Old 31st July 2002, 19:00   #1
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
NSIS 2

It is ready! My modifications of NSIS 2. Everything that was in NSIS 1.99 and even more. To see what's new go here.

This time it is hosted on SourceForge. CVS will be available soon. Project page can be found here

Download your copy here.
Request features here.
Post bugs here.
Click here to monitor this package (if you have a SourceForge account).

I will keep you updated on developments both here and on SourceForge. Please try to put all bug reports/requests on SourceForge.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2002, 07:23   #2
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Please answer this survey, it is about multiple languages:
http://sourceforge.net/survey/survey...urvey_id=13396

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2002, 22:15   #3
SmartyMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally posted by kichik
Please answer this survey, it is about multiple languages:
http://sourceforge.net/survey/survey...urvey_id=13396
Am I the only one not having a sourceforge account?

As I said before: if you need assistance with a german translation I'll be happy to help
SmartyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2002, 23:34   #4
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
as i explained to Kichik, i offer my help for the french transaltion ! Yeh, officially said
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2002, 10:48   #5
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
CVS (latest development version) available here

User made UIs available here.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius

Last edited by kichik; 2nd August 2002 at 12:41.
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2002, 16:24   #6
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
Great work!

The included source has some compile errors, can you fix 'em?

Other suggestions:

* A command to change the license, directory etc. dialogs
* A text on the top of the 'Browse For Folder' dialog
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2002, 16:51   #7
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
What compile errors? What compiler?

Suggestions added into todo list. Next time please use SourceForge.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2002, 17:38   #8
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
I'm using MS Visual C++ 6.
code:

NSIS\Source\exehead\Ui.c(554) : error C2065: 'IDC_HAND' : undeclared identifier
NSIS\Source\exehead\Ui.c(554) : warning C4047: 'function' : 'const char *' differs in levels of indirection from 'int '
NSIS\Source\exehead\Ui.c(554) : warning C4024: 'LoadCursorA' : different types for formal and actual parameter 2
NSIS\Source\exehead\Ui.c(634) : error C2065: 'BIF_NEWDIALOGSTYLE' : undeclared identifier


I'll use SF next time. Should I submit suggestions I made earlier again (Build-in splash screen) ?
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2002, 17:43   #9
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,366
thank you so much, kichik! if you are looking for a german translation, let me know
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2002, 17:48   #10
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Download ui.c from the CVS. It should solve that.

You don't need to resubmit anything, I have it all written down.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2002, 22:41   #11
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Multiple languages in one installer option is almost ready.
So here is yet another small teaser
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hebrew.jpg (54.0 KB, 549 views)

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 12:24   #12
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
Great, I'll wait for the next release When it is possible to customize all the dialogs, I'll make a modern-style UI for NSIS (like Inno Setup, InstallShield etc.).
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 12:53   #13
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
Found another one

You should remove this from the NSIS install script:
code:

WriteRegStr HKCR "NSISFile\shell\compile-bz2" "" "Compile NSI (with bz2)"
WriteRegStr HKCR "NSISFile\shell\compile-bz2\command" "" \
'"$INSTDIR\makensisw.exe" "$INSTDIR\makensis.exe" /CD /X"SetCompressor bzip2" "%1"'

Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 13:04   #14
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,398
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Kichik, thought about BiDi support?(Hebrew, Arabic, etc...) Should go from right-to-left in those cases.

I'm sure you've noticed that in the image you posted here...
YtseJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 13:07   #15
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Joost, I left it there for backward support, it works.
Nant, when I finish writing ChangeUI (make all dialogs changeable), you will be able to load a BiDi UI for Hebrew, Arabic and all others.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 14:09   #16
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Another survery. This time about mutliple languages.

Please answer: http://sourceforge.net/survey/survey...urvey_id=13412

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 14:19   #17
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
as we would be able to select language, i hope, we would be able to set visible or invisible this page !
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 14:24   #18
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
At the moment you can't select a language. You can only select the default if the user's default language doesn't match any of the languages you inserted into the installer.

What page are you referring to?

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 14:29   #19
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
Well, as you were talking about a .onLanguageSelect function, i though there would be a special page, with a listbox, that would have allowed the user to select one of the available language !
We could use InstallOptions to do so, i know ! If so, what would be the use of such a function ?
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 14:39   #20
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
If people vote yes for that option, you will be able to create an InstallOptions page to select the language.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 14:55   #21
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
So OK
I voted "Yes" (more work to do ..... ) !
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 16:00   #22
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
Quote:
Originally posted by kichik
Joost, I left it there for backward support, it works.
Nant, when I finish writing ChangeUI (make all dialogs changeable), you will be able to load a BiDi UI for Hebrew, Arabic and all others.
Oops, I see, it does not use makensis-bz2 anymore Maybe you can make it optional in the installer.
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 18:40   #23
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
I don't think it should be optional, it is very convenient and helpful.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 20:23   #24
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Alpha 3 is out!

Added LoadLanguageFile
Added $LANGUAGE
Added /LANG option to string setters (Name, Caption, etc.)
'LogSet on' now builds a log file if not already created

Links can be found in the first post of this thread.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 21:02   #25
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
1) It shows NSISv2a2 during install !
2) this fails during copy, just after Output Dir ! Seems to be like an infinite loop (my system resources goes down ....) !
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 21:10   #26
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Big oops
Working on it... [edit]Done! Thanks veekee[/edit]

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 22:16   #27
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
greaaat ! thanks a lot ...


But there are no example of language use !

BTW : great
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2002, 23:10   #28
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
OK... lets go :
1) if LoadLanguage is not the first command, it seems that Name is skipped during compilation ...
2) LoadLanguage can only be used ouside a function .... This means that i can't write (in C++ style):
if($LANGUAGE==1036)
LoadLanguage "French.nlf"
else
LoadLanguage "English.nlf"

Currrently, the function is used during generation, not during the install process !

3) would we able, if language is set on-the-fly, to be able to use different LicenseText, depending of the language ?

4) how work $LANGUAGE ? Is the the language of the language file, of the one of the system ?

Thanks a lot
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 07:18   #29
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
LoadLanguageFile was meant to be used outside of functions. It doesn't make any sense to load it by the installer. $LANGUAGE is the lagnuage used on the user system. It is there to let you choose if you want to display a message in French or English.

LicenseText alreayd have a /LANG option so you can set different license texts for each language. You can also set different license data files for each language.

I will look into that name problem. [edit]Works for me... please try again[/edit]

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 09:12   #30
SmartyMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 79
Bug

When using makeNSIS V2.0a3 with this code:
37 SubCaption 0 ": Lizenz-Vereinbarung"
38 SubCaption 1 ": Installations-Optionen"
39 SubCaption 2 ": Installations-Verzeichnis"
40 SubCaption 3 ": Installiere Daten"
41 SubCaption 4 ": Installation abgeschlossen"

I get this error message:
Usage: SubCaption [/LANG=lang_id] page_number(0-4) new_subcaption
Error in script "G:\Programme\Smarty\Smarty.nsi" on line 40 -- aborting creation process
After removing the lines 40 and 41 (SubCaption 3 & 4) my installer compiles w/o error messages.
SmartyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 10:16   #31
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
Again, some compile errors (MS Visual C++ 6.0 SP5)
code:

DialogTemplate.cpp
D:\Program Files\NSIS\Source\DialogTemplate.cpp(197) : error C2065: 'IS_INTRESOURCE' : undeclared identifier

ResourceEditor.cpp
D:\Program Files\NSIS\Source\ResourceEditor.cpp(374) : error C2065: 'IS_INTRESOURCE' : undeclared identifier

makensis.exe - 2 error(s), 0 warning(s)

Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 10:55   #32
SmartyMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 79
When adding "LoadLanguageFile ...\English.nlf" to my script, I get this compiler output:
9 warnings:
unknown variable "\r$\n$\t"$0"$\r$\nHit" detected, ignoring
unknown variable "\n$\t"$0"$\r$\nHit" detected, ignoring
unknown variable "\t"$0"$\r$\nHit" detected, ignoring
unknown variable "\r$\nHit" detected, ignoring
unknown variable "\nHit" detected, ignoring
unknown variable "\r$\nretry" detected, ignoring
unknown variable "\nretry" detected, ignoring
unknown variable "\r$\nignore" detected, ignoring
unknown variable "\nignore" detected, ignoring
These are portions of english.nlf, line 36
Adding a "FileErrorText" command makes the warnings disappear.


Using the new multi-language concept, how will I get my Section names localized (e.g. "Section Examples" should show an entry named "Beispiele" on german systems)?
Attached Files
File Type: zip german-nlf.zip (830 Bytes, 291 views)
SmartyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 10:57   #33
Sunjammer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 559
You could try doubling up the $ characters so that they aren't mistaken for variables.
Sunjammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 11:12   #34
SmartyMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally posted by Sunjammer
You could try doubling up the $ characters so that they aren't mistaken for variables.
The file english.nlf is part of the nsis installation, its not one of my files and so I cant make changes to it (w/o loosing them when installing the next nsis update).
SmartyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 13:36   #35
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Joost, please download the Platform SDK untill I release the next version (MSDN doesn't say anything about it... just assumes you have it =/).

SmartyMan, there is indeed a small bug. What I don't understand is why it didn't happen before I just did copy & paste.
lang.cpp 378: remove ",0".
And that subcaption thingy:
script.cpp 1608 change "> 2" to "> 4".

Another version with these fixed will be out soon.

[quoteUsing the new multi-language concept, how will I get my Section names localized (e.g. "Section Examples" should show an entry named "Beispiele" on german systems)?[/quote]
Please answer the surveys. It is in there.

And thank you for doing the translation. It too will be included in the next version.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 13:58   #36
CodeSquid
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 89
I've just seen the NSIS_CONFIG_PLUGIN_SUPPORT switch in the config.h in the latest repositiory version. That's a really nice feature, thanks for adding it, it will be really useful in my installers.

But I've also found a small bug (don't know if it already exits in the official NSIS versions, have not tried yet):
While writing an extension DLL which adds some lines to the list box during installation, I've found a small problem:
After the DLL has added some lines to the list, all further lines added by NSIS itself (by DetailPrint for example) don't go to the end of the list.
I've found the reason for this problem: Look at the function update_status_text in ui.c and you'll see the following line:
new_item.iItem++;
It increases the item index after adding an item. The problem is that this function does not know that my extension DLL has changed the number of lines so that the index is too low.
Please apply this fix to your great NSIS branch:
Remove the line "new_item.iItem++;" and add "new_item.iItem=ListView_GetItemCount(insthwnd);" before ListView_InsertItem...
This always set's the index to the end of the list.
CodeSquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 14:02   #37
Sunjammer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 559
NSIS_CONFIG_PLUGIN_SUPPORT is an expirimental idea of mine which is why it shows up in the CVS but is not part of any releases yet. If you haven't already seen this thread please take a look http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....threadid=96856
Sunjammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 14:19   #38
thomas.lentzsch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Cannot compile with v2a3

I cannot compile make.nsi included in the attachment make.zip with NSIS 2.0a3. It runs good under v1.99.
Attached Files
File Type: zip make.zip (49.9 KB, 271 views)
thomas.lentzsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 14:22   #39
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
SectionDivider is not available in NSIS 2.

NSIS 2.0a4 will be uploaded in 3 minutes.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2002, 17:10   #40
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
1st : i did not know how to use LoadLanguage... that's OKay now ! Fine, this works really good

About Name.. the following script does not fully compile under v2a4, althought display will be fine...

Well, by the way : here is a multi-language script example

Compiler returns : "1 warning: Name command not specified. Assuming default."

Quote:
Name /LANG=1033 "Example1"
Name /LANG=1036 "Exemple1"
LoadLanguageFile "${NSISDIR}\Contrib\Language files\French.nlf"
LoadLanguageFile "${NSISDIR}\Contrib\Language files\English.nlf"
OutFile "example1.exe"
InstallDir $EXEDIR

LicenseText /LANG=1036 "This installer will install the Nullsoft Tiny Visualization 2000 Plug-in for Winamp. Please read the license below."
LicenseText /LANG=1033 "Ceci installera Nullsoft Tiny Visualization 2000 Plug-in pour Winamp. Veuillez lire la licence ci-dessus."
LicenseData /LANG=1033 license.txt
LicenseData /LANG=1036 licensefr.txt

DirText /LANG=1036 "Ceci installera un exemple1 très simple sur votre ordinateur. Choisissez un répertoire"
DirText /LANG=1033 "This will install the very simple example1 on your computer. Choose a directory"

Section "ThisNameIsIgnoredSoWhyBother?"
SectionEnd ; end the section
; eof
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump