Old 1st May 2005, 02:10   #161
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
I discovered this by accident, but it actually makes a lot of sense. If you are using a third party opacity/transparency plug-in, either disable the plug-in or disable transparency settings for the video window (if the plug-in has individual windows/skin settings). If using a modern skins that have a video drawer built in to the main/player window, disable transparency settings for main window.

Another option would simply be to uninstall the plug-in or do a full uninstall > reinstall (AKA clean install) of Winamp.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2005, 14:05   #162
Dannz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
hi all

yer this one is nasty little bug
i have windows XP and i was using winamp 5.01 working great plays everything i wanted until i upgraded to the new winamp 5.08 great i have the bug can play all files just no picture but only avi's. vlc plays the same avi fine actually vlc plays just about anything... this bug was solved buy using the dvix codec http://www.divx.com/ install avi's play great or the xvid codec will do the same trick anyway hope this helps some people this was driving me mad
Dannz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 03:10   #163
BenGreen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
I have a similar problem.

Only a couple of the dozens of mpegs, avis, rams and all that I have work as they should. With the rest, I get audio but no video and some of them that used to get video no longer do. I've taken my hard drive out and plugged it into a friend's computer and HIS WINAMP played it. So I copied his entire hard drive onto mine and tried running his Winamp, no success. He was running Winamp3 I am using 5.02.

I've since found that other players (sasami2k) also don't play the video, so I suspect the problem isn't with winamp itself, but I have no idea what the problem is.
BenGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 09:42   #164
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,400
Have you tried these suggestions?
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 20:42   #165
ClickMe_69
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
My photo gallery is here http:

My photo gallery is here:
*spam removed*

ClickMe_69
ClickMe_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2005, 01:41   #166
huyhuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
how to do dat do i do it on winamp or on wat

Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
System specs?

Preferences (Ctrl-P) > Options > Video > UNCHeck allow Overlay
wat to do wats crl p i did it notin came up
huyhuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2005, 01:44   #167
huyhuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
the crl p thing doesnt work
huyhuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2005, 02:05   #168
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Control + P opens the Winamp preferences. It's hardcoded into the application, and I am unaware of anything which might keep it from coming up, so it should work. What plugins are you using? What other applications are you using while running Winamp? A HijackThis log would help us most of all.

Of course, before I jump the gun, is Winamp in focus? Control + P won't do anything if Winamp isn't the active window...

[EDIT] Using Matrox PDesk with Winamp and Modern skins?

Modern skin Prefs & other dialogs not appearing when using Matrox PDesk
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread...927#post1693927 [/EDIT]


jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2005, 02:34   #169
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
If not what jmat mentioned...

Do you have a Nivida/GeForce card? Do you have troubles with other Winamp shortcut keys?

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2005, 00:12   #170
pha9992001
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
I hear video, but no sound

I've gone through all these posts, but I still can't figure out how to see the videos in Shoutcast TV.

I tried to look for Preferences (Ctrl-P) > Options > Video > UNCHeck allow Overlay , but had no luck finding it.

I have WinAmp 5.1

I have it working on another computer, just not my new one.

I've installed divx and xvid to see if that would help.

Here are my system specs:
OS: Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Processor: Intel(R) 4 CPU 3.00 GHz
Memory: 1GB

DirectX Verison: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

Device-
Name: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip Type: 82915G/GV/910GL
DAC Type: Internal
Approx Total Memory: 128 MB
Current Display Mode: 1600 X 1200 (32 bit) (75Hz)
Monitor: NEC AccuSync 900

Drivers-
Main Driver: ialmrnt5.dll
Version: 6.14.0010.4299 (ENGLISH)
Date: 4/5/2005 14:38:44
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Mini VDD: ialmnt5.sys
VDD: n/a
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)

DirectX Features-
Direct Draw: Enabled
Direct3D Acceleration: Enabled
AGP Texture Acceleration: Not Available

Any help would be much appreciated.
pha9992001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2005, 15:52   #171
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Re: I hear video, but no sound

Quote:
Originally posted by pha9992001
I tried to look for Preferences (Ctrl-P) > Options > Video > UNCHeck allow Overlay , but had no luck finding it.
Ctrl+P > General Preferences > Video > uncheck 'Allow video hardware overlay' (in the 'Advanced Video Options' box of the right plane)

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2005, 04:18   #172
bloodknight
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
I seem to have the problem of i cant play avi files on winamp (the video part i get sound fine) but i can on windows media player...I have windows xp, winamp 5.11, dx 9.0c, radeon 9600xt and divx, xvid codecs, plus ffshow...this only started about one or two months ago...before that it worked fine...
bloodknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 16:36   #173
theoglobal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
No video image

I have audio, but no video image (Winamp 5.092 on WinXP Pro SP1). I tried Ctrl+P fixes recommended in this forum, and reboot, but no change. I have not reinstalled. As a Reality Check, I then loaded the same mp4 file in Quicktime (v6.5.2), and video displayed fine! Conclusion: problem appears to be bug (and/or incompatibility) with Winamp. I hope this helps other users. We'll all be much happier when Winamp gets video functionality back to Plug-N-Play.
theoglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2005, 11:27   #174
khoopek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
i have the problem where my video shows a blank screen when i play a .avi file. i've tried the video overlay stuff and the dxdiag test(or watever test it is) and it still doesn't work.the following attachment is my test result.pls help me ASAP.my winamp version is 5.03
Attached Files
File Type: txt dxdiag.txt (39.4 KB, 1079 views)
khoopek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2005, 20:03   #175
bony2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Hi,

I've had the "no picture" problem, too, but observed some strange behaviour of Winamp with video. Maybe somebody has got an explanation (?).

My system:
Laptop
Mobile Intel Pentium 4 - 1,8 GHz
Windows XP SP2
SIS651
Winamp 5.12

I didn't get a picture on the LCD or an external CRT with a resolution of 1024x768. But when I switched off the LCD and switched the CRT to 1600x1200 the picture suddenly was displayed fine!!! When I now switched back to 1024x768 the picture was still there. When I additionally switched on the LCD the picture was displayed but the quality wasn't very good. When I restarted Winamp there again was no picture.

There was no problem with the WMP but I needed a possibility to change the aspect ratio (afaik WMP hasn't got that possibility).
Only MPEG-2 files weren't displayed. MPEG-1 worked fine.

Deactivating the overlay function didn't solve the problem. So I installed the Gabest Universal Open Source MPEG Video Decoder. Now I got a picture, but there was a wide fuzzy stripe on the left side of the picture. After deactivating the overlay function the picture was fine but that encreases the CPU load so that the fan gets very loud.

In the end I installed the Zoom Player that offers a possibility to change the aspect ratio, too.
But I'm still interested in an explanation or an other solution ...

Christoph


P.S.:
@ khoopek:
Perhaps you can try to install the above mentioned Video Decoder.
bony2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2005, 23:48   #176
khoopek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
wow....tanks for the help....now it's working again...hahaha....tanks again
khoopek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2006, 11:00   #177
the_dragon_lord
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 26
Hello
I am having one heck of a time trying to find out where to post what in here...so it's possable that I have cross posted...I no longer remember.......however I do know that I have not got any responces to my problem ..I have read all these post about the sound and NO video...and that is my problem ...I had to reinstall Wianamp the other day and now my videos have no Picture....I have loaded so many plug-ins etc. DivX, the codac's ..I have it all ..but I still have no Picture with my videos ..I have great sound, and I have tried them on my other players and they work fine, it's only in Winamp that they don't work ... I'm on a Dell...Pentium 4 120gb 512 sdram..etc. etc. ..NOTE ..they all played before I reinstalled Winamp 5.12...and just so you know ..I had 5.12 last time too...I am becoming sooo frustrated with this whole thing...any ideas ..pleaseeeee
Thank you ....Dragon

EDIT: when I UNCheck the allow overlay box ..all I then get is a cycadelic color sceme
the_dragon_lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2006, 09:20   #178
Dakari
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Erm, Im new to these forums so not sure if this is the right spot to post there but heres my problem..........

Watching a tv series that I downloaded and the first 3 episodes ran smoothly but now the 4th and the 5th episode only plays for 1sec then the video freezes and theres only sound left , I tried it on Windows Media Player and it works except for the captions(Japanese Tv Show) are slow and cant keep up with the voiceing.... So what should I do?
Dakari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2006, 15:21   #179
Griffen47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SA
Posts: 1
Hi I am also having problems with the display, I have tried to play them on meany other players aswell, and it still does not show any picture. If u please can help me with this. I have quite a few files that does this, all of the same tipe: avi .
Griffen47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2006, 05:02   #180
crayola727
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
same problem, no result

I've read a good portion of this forum, but nothing has been resolved.
My first probelm was only auditory and no visual. I tried methods mentioned, but they did not work. In the end I re-installed version 5.21. The video aspect still does not work.
please help
crayola727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2006, 20:25   #181
purrcy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Santa Paula, CA
Posts: 4
video problems

After reading and doing this post I think that all my video problems are gone! I also think that WinAmp designers should read this thread and do something about in their next update!!
purrcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2006, 20:37   #182
Trublumz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
i have just downloaded the latest version of winamp.

when i play avi or divx files i can hear the sound but there is no picture.

i tried unchecking the overlay hardware in preferances but it didn't help.

wassup?
Trublumz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2006, 21:02   #183
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Have you seen this post?
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....40#post1374040

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2006, 20:02   #184
hatchett
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
i seem not to be able to play avi files any ideas
hatchett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2006, 21:36   #185
Bubba Smith
Major Dude
 
Bubba Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bubbaville, USA
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally posted by hatchett
i seem not to be able to play avi files any ideas
Ok. Let me guess... you saw a multi-paged thread entitled ' No pictures when playing Videos / Internet TV', and instead of reading through the posts in this thread to see how to solve your problem, you simply posted what you posted above... right?

Yes.. we have ideas - and most probably a solution to your problem. Just read through this thread, follow the suggestions and links provided, and solve your problem, same as many others did here who read what was posted, and then responded with 'thank you's' once their problem was resolved.
Bubba Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 18:43   #186
zomarkaan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
I am trying to play an avi video and i get audio but no video.

winamp version 5.32
-------
Time of this report: 2/11/2007, 12:25:32
Machine name: LU090932
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: OptiPlex GX270
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A03
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory: 510MB RAM
Page File: 498MB used, 748MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

Card name: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller
zomarkaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 19:01   #187
zomarkaan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
very helpful post from DJegg referenced by siebe83.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....40#post1374040

I'm all good. The CCCP/Matroska codec package solved it.

sorry for the quick post.... And thanx to all who put effort into this issue
zomarkaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2007, 14:51   #188
Wins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Hello,

Can anyone please help me out.

I am facing problem in viewing the online TV
having Genre as TV.

The music can be heard but visual contents are missing.

Its a blank Screen.

All other online stuff having GENRE other than TV can be viewed.
Wins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2007, 20:59   #189
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,626
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
Wins, did you read the thread you just posted in? It details problems with lack of video in video streams. The solution is usually related to the lack of the correct decoders being present. The streams you are trying to watch are probably AVC video so you could try installing ffdshow (ffdshow-tryouts for Vista) or CCCP.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2007, 18:36   #190
mahes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
I've been having this issue as well. It only started recently, and has persisted through an update to 3.55. As far as the suggestions provided by this thread, I've tried them all. I initially had K-Lite Mega Codec Pack installed, and used the ffdshow config to switch to libavcodec, but that didn't produce any results. So I uninstalled KLMCP and installed CCCP, but the results were the same. If anyone can provide any exposition on why this suddenly became an issue, I'd greatly appreciate it.
mahes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2007, 11:51   #191
mahes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Sorry for the double post, but Wins if you're still having problems, I finally finished crawling through all the posts with "shoutcast tv doesn't work" or "tv not showing" and found a solution that works. Place this file in your plugins folder:

http://momupload.com/files/43889/nsvdec_x264.dll.html

I don't know if there's a better one as I've been searching for one and have been unable to, but it started working as soon as I put it in the folder and restarted winamp.
mahes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2007, 09:26   #192
Zaxor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by mahes
I've been having this issue as well. It only started recently, and has persisted through an update to 3.55. As far as the suggestions provided by this thread, I've tried them all. I initially had K-Lite Mega Codec Pack installed, and used the ffdshow config to switch to libavcodec, but that didn't produce any results. So I uninstalled KLMCP and installed CCCP, but the results were the same. If anyone can provide any exposition on why this suddenly became an issue, I'd greatly appreciate it.
yeah I am having a problem too if you have a solution to this I would really appreciate it
Zaxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 00:14   #193
freeenergy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
tried your fix, still doesn't work I'm using Vista
freeenergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 16:36   #194
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Some things never change, I guess...

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#video

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009, 15:52   #195
axem greasefire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
It's a problem as old as, well, Winamp itself: I can get Winamp to display any picture when playing my videos. I've tried the whole "unclick the 'allow video hardware overlay' box" method under Video in the General Preferences section. It ain't doin' the trick. Here's my computer's DirectX specs, as requested:

DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

Device:

Name: NVIDIA GeForce 6400 GT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip Type: GeForce 6800 GT
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
Approx. Total Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Display Mode: 1024 X 768 (32 bit) (75Hz)
Moniter: SONY HMD-A200

Drivers:

Main Driver: nv4_disp.dll
Version: 6.14.0011.7824 (English)
Date: 10/7/2008 13:33:00
WHQL Logo’d: Yes
Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)

DirectX Features:

DirectDraw Acceleration: Enabled
Direct3D Acceleration: Enabled
AGP Texture Acceleration: Enabled
axem greasefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 08:52   #196
samliem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by freeenergy
tried your fix, still doesn't work I'm using Vista
It somehow works for me. I use Vista Business Edition. What is yours.
samliem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2010, 17:30   #197
KatrinaLyoko55
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Yeah I'm having the "video portion of video will not show, but audio will play" problem too. Unlike everyone else, I'm using the new Windows 7. I was just looking for an alternate to iTunes, because my iTunes isn't working right now...(syncing problems)

WinAmp is not registered (I don't want to go and use real money to have to go and buy it)

I'm not home and I do not have access to my DirectX log because of this. Also, I don't know how to access it on my computer.

The huge list of videos are all .mp4 . plus two .wmvs that aren't on my computer, but on a flashdrive.

I don't have MediaInfo...or know how to use it.

"

I'm non-pro. No clue what video filters its using...video is just not playing or syncing to my iPod properly whatsoever.

I'm sorry if I'm not being a help...
KatrinaLyoko55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2012, 16:25   #198
saraforestb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Error videos

Me pasa cuando cargo mis dos páginas en wordpress

http://www.tarotvidenciaelisedefer.com

http://www.mundoesotericoparanormal.com

Los he tenido que quitar, pero me gustaría si alguien sabe como hacerlo funcionar en wordpress porque así conseguiré más visitas.

Un saludo.
saraforestb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2012, 16:28   #199
saraforestb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
sara

Lo necesito pronto, gracias

Last edited by saraforestb; 22nd July 2012 at 16:29. Reason: respuesta rapida
saraforestb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump