Old 15th June 2002, 21:53   #41
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
devcon32.dll is Creative's Device Configuration Manager.
Quite important where SBLive's are concerned.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=devcon32

Seems like something else you've installed has overwritten it with its own version. Apparently, some ATI video cards also use a file of the same name... not sure about nVidia/3dfx cards though.

btw, the DirectX Diagnostic Tool is actually reporting your system details.
Those specs you gave don't actually have anything to do with DirectX files/drivers . . . except for the DirectX version # itself.

It's actually reporting how much physical RAM you have installed.
It's saying you've got 254mb, which is rare because it would normally be 256mb.
This probably means that some onboard chip is using 2mb of your ram.

The Win2k page file (known as the "swap file" in older Win9x OS'es) is the file Windows uses as virtual memory when all your physical RAM is used up.
If you think about it, this means that you're actually using 256mb RAM plus 298mb virtual memory (554mb in total). This suggests that you either have a hell of a lot of programs running, or something you're running has got a serious memory leak. Got any real-time virus scanner running by any chance? (or something along those lines).

The page file size can be increased via:
System Control Panel -> Performance tab -> Virtual Memory

Though maybe you ought to consider getting more RAM ?
Maybe boost it up to 512mb ?

Anyway, good luck with the SBLive drivers,
and I hope this has helped
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2002, 23:58   #42
lesstalkmorock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1
a sound card problem.. waveOut plugin error v1.03

I dont have a reply...im just looking for some help.
When i try to play a song on this comes up...

unsupported PCM format (44100 Hz, 8 bits per sample, 2 channels. Please change format settings in input plug-in configuration or change output device in waveOut plug-in configuration.

Error code 32
windows error message:
"mmsystem032 the specified format cannot be translated or supported. Use the capabilities function to view supported formats."

I really dont know what to do about this. I guess its a sound card problem, but how do i fix?

thanks
dave
lesstalkmorock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2002, 00:06   #43
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
TSGH -> Useful Links -> MMSYSTEM032
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2002, 18:02   #44
rynoski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: austin
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to rynoski Send a message via Yahoo to rynoski
winamp stoppage mystery solved!!

step one: identify sound card
step two: if card reads anything other than soundblaster - place in trash recepticle
step three: buy a supported sound card!!!! such as sound blaster
step four: install and listen to winamp and no longer have the mysterious stoppage of play.

I dont doubt 2.8 fixes some issues, but afterall I have said i use a modified version of 2.23 and i never have probs at home. I have a sound blaster live X gamer, supported hardware under win2k. I took out the piece of crap turtle beach card from my machine at work - and WHAD DO YA FRIKKKIN KNOW - it hasnt stopped playing suddenly since then. 4 days straight thus far. It is using a SB live now.
It works like a charm. Turtle beach is §hit. Sound blaster rules!

I think the problem all along is supported hardware under windows 2000. Which is probably why it is better than all the other platforms cause you cant use piece of shit generic friggin dimestore equipment made by bob's discount electronics.

Word to the wise people - you get what you pay for. Happy non-stoppage!
rynoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2002, 03:21   #45
short rz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to short rz
(i havent read to the bottom of this artical but):

i had this problem with winamp 2.8, where it stops playing. i tried most of the suggested remedies and they didnt work, so at the moment i have gone back to winamp 2.79 and everything seems to be crusing along nicely

dont know if this helps but


anyway, sys specs:

IBM aptiva system (pretty crap)

win 2k professional
667 pIII processor
128 meg of ram
15 gig hdd
directX 7.0 (bit behind but things seem to be working with winamp so im happy)
short rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2002, 03:24   #46
weasel47_3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 24
Send a message via ICQ to weasel47_3 Send a message via AIM to weasel47_3 Send a message via Yahoo to weasel47_3
Dx7 on a win2K platform?

Do you mean to tell me you DOWNgraded to DX 7.0 cause Win2K comes built in with DX8.0 I'm surprised your windows works.
weasel47_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2002, 09:55   #47
short rz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to short rz
nah it doesnt

i just reinstalled win 2k so.....

maybe XP does...
short rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2002, 05:03   #48
short rz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to short rz
DirectX 8.1

i've installed DirectX 8.1 and now winamp seems stop playing whenever i go online. i checked how much ram i had available and there was 6% of 128 meg (about 7 meg of ram)left. at that stage i only had 1 IE window and mIRC running along with winamp



also the sound in Tony Hawks pro skater 2 seems to stop misteriously,
perhaps suggesting a bug in DirectX 8.1
short rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2002, 15:21   #49
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
Are you using the mircex plugin for Winamp by any chance?
Or have you installed any other 3rd-party plugins?
The Official 3rd-party Plugin Buglist

What's your soundcard? Is it a proper PCI card, or just an onboard chip?
Have you checked for latest drivers?

Have you installed Peter's official Wa2Update patch?

Have you tried using both DirectSound and WaveOut outputs?
Have you tried switching Output Device in the output config to use your soundcard driver?

What other software is concurrently running? (c/o Task Manager)

I also suggest you read the whole of this thread in its entirity
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2002, 07:41   #50
short rz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to short rz
DJEgg,

i took a look at your plugin list and i have none of the ones that you have listed there, although i do have a few third party plugins:

Vis:
B-plugin (vis_b.dll)
geiss for winamp (vis_geiss.dll)
MilkDrop 1.01 (vis_milk.dll)
Jet v1.1 (vis_jet.dll)
R2 vis plugin - v2.05 (vis_R2.dll)

DSP/effect:
DFX (dsp_dfx.dll)

as far as i could see none of these were on your list.

as for my sound card it is an onboard pos. i checked for the latest drivers (soundmax) and i already have them.

i have tried the options of changing the output device but this didnt work either.

i have also just installed peter's update and it hasn't really helped at all

as for the task manager do you mean processes or applications, because mIRC and IE are the only applications i had running.
short rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2002, 08:39   #51
short rz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to short rz
er.......dare i mention windows media player

windows media player seems to work without crashing but it does stop playing sound and keep playing the track

windows media player sux arse and i hope this is resolved soon.
short rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2002, 15:05   #52
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
Yes, I meant EVERYTHING running . . . processes, apps, software, the lot.

DFX has been known to cause a few problems for some people in the past. Bear in mind that the official 3rd-party plugin buglist is by no means comprehensive, and doesn't contain every single plugin known to cause problems, just the most commonly reported ones.

What version # of mIRC are you running? Is it the latest version?
Is it the unregistered, registered, or cracked version?
If it's the cracked version, beware of a couple of dodgy script viruses. I found this out the hard way, lol. (naturally, the un/registered versions don't have any problems, just the dodgy cracked version/s)

Whatever the case, you should definitely run a full virus scan (with up-to-date definitions) and also run a full scandisk with surface scan. Maybe a defrag is in order too?

However, it still sounds like it must be a soundchip driver related problem to me. Where did you get these drivers from? The recommended place for onboard chips is c/o the motherboard or pc manufacturer, quoting the exact make/model#.
Get the correct drivers ready, then try removing all software/drivers/references to the old drivers (c/o Add/Rem Programs, then System CP -> Device Mgr). Shut down, reboot, then install the new (correct) drivers.

Whilst your at it, it might also be wise to look for some new videocard drivers as well. Have you told is what graphics card you've got yet? Is this also an onboard chip?

Is anything sharing the same IRQ as the soundchip?
(c/o System CP -> Device Mgr -> Computer -> Properties)


Good luck.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2002, 15:13   #53
rynoski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: austin
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to rynoski Send a message via Yahoo to rynoski
dont bother reading this

just re-posting to pull e-mail notify off...
rynoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2002, 04:35   #54
short rz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to short rz
hey.........its working!!!!!!!

my winamp is working!!!!!!!! (so far whats to come though?)


to all of you out there with IBM Aptivas (well i think the driver applys to all the IBMs with onboards but check ) go get the driver from the IBM site (www.ibm.com). simply go through the elimination process it has and then choose the unsigned driver from soundmax (most recent)or search or search "d69z28us.exe" and yeah, after a restart it should work!!!!!


thanks to pplz who helped me with this.....especially DJEgg
short rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2002, 06:56   #55
Wish
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 702
Just to clarify a few things. Win2k comes by default with DirectX 7.1, not 8/8.1/8.1b. The latest version of DirectX is 8.1b, and it fixes a few bugs in DX8.1, so everyone with Win98/98SE/ME and Win2k should go to the official MS DirectX page and get the latest DX8.1b.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/dir...oads/drx81.asp

ryonski,

Quote:
step one: identify sound card
step two: if card reads anything other than soundblaster - place in trash recepticle
step three: buy a supported sound card!!!! such as sound blaster
You obviously haven't read my article.

Why NOT to buy anything from Creative

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=76742

DJEgg should know how much problems Creative soundcards have caused.... He even discovered the gen_nomad.dll bug.....

Wish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2004, 03:44   #56
username
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 37
same thing

Well, after figuring out that I was not the only one having the same issue, I figured Id post my config here too.

Heres what I have:

ABIT IC7-G mobo
100gb hd
2.0 gb ram (dualDDR)
I use the onboard codec whcich wrks fine.
video is dual head matrox card
processor is intel 2.5g

heres hwat happens:

playing fine in winamp. sysresources are plentiful. all of teh sudden, whether it be tv, video, or mp3, or streaming audio, winamp stops playing. If its a tv channel through media library, i can connect to teh server again and get the first frame of the show, and then it freezes. I have 5mb/s pipe to the net. so it isnt bandwidth. Not to mention this happens with mp3's stored locally.

I use NO plugins. I even BOUGHT winamp (on eof the very few software packages ive paid for).

A system restart cures it. i have broken down to code (im a code type guy) and found nothing wrong. This happens on several of my other systems as well.

Its pretty obviuos winamp is buggy. What baffles me is that is shuts down all audio on my system. even after all audio processes are stopped and started, nothing.

oh well.............
username is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2004, 08:19   #57
theknub
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Peoples Republic of Berkeley
Posts: 530
@username... don't ressurect dead threads. this one is very old and has prob no bearing on your problem. as far as system specs, i doubt that is the issue. have you looked at spyware being the culprit? also, what sound card are you running?

When you take a hand and chop the fingers off... what do u get?

That would be the knub.
theknub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2004, 23:53   #58
A176
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Actually, I've just began to experience this problem as well, no matter what the age of the thread is, its the same problem.
A176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 00:13   #59
theknub
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Peoples Republic of Berkeley
Posts: 530
it was originally from 2002. i think age does matter. the code and options have changed a lot since then. plus, username hasn't even posted back since.

When you take a hand and chop the fingers off... what do u get?

That would be the knub.
theknub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 00:13   #60
A176
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
meh nm...screwed around with the ds output and its "mysterously" fixed
A176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump