Old 26th May 2014, 02:25   #1
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Looking for Winamp skin suggestions

I've lightly skimmed through some Winamp skin libraries, but they seem to be largely "bubbly" in appearance. They seem rather XP-era is style.

I'm looking for something more square and sharp, like the Bento skins. And definitely nothing that looks like an alien control panel.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 04:31   #2
Sabine Klare
Forum Queen
 
Sabine Klare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,492
Hello A11ectis,

we had another discussion in a similar thread some days ago, although it's really a matter of taste:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=376812

This month I have also made a posting in the other discussion in Last.fm:
http://www.lastfm.de/group/Winamp/fo...1/26#f20328194

If my text in Last.fm is too difficult to read, I can edit it there, but I wanted to mention everything shortly.

You should read also this thread, although You didn't write now, if You like more the Classic Skins oder more the Modern Skins (for me the SUI-Skins as Modern Skins are much better than the non-SUI Modern Skins):
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=286693

I am on the "cPro2 Trip" since some days...

Sabine Klare Aka Sternenmaschinebine
Music, Art, Lyrics, Videos
AMBIENT... AMBIENT music forever...
Sabine Klare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 05:07   #3
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Thanks for the reply.

I installed ClassicPro 2.01 just after posting to check it out. I'm currently using the cPro__Bento skin and liking it a bit, but I'm still tinkering with cPro2__Aluminum and the color themes included.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 05:53   #4
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,648
cPro 2.02 beta1 (link below) was released 9-1-2013. It is very stable and has the following updates.

cPro 2
Fixed: Hovering over the shuf/rep/mute button triggers news text
Fixed: Playlist tab is empty when opening drawer with playlist view (thx iron2000)
Fixed: Winamp doesn't always remember its last position on close (thx roybm)
Improved: Playlist opens in the last view position when it is triggered by the system (i.e shortcut or menu)


cPro 1&2
Fixed: Flac files uses a lot of resources (thx ttuoli)


http://forums.skinconsortium.com/ind...&threadID=2093

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 06:02   #5
Sabine Klare
Forum Queen
 
Sabine Klare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,492
I myself have downloaded both beta-installers from the forums thread in Skin Consortium, and I have installed ClassicPro v2.02 beta2.

The cPro- & cPro2-Skins are a very good invention. They look really very good, while the older non-SUI Modern Skins look mostly very ugly...

Enjoying right now cPro2_Dark_Aluminum_by_Victhor.wal, and yesterday I have made 40 new Winamp Screenshots, also from cPro2_-_Winamp_for_Mac_Sync.wal, they are already online in Facebook, Photobucket, Picasa, Google+...

Sabine Klare Aka Sternenmaschinebine
Music, Art, Lyrics, Videos
AMBIENT... AMBIENT music forever...
Sabine Klare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 06:06   #6
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Thanks for the update, Aminifu. Just installed 2.02 beta 1.

Still just using the cPro__Bento skin. Probably just using it out of familiarity though.

EDIT: Just installed cPro2 - Winamp for Mac Sync, and I'm quite liking it. Thanks for mentioning it, Sabine Klare.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 11:27   #7
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by A11ectis View Post
Thanks for the update, Aminifu. Just installed 2.02 beta 1.
I forgot that cPro v2.02 beta 2 was released a few days later on 9-7-2013. The download link for it is in post #7 of the thread I provided the link to above.

Thanx for reminding me, Sabine

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 16:09   #8
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
I forgot that cPro v2.02 beta 2 was released a few days later on 9-7-2013.
Cool, I didn't even think to actually go further through the thread for updates.

I actually came across a textual issue in cPro2 - Winamp for Mac Sync (attached), and just wanted to check if anyone here knows about it or how to fix it before I try asking the cPro2 forum.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	macSyncText.png
Views:	506
Size:	228.7 KB
ID:	51178  
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 17:23   #9
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,601
Try this version (from the original Classic Pro website), in theory is a newer version..
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 17:44   #10
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victhor View Post
Try this version (from the original Classic Pro website), in theory is a newer version..
Still getting random characters like before. Happens with both MP3 and Flac files (if that even matters). Any other ideas?
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 18:16   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i'd also make sure you're on a current build of Winamp as i remember one of the 5.64/5.65 builds doing something weird like that (so 5.666 build 3516 + plug-in patches from http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....74929#download and http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....373755#updates respectively).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 18:52   #12
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Hi, DrO.

I already have 5.666 patched with JTFE and in_mp3 patches. Thanks for the assistance nonetheless.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 18:57   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
wasn't sure as hadn't seen it mentioned in your prior posting history.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 20:37   #14
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,648
Hi A11ectis,

Try the unicode fix (link below). It may not help, but it wont hurt anything.

http://winampplugins.co.uk/unicodetaskbarfix/

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 20:43   #15
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
wasn't sure as hadn't seen it mentioned in your prior posting history.
Yeah, guess I should post an info report. Sorry if this winds up turning into a Tech Support thread.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Winamp_Info_Report_05-26-2014.txt (25.6 KB, 303 views)
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 20:50   #16
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the unicodefixer is already included with the Winamp version being used and the issue seen would not be something the plug-in would attempt to resolve anyway (it's most likely a conversion issue or something weird somewhere either on the cPro or the gen_ff side).

does it always happen with the file shown or does it happen with other ones?
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 20:51   #17
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Try the unicode fix (link below). It may not help, but it wont hurt anything.
Just installed it. Unfortunately I'm still getting the same random letters, symbols, and whatever Asian language showing up.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 20:54   #18
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
does it always happen with the file shown or does it happen with other ones?
It happens with other files as well. I can even play the same file over and over and get different symbols.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 22:03   #19
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,648
I'm not able to duplicate this issue. Does it only happen with this skin? Have you tried testing your file(s) with "Mp3val" or "Mp3 Diags"? There may be tag or structural errors.

http://mp3val.sourceforge.net/

http://mp3diags.sourceforge.net/


Edit:
Sorry, just noticed you have flac files also. Those tools are for mp3s.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 22:25   #20
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Does it only happen with this skin?
Correct. As far as I know, it only happens with cPro2 - Winamp for Mac Sync. I haven't had this issue with other skins I've used, including: Bento, cPro_Bento, and cPro2_Aluminum.

EDIT: I guess I should ask if there is a "proper" way of reinstalling skins, other then just deleting the .wal file while Winamps closed. Or would that even make a difference?
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 22:33   #21
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by A11ectis View Post
Correct. As far as I know, it only happens with cPro2 - Winamp for Mac Sync. I haven't had this issue with other skins I've used, including: Bento, cPro_Bento, and cPro2_Aluminum.

EDIT: I guess I should ask if there is a "proper" way of reinstalling skins, other then just deleting the .wal file while Winamps closed. Or would that even make a difference?
Bummer! I guess you need to try to contact the skin's developer.

I don't think deleting and replacing the .wal will make a difference, but it's worth a try. It's is curious that the skin, so far, works for me.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 22:56   #22
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Alright, I went ahead and made a post of the skin's discussion forum. There hasn't been another reply since April last year, but hopefully that will get someones attention.

Thanks for the help everyone. Guess it's a waiting game for now.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 23:52   #23
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,601
As you can see, I'm there mainly to keep high the statistics ...
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 03:54   #24
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victhor View Post
As you can see, I'm there mainly to keep high the statistics ...
Yeah, the attention has mostly shifted to mobile devices. For 'real' entertainment, I still prefer my desktop and it's 23" widescreen monitor and 5.1 speaker system or hooking the desktop to my big screen home entertainment system with it's THX certified speaker system.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 04:07   #25
Sabine Klare
Forum Queen
 
Sabine Klare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,492
When I did my last live-broadcast on Mixlr with the broadcast-name "Dedication To Winamp Cloud - Music forever!!!", I had used cPro2_-_Winamp_for_Mac_Sync.wal without getting a textual issue. I played only .wav-files on that evening. This is my photo-album from my live-broadcast:
https://plus.google.com/photos/+Sabi...69751102724337

I wish You good luck and that the issues will be solved soon...

BTW, in the service-shop they had set up my PC with the wrong username. And the WAV-Versions of our own music are on C, not on D.

Sabine Klare Aka Sternenmaschinebine
Music, Art, Lyrics, Videos
AMBIENT... AMBIENT music forever...
Sabine Klare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 07:04   #26
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Well just to keep up on the thread topic, does anyone else have any other skin suggestions?

I pretty much keep myself to square, dark/black, non-bubbly skins, so that shouldn't be too picky.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 08:41   #27
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Pretty Skins? Recommendations?

These are classic skins, but the only modern skin which i ever used regulary is the default Winamp Modern skin.

You can find tons of nice classic skins, some look very good.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 08:50   #28
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,648
I like the cPro skins "cMP11B" by iron2000 and "Das Skin" by zrco. One is dark and the other has a dark color theme you can select. You should be able to find them on garetjax's site "1001 Skins" (link below) or with a google search. Since the sale of Winamp, direct downloads from this site are not available,

http://www.1001skins.com/

I also like the classic skin "DeadScarlett_Winamp" (forgot who made it). It's black with red highlights.

I suggest you take a look at DrO's skin manager plug-in (link below).

http://winampplugins.co.uk/sm.html

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 08:56   #29
Sabine Klare
Forum Queen
 
Sabine Klare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,492
dark/black?
Maybe here (everything, which has to do with cPro, ClassicPro and Winamp):
http://d4fmac.deviantart.com/gallery/

And Wilians made "DeadScarlett". I myself like Classic Skins, which are "Glowing In The Dark".

If You want to use many Winamp Skins, then the Skin Manager is necessary.

Sabine Klare Aka Sternenmaschinebine
Music, Art, Lyrics, Videos
AMBIENT... AMBIENT music forever...
Sabine Klare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 18:12   #30
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Alright, I found cPro2 Dark Aluminum and I'm enjoying, though I still wish I could get the Mac Sync skin to work properly.

Oh well. I'll just stick with Dark Aluminum for a little bit and see if it has any issues.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 18:16   #31
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by A11ectis View Post
Alright, I found cPro2 Dark Aluminum and I'm enjoying, though I still wish I could get the Mac Sync skin to work properly.

Oh well. I'll just stick with Dark Aluminum for a little bit and see if it has any issues.
That's really OK for me.. (not that I have nothing to do with that skin...)
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 18:20   #32
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
is just a pain i cannot replicate the issue as would likely be simpler to work out the cause via a debug build of things.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 19:34   #33
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Welp, looks like the issue also occurs in cPro2_Aluminum and cPro2_Dark_Aluminum. As seen from the attached images, the text issue can range from single letters to a string of Asian characters.

Hopefully this helps at least a little.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	alumText.png
Views:	342
Size:	308.1 KB
ID:	51180   Click image for larger version

Name:	darkAlumText.png
Views:	333
Size:	236.7 KB
ID:	51181  
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 19:48   #34
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
based on my flakey memory, i'd suspect that a string buffer somewhere isn'being t correctly initialised which could be causing the issue (especially if it's happening at the start of the string). maybe that'll be of help for someone to see what the skin might be doing i.e. doing an append on a string instead of an assign and then append.

which might explain why i've not been able to see it so far as i did a bit of work a few months back to sort out some of the buffers not being correctly initialised and have only tested things with an internal build instead of build 3516.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 20:47   #35
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
So I take it that there isn't anything I myself could really do about the issue on my side?
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2014, 20:55   #36
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
depends how much you know about modern skinning and how much of the source files are available for it to try debug it. as i suspect it's likely something is doing an append(..) without making sure the buffer is correctly zeroed (though it's something which some of the internal changes i've made may help to resolve without needing a skin update - is which of the two will happen first...).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2014, 02:00   #37
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
..how much of the source files are available for it to try debug it....
I've alerted Pieter over this. He may be on the issue within the next 2 or 3 weeks (or not.. can't promise anything actually).

DrO, if you want to take a look at the scripts, I'm attaching the ones inside "ClassicPro\engine\two\scripts". Don't know if it would help, there is more outside called from an outside xml but I think it affects only the XUI part. If you want I can attach those too.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ClassicPro-engine-two-scripts.zip (23.7 KB, 243 views)
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2014, 03:26   #38
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Yeah, I don't think I'll be much help at this point. lol

But at least I did fine some skins that I like. Pretty sure I'll just keep using the Mac Sync skin since the alternatives have the same issues anyway.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2014, 06:50   #39
A11ectis
Member
 
A11ectis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Any revelation yet? No replies yet on the cPro forum.
A11ectis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2014, 06:56   #40
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,601
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Tags
skin

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump