Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th October 2020, 21:04   #1
Wineroz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 108
Unable to write tags with Mp3tag to M4A that is being played

If a file in M4A format is being played in my Winamp, then I cannot write tags in it via the Mp3tag- I first have to stop the file in the player. But at the same time I can edit the tags within the Winamp itself

So is this a normal behavior for M4A files? With FLACs I do not have to stop the in Winamp in order to be able to change data in their tag fields


I am running Winamp 5.8 with Mp3tag 3.03 on Windows 10 Enterprise x64 18362.535. But I do not know what plugin is plugin my M4A files in Winamp, because under

Options > Preferences > Plug-INS > Input

I do not see any name / description with M4A in it
Wineroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2020, 21:54   #2
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 788
that's normal for really any file and that's because the file is locked as read-only when it's being used. When winamp writes the tag to the file it stops the song very briefly to write it then starts it again. I notice this when I change the ratings on songs

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp: (Winamp 5.8) is not an ongoing project get wacup

5.8 beta issue quick fix - Install 5.666 (there's no further 5.8 releases)
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2020, 21:56   #3
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,766
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
M4a is just a container. It can house different formats, like ALAC or AAC, etc

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2021, 15:00   #4
Wineroz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicf8 View Post
that's normal for really any file and that's because the file is locked as read-only when it's being used.
Really?

Sow how was is it then possible for me on Windows XP / Windows 7 with Winamp 5.666 and is possible for me on Windows 10 with Winamp 5.8 to change via Mp3tag data as I please in every kind of tag field [even a made up by me] of the following filetypes: FLAC, MP3, TTA, WAV, WV?

And also WMA does not seem to have an issue with that [but has limitation in regards to using certain signs in certain tag fields]

While on the other side along with M4A there is also APE, but that one has a problem even with "letting go of a file" - which only happens when Winamp is closed after its playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicf8 View Post
When winamp writes the tag to the file it stops the song very briefly to write it then starts it again. I notice this when I change the ratings on songs
I stopped using Winamp to write data in tags of audio files the moment I discovered Mp3tag, which must have been over 15 years ago - so I do not know about that



Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
M4a is just a container. It can house different formats, like ALAC or AAC, etc
And... it means that the problem is with ALAC, ACC or some other format?

My NCH Switch Sound File Converter Plus that I use for creating sparse M4A files in its encoding option for that formats says "AAC / M4A Encoder Settings"; plus has an option to "Force MPEG Output". Thus... I do not know what kind of files am I really creating?
Wineroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 12:30   #5
Wineroz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 108
It seems that this issue has been already discussed. [Worez was my previous account]

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?p=3201521



But continuing this inquiry; i.e. trying to get to the core of the issue or at least coming up with some satisfying workaround:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wineroz View Post
[...]But I do not know what plugin is plugin my M4A files in Winamp, because under

Options > Preferences > Plug-INS > Input

I do not see any name / description with M4A in it
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wineroz View Post
[...]
My NCH Switch Sound File Converter Plus that I use for creating sparse M4A files in its encoding option for that formats says "AAC / M4A Encoder Settings"; plus has an option to "Force MPEG Output". Thus... I do not know what kind of files am I really creating?
It seems that I do know what exactly is playing my M4A files in Winamp and how coded they were. But if MediaInfo [mediainfo.sourceforge.net] is showing me


Complete name : C:\SAMPLE-TITLE.m4a
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : Base Media
Codec ID : isom (M4A /mp42/mp41)
File size : 127 KiB
Duration : 4 s 800 ms
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 217 kb/s
Encoded date : UTC 2021-01-31 17:30:22
Tagged date : UTC 2021-01-31 17:30:22

Audio
ID : 1
Format : AAC LC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec Low Complexity
Codec ID : mp4a-40-2
Duration : 4 s 800 ms
Source duration : 4 s 830 ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 207 kb/s
Maximum bit rate : 249 kb/s
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel layout : L R
Sampling rate : 44.1 kHz
Frame rate : 43.066 FPS (1024 SPF)
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 121 KiB (96%)
Source stream size : 121 KiB (96%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2021-01-31 17:30:22
Tagged date : UTC 2021-01-31 17:30:22
mdhd_Duration : 4800




then does it mean that my M4As are AACs? AAC LCs to be precise- thus lossless for sure?
Wineroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2021, 16:58   #6
Wineroz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 108
Well? Anybody?

Does this mean that my M4As are AACs? AAC LCs to be precise- thus lossless for sure?
Wineroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 23:49   #7
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,766
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
ALAC is lossless.

AAC of whatever type is afaik, lossy.

https://hydrogenaud.io/index.php?topic=118318.0

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2021, 19:29   #8
Wineroz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 108
But where does this leave me?

I still have blocked M4As in my Winamp - and other fileformats not
Wineroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump