Old 1st November 2001, 13:40   #1
spookytay
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 19
1.0... Whoa this is fast!!

I don't know about anyone else, but I definatly noticed a big FPS increase. Usually getting on average about 30 FPS, now it's up to about 70 FPS.
spookytay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2001, 10:22   #2
QuantumMonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
Yeah I noticed a huge increase in FPS too, similar to what you describe - woohoo!

QuantumMonkey
QuantumMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2001, 16:15   #3
ripesensor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 16
heh. i think it's only because the FPS cap is now defaulted to "unlimited". -ripe
ripesensor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2001, 00:13   #4
Krash
Major Dude
 
Krash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 977
Actually, the fps cap has nothing to do with the speed increase - in previous versions, even with the cap set to unlimited, nobody could get more than about 35fps. On simple presets, the frame rate has now doubled.
If you look in the version history:
"-lowered minimum frame time (enforced by winamp) from 25 ms to 10ms, so now, the max. possible fps is 100 instead of 40."

THAT'S the reason. =]

- Krash
Krash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2001, 00:56   #5
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
That is the reason Krash but in the plugin max frames selectable is only at 60 not 100 (as stated in the documentation) is that the case for everyone else as well.

Rovastar
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2001, 22:51   #6
dylman
Forum King
 
dylman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawarden
Posts: 2,115
I've seen no difference!

Time for a Geforce perhaps?

There's no need to tell me when I'm right;
I operate on that principle exclusively and with absolute certainty
dylman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2001, 21:06   #7
geiss
Nullsoft Visualization Developer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 147
ah, but if you set the FPS limiting to 'unlimited' you can get 100 fps. It doesn't go beyond 60 because that's just silly. =)

-rg
geiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2001, 03:00   #8
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
We like silly here

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2001, 12:48   #9
msmollin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to msmollin
amazing

Well, I'm running this on a GeForce w/Pentium III and its amazing. The only time it hickups is when I try to run the thing will Full Screen in Desktop mode (probably it doesn't like 1024 X 768). This 100 FPS stuff is interesting to know, but as long as I can't see the transitions (anything above 40 FPS) then I'm fine. Great work Geiss. This has replaced almost all of my previous visuals (including Geiss for that matter).
msmollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2001, 12:49   #10
msmollin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to msmollin
Wooops, meant full resolution in desktop mode (hah, i don't think full screen in desktop mode works)
msmollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump