Old 9th March 2006, 16:33   #1
Pixelcraft
Wildly Confused
(Major Dude)
 
Pixelcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,204
Winamp stops after each song on a playlist

Hi. So when I'm playing songs on my playlist, winamp doesn't go on the next one when one song is done playing. It just stops. And I have it on shuffle, if that matters....

"It's like saying give a man a Les Paul guitar and he becomes Eric Clapton, and of course that's not true, give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer and he doesn't become...whoever; he doesn't become us." - Roger Waters
Pixelcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2006, 16:53   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Is manual playlist advance on?...
Ctrl+P > General Preferences > Playlist > uncheck 'Manual playlist advance'

-or-

Shift+R while main/player window is in focus to toggle MPA

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2006, 17:05   #3
Pixelcraft
Wildly Confused
(Major Dude)
 
Pixelcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,204
Hey thanks, it was on....which is strange because I didn't turn it on....and nobody else in my house would since they don't ever use winamp...whatev

thanks again


"It's like saying give a man a Les Paul guitar and he becomes Eric Clapton, and of course that's not true, give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer and he doesn't become...whoever; he doesn't become us." - Roger Waters
Pixelcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2008, 23:13   #4
skott311
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Definitive Source of Problem: Ctrl + v

If you accidentally press Ctrl + v while using Winamp, that automatically changes the playlist to stop after each song is played.

Right click on the title bar of Winamp, click Playback, and you'll see what I mean.

skott311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 00:08   #5
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Missouri via Tennessee
Posts: 8,814
Send a message via AIM to ryan
Why are so many people having this problem? That's like the 5th thread I've seen about this. Plus the guy that was in #winamptech asking about it.
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 00:58   #6
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
@ skott311
Are you sure? Ctrl+V is 'Stop after Current Track', it does not affect the other tracks. As already mentioned in this ½ year old thread you revived, it is Ctrl+A SHIFT+R that toggles Manual Playlist Advance

(typo fixed with thanks to J_Darnley )

@ ryan
What problem? Uses accidentally enabling MPA?

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 03:25   #7
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Missouri via Tennessee
Posts: 8,814
Send a message via AIM to ryan
Quote:
@ ryan
What problem? Uses accidentally enabling MPA?
Yeah. There was a thread in GD where someone was asking about this, and before that (a few hours, I think). Someone was in #winamptech asking the same question.

It's like the 8th time I've seen someone ask about this in a week. Just seems odd.
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 03:34   #8
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Whoops, I spelled "users" wrong,

Anyways, I think it is just a coincidence that several users were having this issue within short time of each other. It is not too hard to accidentally press the Shift+R shortcut key.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 05:07   #9
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Missouri via Tennessee
Posts: 8,814
Send a message via AIM to ryan
Another one!

Quote:
[10:27:25pm] <Malygris> Is there any reason why, when I try to play a directory of MP3s in Winamp 5.32, it plays the first song and then stops dead?
[10:28:01pm] <Malygris> If I change tracks while the current track is playing, the track I change to will start playing normally. But if I let the current track stop and then change to another track, Winamp will change to that track but will not play it until I press play.
[10:28:56pm] <Malygris> This behaviour began this afternoon, and is the first time I've seen it happen. I've been using this particular installation of Winamp for quite a long time now, and have made no changes to any settings or added new plugins.
[10:40:51pm] <@ryan> No... way.
[10:40:53pm] <@ryan> Yes
[10:41:07pm] <@ryan> Ctrl P > Playlist > Uncheck manual advance.
[10:44:21pm] <Malygris> No way?
[10:44:42pm] <Malygris> Ah. I see.
[10:45:16pm] <Malygris> Not that I'm looking to shift the blame, but is there any way I could've accidentally turned that option on, through an odd key combo or something?
[10:46:52pm] <Malygris> Well. Gosh, do I feel stupid.
[10:48:05pm] <Malygris> Why would anyone include an option like that in the first place?
[10:48:18pm] <Malygris> Anyway, thanks. Much appreciated.
[10:48:23pm] <@ryan> shift r
[10:48:25pm] <@ryan> I'm not sure.
[10:48:31pm] <@ryan> I don't know
[10:48:34pm] <@ryan> It's kind of useless
[10:48:47pm] <@ryan> You're like the 40th person this week I've seen ask that question.
[10:49:00pm] <Malygris> That actually makes me feel better.
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 13:32   #10
Alfador
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coming to theaters near you!
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Alfador Send a message via Yahoo to Alfador
I've had friends ask me the very same question. It seems to me like the hotkey combo for it is a little too commonplace for other apps and a little to easy to accidentally hit. Maybe some kind of confirmation dialogue would be a good idea, with a "don't ask me again" box for people who would make use of it (not sure why anyone would but hey, to each his own).
Alfador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 21:30   #11
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
Well I can't get the Ctrl + V hotkey for "Stop after current" to work but that could be a conflict with my other plugins. Anyway, If I manually enable that setting it unchecks its self once the track has ended and playback was stoppped.

Ah, it seems to only work from in the playlist editor, which I found odd as "Stop after current" is a playback feature but it can already be done with the stop button.

Or are you talking about the Shift + R hotkey? I'll grant you that is an obscure one and it took me till a track change to notice what it was doing (adding tracks to the JTF queue). That could definitely confuse lots but then I have never managed to press Shift + R in the playlist till now.

I couldn't get this one to work in the main window either but then my same comment about using Shift + R still applies. Since the thread is a year old, was this removed?

As for Ctrl + A, when has that ever turned on Manual Playlist Advance? All it does in the main window is toggle always on top an then the PE it select all like it is supposed to do.

Sorry, what was this thread about again?

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 21:54   #12
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Whoops, my bad. That should have been Shift+R (not Ctrl+A). Anyways, with thanks to you I have edited my post.

As for the shortcuts not working in the main window, do you notice that with other shortcuts? What is your video card? That is a known issue with nVidia's nView. So, if that is the case with you. Go to JTF preferences, click on the Misc... tab and checkmark 'Attempt to fix compatibility issues with nView'
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 22:44   #13
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
I know of the nView issue and I am probably experiencing it, but I don't think it is a problem for me. However, for the sake of testing, I will try the fix and disabling nView to see if that changes the behaviour.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 03:04   #14
norman1nz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
I had the exact same problem...
I have no idea how this got ticked as nobody ticked it in preferences, and I can't see how i used the SHIRT+R shortcut.
The only thing i could see causing it was when i right clicked the stop button and selected 'on end of queue'...
I then spent AGES messing around with the right-click>stop menu to try get it off.
Hells bells i even resorted to using windows media player for an annoying 15 minutes after manually advancing my playlist all day for about 3days...

I also tried resetting my profile but think this is a global setting (im set to winamp settings for all users).

I agree with Alfador:
Some kind of confirmation dialogue would be a good idea, with a "don't ask me again" box for people who would make use of it (not sure why anyone would but hey, to each his own).
Amen
norman1nz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2022, 21:44   #15
Basspig
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 3
I'm having the same problem today myself, first time in decades. I've a long playlist that's providing BGM for a live stream. It's been playing all day long, but then the music stopped this afternoon with no input from me. I find now that WinAMP stops playing after every song. Manual playlist advance is NOT enabled. It just started this behavior on its own about a half an hour ago.
Basspig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2022, 14:11   #16
singhemma093
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 1
I also tried resetting my profile but think this is a global setting (im set to winamp settings for all users).
singhemma093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2022, 03:31   #17
Basspig
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 3
Global hotkeys are off. But I suspect WinAMP is responding to keystrokes meant for another app that I am currently working in.

The odd thing is that "stop after current song" is not checked. I tried hitting a bunch of keys and CTRL-V and CRTL-R and CTRL-SHT-R on the night of 9/8 and somewhere along the line, WinAMP started working normally. However, now it is not working for me.

The only thing different is I turned on Shuffle option Sept 8. It seems that option randomly causes WinAMP to stop after current selection, but not always.
Basspig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2022, 23:40   #18
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,866
Is it possible that the last item in the playlist played before playback stopped? I don't know for sure, but maybe playback stops after the last item in a playlist is played, even when running in shuffle mode. I never use shuffle mode. I select the randomise command (Ctrl+Shift+R) 3 or 4 times in a row when I want to mix up the default playback order of a playlist.

Winamp v5.9.0.9999 - Quinto Black CT v3.6 skin
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v22H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2022, 09:56   #19
NJK
FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
I don't know for sure, but maybe playback stops after the last item in a playlist is played, even when running in shuffle mode. .
you are right about this. I run random play all the time , as soon as all tracks are played the player stops.
It does the same as running in normal playout mode and you come to the last track.

As soon as Winamp has played all tracks the player stops.

only when you activate repeat all it will continue to play the playlist.
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2022, 07:22   #20
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
you are right about this. I run random play all the time , as soon as all tracks are played the player stops.
It does the same as running in normal playout mode and you come to the last track.

As soon as Winamp has played all tracks the player stops.

only when you activate repeat all it will continue to play the playlist.
Thank you for your reply, but I'm not talking about playback stopping when all the tracks in a playlist are played. I'm asking if playback stops when the last track listed in a playlist is played (when using random (shuffle) mode), even if all the other tracks in the playlist have not been played.

I know that random play selects tracks in a random order instead of a sequential top down order. This allows the same tracks to be played more than once before all the other tracks in a playlist are played. This is why I randomize my playlists (when I don't want to use a playlist's default sequential top down order) instead of using random (shuffle) play.

Randomizing a playlist multiple times in a row (before starting playback) is like shuffling a deck of cards. In the end, the tracks are in a different top down order and each track is only played once using normal sequential play mode.

Winamp v5.9.0.9999 - Quinto Black CT v3.6 skin
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v22H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2022, 07:48   #21
NJK
FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,395
with CTRL -B you can go straight to the last track in any mode , so if you are doing something else on your computer but you use CTRL -B i think that Winamp is going to the last track in your playlist while others are still not played.
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2022, 17:05   #22
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,866
Ok, are you saying there may be a bug in Winamp letting it respond to the Ctrl+B hotkey when that hotkey is used in another app?

Anyway, we're just guessing about what may be causing Basspig's issue. Hopefully he will let us know if the last track he heard playing before playback stopped was the last one listed in his playlist.

Winamp v5.9.0.9999 - Quinto Black CT v3.6 skin
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v22H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump