Old 5th February 2005, 09:49   #1
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Why winamp is not done "just right" ??

the last time i updated winamp was 5.03c, it was fine, had few bugs that irritated me (particularly that info were only saved on exit, so if winamp or windows crashes, u dont resume from last song u heard)
yesterday i upgraded to 5.08d, as i was downloading it i thought that this will be nearest to perfect thinking that they are now 5 versions with lots of time to bug fix!!
the thing that first hits me that they save info after each song is played, which was positive, but the negative thing was that the window snapping feature was not working.....
looking at a sticky in the bug reports forum, they say that this feature is "not implemented" .... how come it is not implemented,, it was working fine in 5.03c!!!!
i see this trend going for long in winamp, with each release some stuff are fixed and others are broken, cant nullsoft make bug fixes without breaking other correctly working stuff???
another bug i found was that "check for new versions for winamp at start-up" was duplicated in preferences, and each working on its own, assuming this must be a known bug i'll not report it!!

edit: i dont want to seem like an anti-nullsoft or anti-winamp, i primarily want to understand whats going on, amd make what they call "contructive criticizm", as winamp is my most prefered player, and because i spend lots of time using it, i want it to become flowless!!

Last edited by zaidgs; 5th February 2005 at 10:18.
zaidgs is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 10:16   #2
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Winamp is a great product and it's free. I assume you agree with that? If not, just use another media player.

Now if you want help (something's not working the way you expect it, etc.), just post in Winamp Technical Support and we'll see what we can do. Provide info about what you tried to make it work, and how you expect it to work. The window snapping feature works fine for me. Unless you mean this:
"-Modern Skins > "Dock windows at" setting not remembered if unchecked and closing/reopening winamp (needs checking/unchecking again to take effect)."
(Known bugs)

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 10:23   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Re: Why winamp is not done "just right" ??

Quote:
Originally posted by zaidgs
another bug i found was that "check for new versions for winamp at start-up" was duplicated in preferences, and each working on its own, assuming this must be a known bug i'll not report it!!
er, what duplication in the preferences?

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 10:24   #4
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
i agree that winamp is great, but what i am complaining about is that previously working stuff get broken just as some others get fixed....

my problem is that when i move one of winamp windowes next to another one they dont get aligned together, this used to work fine 5.03c, why is it not working correctly now??
zaidgs is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 10:29   #5
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Re: Re: Why winamp is not done "just right" ??

Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
er, what duplication in the preferences?

-daz
open preferences and check in "general preferences" for: "check for new versions of winamp at startup" (i have this checked here)
now check in "jump to file" for: "check for new version when winamp starts" at the bottom (i have this unchecked here)

so this option is dumplicated, and strangely each one is maintained seperately!!!

if this is unknown bug maybe i should report!

edit: mm, after some thought this might be a different feature...... is that supposed to update only "jump to file" ???
zaidgs is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 10:31   #6
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Are you using the Classic or the Modern skin?

If classic, be sure this option is checked:
Prefs > Skins > Classic Skins > tab Classic Skin Options > 'Dock skinned windows at xx pixels'

For modern skins, this is the relevant setting:
Prefs > Skins > Modern Skins > tab General > 'Dock windows at xx pixels'

If you are using a third-party modern skin, which one?

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 10:35   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Re: Re: Re: Why winamp is not done "just right" ??

Quote:
Originally posted by zaidgs
open preferences and check in "general preferences" for: "check for new versions of winamp at startup" (i have this checked here)
now check in "jump to file" for: "check for new version when winamp starts" at the bottom (i have this unchecked here)

so this option is dumplicated, and strangely each one is maintained seperately!!!
ah that one yes it is maintained separately since the jump to file plugin is something i maintain separately of the main Winamp project and it is due to keeping people who were used to the enqueue features in Winamp3 that it was bundled with 5.02 and upwards as it filled a large gap in what had never been in the 2.x core.

So i really wouldn't say it's a bug since by default the option isn't even enabled and as you point out in your edit, it's only for updating that plugin

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 10:41   #8
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
im using default modern skin, that option is already on at 10 pixcels.

here are the thing that i am trying to do (which used to work):

i am trying to put the playlist window in the upper right corner of my screen, it aint work!! it snaps to the top of screen but doesnt snap to the right.

now i am trying to put the main window to the top left corner of the playlist, it aint working!!! the window gets aligned with the top, but not left!

finally putting the media library to bottom left corner of winamp aint working!!! it doesnt get aligned with either bottom nor left of playlist!!!

edit: mixed lefts with rights !!!
edit2: isnt it possible to post a screenshot of how i want winamp to look like?!
zaidgs is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 10:58   #9
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
That's odd. It all works fine for me

While Winamp is closed, try deleting the file studio.xnf (it's in your Winamp folder, default: C:\Program Files\Winamp). This will reset all modern skin settings.
(If you want, you can also rename/move it, so you can put it back if it doesn't help.)
Maybe something broke while upgrading...

Are you using any desktop enhancing utilities? (like WindowsBlinds, Samurize, StyleXP, etc.)

[edit]
Attaching images is possible by clicking the button under this thread > Attach file.

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 11:04   #10
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
also, everything i have is clean, all default settings, and no third-party desktop utilities

here is screenshot:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled-1 copy.jpg (78.8 KB, 363 views)
zaidgs is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 11:12   #11
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
also, everything i have is clean, all default settings, and no third-party desktop utilities

here is screenshot:

(sorry for zipping, i had to stick to file size limit)

edit: i cannot delete the duplicate post for some reason !!
Attached Files
File Type: zip untitled-1 copy2.zip (88.2 KB, 323 views)
zaidgs is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 11:20   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
"but the negative thing was that the window snapping feature was not working.....
looking at a sticky in the bug reports forum, they say that this feature is "not implemented"


Where does it say that?

Snapping/docking works fine for me, and everyone else here apparently.
Quote:
Originally posted by siebe83
The window snapping feature works fine for me. Unless you mean this:
"-Modern Skins > "Dock windows at" setting not remembered if unchecked and closing/reopening winamp (needs checking/unchecking again to take effect)."
(Known bugs)
But that's the exact opposite of what you're talking about, and that bug has been in Winamp 5 since the beginning.

Since there's been hundreds of bugs fixed since 5.03, did you definitely do a proper clean install of 5.08d Full?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 11:26   #13
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
here: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=156839 -> things not to report -> point (3)

edit: as i said, all clean here, i even formatted windows two days ago !!!
zaidgs is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 11:44   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
Ah. Right.
I haven't edited that section since v5.0 was first released.
I think it's probably meant to say "known or unimplemented"
However, it says "issues" - it doesn't say that snapping/docking itself isn't implemented.

There was lots of issues/bugs with modern skin snapping+docking in the early stages of Winamp 5 - most of which have been fixed between 5.01 and 5.08. The only known issues left are the one referenced above and problems with keeponscreen (ie. windows disappearing off screen, eg. when using video autosize with other windows snapped to video window).


/me goes to update the bowels of said thread.

[edit] done [/edit]
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 13:21   #15
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
this doesnt mean that the problem i found is resolved :S
please at least sm1 tells me he knows what problem i am talking about....
try to make ur winamp look like my screenshot with the steps i described earlier, and u'll see what problem i am talking about...
and if you cant see whats wrong, compare with 5.03c!
zaidgs is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 13:31   #16
d3x7r0
Senior Member
 
d3x7r0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Send a message via Skype™ to d3x7r0
Quote:
Originally posted by zaidgs
this doesnt mean that the problem i found is resolved :S
please at least sm1 tells me he knows what problem i am talking about....
try to make ur winamp look like my screenshot with the steps i described earlier, and u'll see what problem i am talking about...
wait do you have multiscreen? (two computer screens connected to 1 pc, or 1 screen and a tv?)

I have one screen and one tv and I use the tv as an extent to the desktop. Therefore the right bit of the screen is streched to the TV what makes aplications not snap to the right. ANY APLICATION, not just winamp.

NOTE: I am Dextro!
d3x7r0 is offline  
Old 5th February 2005, 13:32   #17
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Sorry man, I can't reproduce it...
I tried exactly the same as you did, and all windows snap to each other and to the side of the screen just fine.

[edit]
maybe it's something like what dextro said?

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 07:44   #18
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
uhm... i can't reproduce either. :-/
lunarboy1 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 12:27   #19
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
i dont have multiscreen, but there is good news, i identified the missing condition for reproducing the error:
i like to put window scaling to 90%, i tried it on 100% it worked fine, but on 90% it does not!!!

testing the situation thoroghly, i found exactly whats wrong, here is what happens: say u made scaling as 50%, and u set the width as 10 arbitary units, the window snaps as if its width is 20 units, it calculates snapping relative to 100% not actual scaling!! sure this mistake was not in 5.03c....

hope this gets fixed!!
zaidgs is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 12:47   #20
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Now I can reproduce it.

This is where the playlist snaps (right and bottom) when scaled down:
Attached Images
File Type: png plscalesnapbug.png (43.9 KB, 337 views)
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 12:55   #21
d3x7r0
Senior Member
 
d3x7r0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Send a message via Skype™ to d3x7r0
So it is a bug!

Looks like the modern skin doesn't resize the snap boxes with the rest of the skin :S

I can reproduce it aswell

NOTE: I am Dextro!
d3x7r0 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 13:17   #22
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
Hmm, I still can't reproduce it.
I set scaling on main and playlist windows to 90%
and both snapped together and docked to the top right of the screen ok.

Provide the exact step-by-step instructions to reproduce,
including all relevant winamp settings.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wa5_scale90.jpg (88.7 KB, 348 views)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 13:20   #23
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
I only scaled the playlist down.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 13:20   #24
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
Makes no difference here.
Still can't reproduce it.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 13:25   #25
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
When playlist and main window are snapped together the bug doesn't appear.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 13:38   #26
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Makes no difference here.
Still can't reproduce it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wa5_scale90_2.jpg (84.5 KB, 331 views)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 13:38   #27
d3x7r0
Senior Member
 
d3x7r0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Send a message via Skype™ to d3x7r0
Got it fixed! The problem was probably due to some old files

What I did to fix it was:
1 - close winamp
2 - delete studio.xnf and skins/Winamp Modern folder
3 - Reinstall Winamp (on top as not to lose anything)
4 - booted up winamp and presto: bug is gone

Clean install allways does the trick, looks like he didn't do it

NOTE: I am Dextro!
d3x7r0 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 13:39   #28
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
Cheers
Case closed?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 13:42   #29
d3x7r0
Senior Member
 
d3x7r0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Send a message via Skype™ to d3x7r0
hope so

I didn't even noticed this until zaidgs brought it up. Glad I could help

NOTE: I am Dextro!
d3x7r0 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:24   #30
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
nope its not fixed, if it worked for u, u probably snapped main to playlist, then moved the main, but try moving the playlist without the main window with it, it wont work.

also snapping the media library the way i set it will not work in all cases!!!

how many times should i say that i made a clean instal!!

it didnt work before formatting my windows, then after formatting it didnt work, then i decided to test it on my other computer (win98) also didnt work !!!

check screen shot to see how windows snap together the way it currently is.
zaidgs is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:28   #31
d3x7r0
Senior Member
 
d3x7r0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Send a message via Skype™ to d3x7r0
zaidgs I'm telling you what I did fixed it!

I was able to do what you told following your steps with the windows at 75% but after doing my steps I stoped beeing able to reproduce your bug.

Have you tried what I said?

NOTE: I am Dextro!
d3x7r0 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:35   #32
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by zaidgs
how many times should i say that i made a clean instal!!
i hate using offensive language, but: CANT THE FUCK U READ ?? we`r trying to bug fix here!!!

here is the screenshot:
Attached Files
File Type: zip untitled-1 copy.zip (84.9 KB, 285 views)
zaidgs is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:37   #33
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
When playlist and main window are snapped together the bug doesn't appear.
true, but this doesnt mean bug should be left alone!!!
zaidgs is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:39   #34
d3x7r0
Senior Member
 
d3x7r0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Send a message via Skype™ to d3x7r0
any 3rd party plugins? Anything that could alter the Modern Skins behaviour? I was able to fix mine just by doing the steps described above. Are you sure you are using the 5.08d version from the sticky in this forum?

Wait: I CAN REPRODUCE IT NOW! OMFG THERE IS A BUG! And the wierdest thing is that it only happens on the left side :|

NOTE: I am Dextro!
d3x7r0 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:44   #35
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Sheesh people calm down.

I can reproduce it as well.
I'll test a bit more later to see if other settings are relevant as well to reproduce the issue, just because you (zaidgs) are such a friendly person
I dunno why DJ Egg can't reproduce it, maybe another setting is playing a roll here.

But don't waste your time on this. This bug (which it is afais) is NOT likely to be fixed in the near future. Simply because there are no developers and second, because there's a lot of other much more important issues to fix.

Please realize that all forum members are volunteers. We like Winamp and we want to help others using Winamp. We have NO CONTROL over bugs and over development what so ever. We also don't make such a fuss about such a FUCKING MINOR ISSUE. Just my 2 pence...

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:46   #36
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
good u finally can read !

i just wish to know how come a bug "creation" was made !!!
ppl usually bug "fix" !!
zaidgs is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:46   #37
d3x7r0
Senior Member
 
d3x7r0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Send a message via Skype™ to d3x7r0
Quote:
Originally posted by siebe83
But don't waste your time on this. This bug (which it is afais) is NOT likely to be fixed in the near future. Simply because there are no developers and second, because there's a lot of other much more important issues to fix.

Please realize that all forum members are volunteers. We like Winamp and we want to help others using Winamp. We have NO CONTROL over bugs and over development what so ever. We also don't make such a fuss about such a FUCKING MINOR ISSUE. Just my 2 pence...
Couldn't have said it better

PS: Looks like you are the one who couldn't read. After clearing it once I couldn't reproduce the bug. I closed winamp and oppened it a second time and I could. Maybe it was just me not doing it right but you sir are an idiot if you don't mind me saying. I'm starting to grow sick of trying to help a bunch of idiots who come arround here thinking the now everything and are always right. This are my 2 cents, sorry to the others for beeing so rude but this guy really pissed me off

NOTE: I am Dextro!
d3x7r0 is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:50   #38
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
Sorry, but I still can't reproduce it.

I can resize the playlist to any custom scaling, without it being docked to any other window, and it still docks perfectly in the top right corner, or anywhere on any side/corner, as do all other windows.

All docking/snapping with custom scaling seems to be working perfectly ok for me, heh. Weird, eh?

Like I said, provide the exact step-by-step method of reproduction
and include all relevant winamp settings (prefs > modern skins > general tab)

Mine are attached below...

Oh, and zaidgs, we're not "trying to bug fix here", we're trying to reproduce it first, because until you or someone else provides an exact method of reproduction, there is no bug!

eg.

1. Set Winamp Modern skin settings as follows...
2. Do this
3. Do that
4. Report reproduced bug to dev

or

5. Can't be reproduced. Whack thread.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wa5_modskin_prefs.jpg (60.1 KB, 512 views)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:50   #39
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by zaidgs
i just wish to know how come a bug "creation" was made !!!
ppl usually bug "fix" !!
trust me it can be very easy and as an extra note... chill down people

siebe: nicely put as usual

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 6th February 2005, 20:55   #40
zaidgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
maybe if some moderator should move this one to bugs forum, then why not fix it quickly because i hate the 100% size, and if u should ask me the 90% size should be the default one (at least for those using 1024*768).
and also it should be an easy one to fix, after all there was a time it was made right, maybe they should just put back some parts of old code.
zaidgs is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump