Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2001, 14:11   #1
Ysaric
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to Ysaric Send a message via AIM to Ysaric
Pls help w/ settings for soft music!!! Almost nothing on screen

I love the Milkdrop plug-in, and when I am playing most music, the screen is alive with color and motion and it is very beautiful.

But it seems that with softer music the level of color and activity on the screen goes down dramatically. For example, I recently got the Lord of the Rings soundtrack, which is fantastic. But when I use it with the Milkdrop plugin, the screen stays almost totally black most of the time. I switch back to 'regular' music and suddenly the screen comes alive again.

I assume there is some setting, to perhaps make MilkDrop more sensitive to softer music? Help pls!! I would very much like to enjoy MilkDrop with some of my favorite music.
Ysaric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2001, 16:17   #2
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
Unfortunately this is little you can do, to my knowledge, with the general volume levels going into MD at the moment. If you view the music within normal winamp you will probably see that the graphical representation will be low also.

Each individual preset has is own interpretation of the music and it is very difficult to get the balance between messy and loud music and soft and ambient music, all in one preset.

The only thing that I suggest is that you look at altering individual presets to cater for you individual needs.

But maybe I am wrong......

Rovastar

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2001, 19:39   #3
LoyC
Junior Member
 
LoyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 19
u need mp3gain: http://www.geocities.com/mp3gain/
read all u need there.. it basically allows u to 'make yr mp3 louder'.. good luck trying
LoyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2002, 15:22   #4
Flynnz
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: mostly not here anymore
Posts: 855
Send a message via ICQ to Flynnz Send a message via AIM to Flynnz Send a message via Yahoo to Flynnz
Also try G-Force (which allows exactly what you're talking about).
Flynnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2002, 17:33   #5
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
? Does it?

I use G-Force as well but I must I missed the config setting that lets you increase the volume. DOes this over-ride the winamp volume - I thought all the vis plug-in worked on the winamp volume. i.e. If the built spectrum any is showing low I thought all plug-in use that same level?!!

Can you explain more.

BTW Geez this is an old thread.

Rova

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2002, 02:54   #6
Flynnz
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: mostly not here anymore
Posts: 855
Send a message via ICQ to Flynnz Send a message via AIM to Flynnz Send a message via Yahoo to Flynnz
It doesn't need to increase the volume; just needs to change how the volume is interpreted. Simple really.
Quote:
from the Customizing G-Force section of the documentation
Quote:
SScl - (Sample Scale)
Scales the amplitude of the input (ie, every sub-sample is multiplied by this number). If the music you play is soft, try increasing this to 1.5 or higher (1000 means 1.0 and 1500 means 1.5, etc). Press the 'H' key to see what keys will change SScl in real time (ie, commands 19 and 20).
Look at some of the other values in there--it might be a bit technical and not immediately.. understandable, but a lot of control is available if you really want it...
Flynnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2002, 05:26   #7
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
<Takes the Stage>

If you are playing from a CD u may want to get the cd reader plugin here....

Before I got it my CDs didnt work with any vis plugins... Because it didnt read the CD right or somthing.. So you may want to try it...


Later
___________________
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2002, 05:40   #8
Flynnz
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: mostly not here anymore
Posts: 855
Send a message via ICQ to Flynnz Send a message via AIM to Flynnz Send a message via Yahoo to Flynnz
Quote:
Dont Underestimate the power of idiots in large groups
Indeed.
Very good advice.
Flynnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2002, 20:14   #9
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
Quote:
Flynnz
Indeed.
Very good advice.
Thanks =) see idiots are good for somthing =)....
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump