Old 21st June 2004, 04:34   #1
mediatel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Help me!!! invalid resource!!!

Ok I tried to find the answer to this problem and have not been able to so I hope someone here can help.

Right now I have the win 32 version set up on my home network on an xp machine in the c:\program files\shoutcast directory inside is the content directory and so on.

My goal at this point is simple, just to play the scpromo.mp3 in the content directory in winamp on my other machine.


when I start the server I get this in the GUI
*******************************************************************************
** SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server
** Copyright (C) 1998-2004 Nullsoft, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
** Use "sc_serv filename.ini" to specify an ini file.
*******************************************************************************

Event log:
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [SHOUTcast] DNAS/win32 v1.9.4 (Mar 17 2004) starting up...
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] loaded config from C:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.ini
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] initializing (usermax:32 portbase:6000)...
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] No ban file found (sc_serv.ban)
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] No rip file found (sc_serv.rip)
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] opening source socket
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] source thread starting
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] opening client socket
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [source] listening for connection on port 6001
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] Client Stream thread [0] starting
<06/20/04@21:38:32> [main] client main thread starting

so I beleive all is ok at this point.
I have set the current diectory to the ./content as per the instructions and have left dst ip and srcip ANY as i think its ok for this kind of playing.

now when I go to my browser (ie) and enter the URL :

http://192.168.1.30:6000/content/scpromo.pls

I get invalid resource and no response on the gui.

if I use port 6001 i get a bad password in the gui and page connot be displayed in the browser

WHAT AM I DOING WRONG??????

any help apprciated. Thanks
mediatel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2004, 07:15   #2
djmastermind
Forum King
 
djmastermind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,811
Try changing the content directory in the DNAS (server) log to the full path. (Ex: c:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\content).

Try posting the world accessable link here, using your WAN IP instead of your LAN.

-- Michael
djmastermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2004, 16:08   #3
mediatel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
here is the link

the ip is 24.234.149.42:6000

so the full address shoud be :

<a href="Http://24.234.149.42:6000/scpromo.pls">music <a/>

give it a try
thanks
mediatel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2004, 04:13   #4
surdet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
"Invalid resource"
I'm using Fedora core2. When I used ContentDir=./content ,It isn't work but when I changed to ContentDir=./content/ ,It's work for me.
Hope this help.
surdet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump