Old 8th February 2008, 21:48   #1
j1dopeman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Error creating DirectSound buffer when opening video

System:
Vista Ultimate x64
Onboard Realtek Audio (Azalia)
Audio driver verson 6.0.1.5497 (10/15/07 latest on gigabyte site)
GA-P35-DS4 rev2 motherboard
winamp 5.52
directx 10
Media Player

I have a problem when I'm listening to winamp and then try to open a video with sound. The winamp audio will stop, and the time on the track will rapidly decrease. If I try to play another song, I get this error

Error creating DirectSound buffer.
Error code: 88780096

Then I close winamp, and I often have to do it through task manager because it freezes at this point. If I restart it and hit play, the audio comes on fine, on top of the video's audio. It only errors when the winamp audio is playing while the video starts. This doesn't happen with every video. It happens with dvds in powerdvd (spdif off) and in windows media player with .mp4 files, using the ac3 audio codec. It doesn't happen with other video files like .mpg, .wmv, etc. presumably because they default to using the wma codec instead of ac3.

Does anyone have any idea what would cause this?
j1dopeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2008, 22:05   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,987
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#video

Please provide the following:

1. Your "List of Plugins"

2. Your dxdiag log

3. MediaInfo log for one or more of the problem videos

4. What DirectShow splitters/filters Winamp says its using whilst one of the problem files is playing

The 3 logs can go inside one zip file, which you can attach to your post.

(see above link for full details/instructions)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2008, 17:03   #3
j1dopeman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Logs attached.

The file info for the video says:

Track 1 video MPEG-4 Simple @ L3, 61.320 secs, 450 kbps, 368x208 @ 25.000000 fps
Track 2 audio MPEG-4 AAC LC, 60.186 secs, 64kbps, 44100 Hz

Is that the info about directshow splitters/filters?

I play the video using windows media player though, I just use winamp for mp3's.
Attached Files
File Type: zip j1dopeman.zip (9.8 KB, 925 views)
j1dopeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2008, 17:23   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,987
Nope, that's the info from the MPEG-4 Audio Decoder (in_mp4.dll)

You need to remove MP4 from the in_mp4 config and add it to the Extension List in in_dshow config instead (see link below for full info).


Install the Gabest MP4 Splitter and the latest SSE version of ffdshow:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....id=155680#mp4v


and then make sure of the following:


Start -> Programs -> ffdshow -> Video Decoder config:

Other MPEG4 = set to "libavcodec" and not "disabled"
(If it says "disabled", click on it and change it via the drop-down menu)

Also recommended = H.264/AVC, DivX, XviD, plus any others of your choice
(but leave WMA/WMV/ASF alone, ie. disabled & not managed by ffdshow)


Start -> Programs -> ffdshow -> Audio Decoder config:

AAC = Libfaad2


Important!

You've already got Haali's Media Splitter installed.

You can't have both Haali and Gabest Splitters installed at the same time.

Haali's Splitter should work for demuxing the MP4 container and sending the audio & video content to ffdshow for decoding, but if there's any problems, then you'll need to uninstall Haali's Splitter before installing Gabest's Splitter...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2008, 23:40   #5
j1dopeman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
I changed the configs, and now the mp4 movie can play in winamp. It uses ffdshow Video Decoder and CyberLink audio decoder.

But I'm not looking to do this. I just want winamp to stop crashing or be able to recover without requiring me to restart it when I open a video in something else. I like to play videos with media player and listen to music with winamp at the same time. This works if I start media player first, but if I start a video while winamp is currently playing then winamp gives me that error and will continue to give it until I restart it. It happens when the video in question uses AC3Filter for the audio codec. Something about winamp and AC3 is not compatible.
j1dopeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2008, 00:47   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,987
That's possibly more likely to be an issue with your onboard audio chip/drivers than a Winamp one.

What version of AC3Filter are you using?
Is it the latest v1.46 build from:
http://ac3filter.net/projects/ac3filter ?

What audio formats is AC3Filter being used for?
Just AC3, or others?
(AC3Filter config -> System tab -> Use AC3Filter for)

Maybe show me a screenshot of the AC3Filter config -> Main & System tabs...


What are your relevant Winamp settings?

Specifically:

Winamp -> Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> Playback
Are "allow 24bit" and "allow surround sound" checkmarked?

Winamp -> Prefs -> Plugins -> Output -> DirectSound Output -> config:

Device tab:
Is your soundcard driver selected as the output device?
Is "allow hardware acceleration" checkmarked?

Have you enabled any of the Fading options (Fading tab), or the Silence Remover in the Other tab?


Other than that, I still have a feeling that maybe your sound chip can't process two separate DirectSound multi-channel audio streams....


ps. If you set ffdshow audio decoder config to use libfaad2 for AAC, then Cyberlink Audio Decoder shouldn't be used for MP4 files with AAC audio content.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2008, 16:34   #7
j1dopeman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Yeah, I have the latest 1.46. Everything is checked off on the system tab - pcm, ac3, dts, mpeg, dvd, spdif.

In winamp, 24-bit and allow surround are checked. My soundcard is selected, as well as allow hardware acceleration. I have fades on pause/stop and on seek, silence remover is disabled.

I think it can handle it, because if I start winamp second then I can hear the audio from the video and a song playing just fine, they overlap with no problems. AC3 must be changing or doing something when it first starts that messes up winamp.
Attached Files
File Type: zip screens.zip (166.3 KB, 553 views)
j1dopeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2008, 21:09   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,987
Are you using AC3Filter for MPEG Audio and PCM etc for a reason?
I'd personally only use it for AC3, and none of the others.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2008, 23:12   #9
j1dopeman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
I guess I could change it, and it would fix that one video, but not the problem. It'd be interesting to know why ac3 and cyberlink's audio decoder don't work well with winamp.
j1dopeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2008, 00:35   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,987
Cyberlink just isn't a very good DirectShow implementation, whereas ffdshow is :-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2010, 04:35   #11
Beckerist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Beckerist Send a message via Yahoo to Beckerist
For those of you trying to watch a video, with none of the above symptoms, I found this resolved it for me: The video I was trying to watch had the extension .avi, but the video codec was MP4 and the audio codec was ACC. I had installed the K-Lite codec pack, and assumed it was set up correctly. I would double click the file, Winamp would load and without playing any video, the above error would pop up.

All I did was uninstall the K-Lite codec pack and installed the Combined Community Codec pack. It's also a codec pack, and installed quite quickly! I didn't even restart in the meantime and my video now works. I have no idea why, no technical explanation...but it worked. Hope this helps!
Beckerist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump