Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st October 2008, 18:05   #1
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Bug with .wma files (only .wma files!) - Not showing info......

Hey.
First, the bug you are going to hear about only happens with a .wma file as the first song in your playlist, and it only happens with Modern skins.

I reported this bug a long time ago, but with minimal information. Now I have more information, a screenshot, AND A SAMPLE FILE (.WMA file). See link at the bottom for download.

Bug in short explanation/step to reproduce:
1) Open Winamp, use a Modern skin (NOT classic), and clear your playlist editor.
2) Put for example 5 songs in your Playlist Editor, and make sure that the first song in the list (#1) is a .wma filetype!
You got that? A .WMA file! Try my sample file below as number 1 in your playlist, but put some other songs there as well.
3) Save the .m3u playlist to your desktop (this is just a test).
4) Close Winamp, wait a few sec so it saves the settings etc etc..
5) Now double-click on the saved .m3u playlist file to open Winamp. Now you will see that the songticker is showing "Winamp 5.541" and not the songname/title. And this happens with .WMA files ONLY.

Link to download a packed rar-file (includes screenshot and a sample .wma file):
http://stashbox.org/267851/Winamp_Bu...ma-Infobug.rar

The question: Can you reproduce the bug - .WMA files not showing info in the songticker when double-clicking a saved .m3u playlist file? (Only happens in Modern skins..)
Thanks in advance.
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 21:02   #2
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Confirmed. I've seen something similar when streaming .wma files.

Always assumed this was some sort of timing problem and control was being passed out before the Playlist has a chance to update.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2008, 16:56   #3
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Nice to hear that you can reproduce it ujay!
Any reply from DJ Egg or someone else on this bug? It is a bug, but only with .wma files.. Heh.

And any reply on the other bug I reported, "Auto-Tag bug"?
Thanks in advance
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2008, 17:23   #4
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Both bugs have been noted, if/when they get fixed, nobody can tell you. So have a lil' patience.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 14:49   #5
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Thanks for the info!
Yeah, it would be great to get them fixed
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2008, 14:25   #6
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Any news now? Just asking..
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2008, 15:01   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
No

It's on the internal bug list... but right at the very bottom
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2008, 19:01   #8
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Ok.. All the way at the bottom? And how long is the list above it.. ? :P

Btw, I haven't seen any reply from you or other DEVs that you can actually reproduce it either (talking about the .wma bug now).. But since its on your internal bug-list I assume you can reproduce it?
Keep up the good work!
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 17:37   #9
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Well, Im poppin' back in again after a while to ask if there is any progress on these two things..? Heh
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 17:58   #10
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
No, and asking for it again and again does't change anything.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2008, 20:45   #11
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Ok, thanks for the information!
I know, but its worth trying isnt it? :P Anyway, devs please look into it when you have time for it. Those bugs have been here for quite some time now (at least one of them)
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2008, 21:01   #12
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
There are other bugs, which are still not fixed too. And I think yours is low priority for my taste.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 00:41   #13
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Hmn, do you have more information on these two bugs now? Or are they so long at the bottom of the bug-list that they are forgotten now? :/

And yes, I have noticed the v5.55 beta thread I hope that if most of the other critical bugs are fixed, some work can be done on these two long-been-here-bugs..
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump