Old 21st September 2006, 15:23   #1
Herr Garman
Member
 
Herr Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vitebsk-Stockholm-London-Nagoya
Posts: 73
Register SHOUTCast as a Windows service

I have tried to register the SHOUTCast as service on Windows 2003 machine. Unsuccessfully I must say.
On startup the service fails with error ID 7000 (Failed to start in the timely fashion).

The process is fairly simple:
1. Install Windows 2003 resource kit
2. Create a service using following syntax: INSTSRV SHOUTCast C:\Program Files\Shoutcast\sc_serv.exe
3. Run SRVANY.exe
4. Restart the system

Note, that I haven't added any registry keys after registering the service or created a .bat file, but run sc_serv.exe plain and simple.

Just wondering at the moment if anyone was able to successfully register SHOUTCast as a service?

Regards
Herr Garman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 15:38   #2
hackerdork
Forum King
 
hackerdork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Circa sometime.
Posts: 3,297
Have you looked at this link on microsofts site ?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q137890/

~ D

~ According to the ship's log we're down to our last 3000 vomit bags.It'll never be enough.
search the forums! don't PM me on how-to, or ask me to setup you system. you do it so you learn.
hackerdork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 16:39   #3
Herr Garman
Member
 
Herr Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vitebsk-Stockholm-London-Nagoya
Posts: 73
Was looking for that for some time believe it or not! Thanks a bunch!!
Herr Garman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 21:27   #4
globe.fm
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 64
Send a message via ICQ to globe.fm
i use FireDaemon Pro, works nice
Greets Stefan
globe.fm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2007, 07:40   #5
Outbreaker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
@globe.fm
Use Windows (Scheduled Tasks).

@ALL
But i have also a question if my SHOUTcast Server starts with (Scheduled Tasks) and also (FireDaemon Pro) then i cant connect to my SHOUTcast Server is ther a extra setting i must set ?
Outbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2007, 07:09   #6
Outbreaker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
If someone has no problem with the Scheduled Tasks. Can he please post his config settings ?
thx
Outbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2007, 09:55   #7
labratofel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Outbreaker
If someone has no problem with the Scheduled Tasks. Can he please post his config settings ?
thx
Sure
Start->Control Panel->Scheduled Tasks
Add Scheduled Task
[Next >] [Browse...]browse to your SHOUTcast directory (mine is D:\Program Files\SHOUTcast, yours may differ) and select sc_serv.exe
Change the displayed name if you wish (I changed it from "sc_serv" to "SHOUTcast server")
Perform this task: {O} When my computer sstarts
[Next >]

Now for the fun bit
Do you wish to see the server running? If so set it to the account it defaults to (yours) (computername\your login name), if not you could create a new basic user account ("SHOUTcast" would be a good descriptive name) and run it as that.
[Next >] until [Finish]

You now have a new scheduled task. Before we run it we need to change the run command (add the ini file to the end of the line):

Double click on the new scheduled task, a new window will open with the Run line highlighted (mine shows "D:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.exe")
Modify this line:
"D:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.exe" "D:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.ini"
* ensure there is a space between the two middle " *
Click Apply, it will ask you for the password again, re-enter it.

All done, you just need to run it now (no need to reboot if you run it manually)
Right(or second mouse button) click on the new task, click Run

If you set it to your login credentials you will see the shoutcast window. Either way, the "Status" column of Scheduled Tasks will show "Running" and you'll be serving the nation (or in my case serving my Nokia N95 over WIFI)
labratofel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2007, 23:27   #8
labratofel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Edit to above post (sorry I couldn't do it earlier, real life)


Run: "Complete path to sc_serv.exe" then a space then "Complete path to sc_serv.ini"
Start in: Complete path to sc_serv.exe
Run As: The credentials you wish the server to run under



labratofel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump