Old 21st September 2022, 19:33   #1
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Winamp re-scans the music folder unnecessarily.

Winamp re-scans the music folder unnecessarily everytime after adding new songs/album(s) when starting Winamp.

Example: After ripping a CD, then putting it in the music folder and add to the playlist, Winamp will, for some reason, re-scan the music folder enterily in a later moment. A bit annoying to wait X amount of minutes to open the program.

In Preferences - Titles: I have it on "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp (this can be slow if a large number of files are added at once)"

On earlier versions it never did this, but has been doing it since RC1.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 19:41   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
Hmm... is "Rescan folders at startup" checked in Prefs => ML => Local Library => Watch Folders?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 19:50   #3
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
It has been disabled since day 1. I never use it.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 19:59   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
Hmm, strange. I've got ~150k entries in my playlist and am constantly adding new albums on a daily basis, but I don't see any rescanning at Winamp start...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 20:05   #5
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Well, it does to me.

I added a soundtrack album earlier today and I just wanted to start Winamp for about 45 minutes ago and by the time I clicked on Winamp, it started to scan the music folder enterily. Or it re-scans the playlist if that's the case.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2022, 09:37   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
Ok, so are you saying that the (undesired) behaviour only occurs when the "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp" setting is enabled, but not with the default "Read metadata...in the background" setting?

And the behaviour has changed with that setting since 5.9?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 05:26   #7
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Yes. However, I don't know for sure if it relates itself to the "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp" as I haven't used one of the other settings because I have had that on everytime I have used Winamp for many years otherwise without that issue.

It has happened 3 or 4 times now. And I believe it seems to cause it. When I installed version RC1, it was on "Read metadata in the background when file(s)..." for about a week or something until I noticed it and then switched back to "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp".

Last edited by Legendarion; 23rd September 2022 at 06:27.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 21:13   #8
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
I just found what's causing it.

Right after finishing a CD-rip, closing Winamp and then start it up again, the HDD-lamp is working constantly.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2022, 21:57   #9
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Update: Winamp have problems to start correctly after ripping a CD.

The issue happens when "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp (this can be slow if a large number of files are added at once)" is chosen. So Winamp have problems to start normally when ripping a CD, then closing Winamp right after and then start it up again. The HDD-lamp is working constantly and uses several minutes to be finished.

But the issue doesn't occur if I choose "Read metadata in the background when file(s) are loaded into Winamp or are played or viewed in the playlist editor (default)".
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2022, 15:52   #10
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Would be nice if someone could check this issue as explained on my last reply if it is an actual problem or not. This problem also happens on my reserve-desktop computer with the same composition.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump