Old 20th July 2011, 20:05   #1
Megamet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Winamp Media Library issue

Basically, I updated winamp to 5.62 a couple of days ago, and when I booted the player up today, I found this:



The entire Media library portion of the player is useless, as instead of showing a playlist or a browser, all it does is show a blank grey spot. It still plays music just fine, but it can't access any playlists or the library, which pretty much makes it useless for my needs.

As far as I can tell, I am not using any external plugins beyond what is included in the installer.

OS: Windows 7 home Premium
Direct X ver: 11
Winamp ver: 5.621
Winamp install ver: Full
Megamet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2011, 20:36   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
Hi

Although we still don't know what causes this to happen, the solution is available in the FAQ

Grey/blank Local Media views in Media Library
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=304613
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=306117

You will need to close Winamp, delete main.idx, reopen Winamp and do a rescan
(see above threads for details).

I recommend using the WInamp Backup Tool to make regular backups, just incase it should ever reoccur
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=317153
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2011, 20:50   #3
Megamet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Yeah, it works now, though it seems to do so by deleting my entire playlist. Oh well, no big loss. Thanks for the help.
Megamet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2011, 21:39   #4
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,735
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
egg,

i've never seen this, and i have 50k tracks. do u guys have a theory on this issue? it seems to be the biggest "critical" known one out there.

my guess is that these folks share some kind of plugin or config that stresses the DB in ways it can't cope with, but i don't know how you would figure that out.

there must be some kind of DB debugging you could add to winamp, so the app could detect when this happens, and report back to you pertinent info about the setup so you could fix this, right?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump