have windows vista installed and the latest version of winamp. The sound card is configured for a 6 channels sound system. In winamp this configuration can be seen (speaker setup 5.1). But i don't know what else to do to make winamp play on 6 channels. I have an onboard sound card (ac97 codecs) from realtek. Please if somebody has ideas, share them.

Thanks
adimoshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 17:12   #2
masta_orc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
same bug here... ill hope this will be fixed soon
masta_orc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 19:00   #3
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
same here...
My quadraphonic sound seems to be working fine in the speaker configuration in Windows but in WMP and Winamp, I hear from the front ones only
kenwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 19:58   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,874
Yup. Known. Vista doesn't do DirectSound hardware acceleration. Sorry :/

Check your sound card/chip manufacturer's website for updated drivers.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2007, 23:55   #5
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
Creative's Alchemy Project should reintroduce directsound hardware acceleration back into Vista,if you should have a card from them, and whenever Creative decides to release it. I for one am completely stumped as to why directsound hardware acceleration was removed in the first place.
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2007, 00:13   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by STanger
I for one am completely stumped as to why directsound hardware acceleration was removed in the first place.
because that's the way of the future (as Vista is meant to be showing us)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2007, 18:06   #7
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
because that's the way of the future (as Vista is meant to be showing us)

-daz

Rendering about 90% of the features in my x-fi platinum useless and non-working is the way of the future???? I don't think so.
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2007, 18:20   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
was meant as a light-hearted comment on things.
i think the general consensus is that they've messed up a large number of things that just shouldn't have happened and is quite frankly inexcusable - obviously there may be valid reasons for some of the changes but either way killing hardware directsound support is just plain insanity

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2007, 22:05   #9
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
This could be one of the reasons they're already working on Vista SP1 ..maybe they've already realized that it's insanity. ..one can only hope eh?
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2007, 04:39   #10
cppman
Member
 
cppman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 84
It's my understanding its being dropped because most of the existing software solutions (OpenAL and Fmod and what have you) are better and processors are fast enough that that hardware acceleration for sound isn't really necessary anymore. In fact, it was my understanding that most of directx (except for d3d) was being dropped.

edit: Hmm - maybe they want everyone to move to XACT?
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb174772.aspx
I guess its part of XNA. I don't know (is not an audio guy).
cppman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2007, 08:28   #11
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
Quote:
Originally posted by cppman
It's my understanding its being dropped because most of the existing software solutions (OpenAL and Fmod and what have you) are better and processors are fast enough that that hardware acceleration for sound isn't really necessary anymore. In fact, it was my understanding that most of directx (except for d3d) was being dropped.

edit: Hmm - maybe they want everyone to move to XACT?
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb174772.aspx
I guess its part of XNA. I don't know (is not an audio guy).
A OpenAL plugin for winamp running in Vista would be pretty tight. That would be an output plugin right? I can't ever keep that straight in my head. keke

<edit>After looking into your link cppman I think you be more right then you know
code:
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb172329.aspx
</edit>
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2007, 08:30   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
yes it'd have to be an output plugin

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2007, 08:32   #13
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
yes it'd have to be an output plugin

-daz
Great! DrO get crackin' j/k ..if it's possible that would be awesome to say the least.
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2007, 09:01   #14
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i was going to reply with i don't know who'd do it since i've no idea about such matters and i don't want to go near to vista unless i have no way out of it. win2k all the way (with my nice old hardware )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2007, 05:52   #15
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
I don't blame you at all DrO but I don't know why you couldn't do it using the dev environ you have set up now but it's all good. I was kidding anyhow.
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2007, 15:23   #16
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
XACT is already a part of the latest DirectX redist's.
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2007, 16:15   #17
darklife41
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adelaide, AU
Posts: 9
Gigabyte just released some drivers (3-14-07) for AC888 that work fine with 5.1 and Vista (R1.52). I'm told on HWA forum that some have 5.1 working fine with AC'97 too.
darklife41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2007, 08:52   #18
soepy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Hey, found it. Go to Control Panel, 'Change sound cards settings', select Speakers, Properties, Enhancements, and check "Speaker Fill". Presto!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vista_fill.jpg (37.9 KB, 26753 views)
soepy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2007, 15:31   #19
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Yeah i have the same problem with the same card and same windows... I did the speaker fill but now the rear speakers sound like ass-karaoke voice cancellation thing.... no-one can help with that part...
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2007, 15:33   #20
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
WINDOWS 3.1 ALL THE WAY!!!! WOOO!

Just a friendly note to all who want vista - if you don't wanna waste your weekend browsing forums for audio solutions to annoying problems, wait until there's a service pack....
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2007, 17:12   #21
darklife41
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adelaide, AU
Posts: 9
The only problem I had with Vista was the audio drivers for 5.1, which are now available at Realtek's site and my motherboard's site.

The trick is to not waste your money on sound cards that sound no better than onboard audio on a decent motherboard.

AC8888 sounds better than X-Fi on my 500w Cambridge Soundworks. Even the SigmaTel onboard sounds as good if not better than the latest sound cards. :-)
darklife41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump