Old 17th November 2013, 20:10   #1
Milla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Winamp crashes with WMA files after 45 seconds

Hello,
Recently, Winamp has started to crash after ~45 seconds when I read a WMA file. The weird thing is that the first time I tried to read it, it worked well, but the day after, I used the same file, and suddenly Winamp crashed with no reason after 45 seconds. And the other mp3 files I tried to read went with no problems. I checked google, found someone who had the same problem caused by a plug-in, so I went in Preferences>Plug-ins and removed the marks for "Disable built-in visualization when visualization plug-in active" and the one below it. I had no idea what I was doing (english is not my mother tongue, I can't handle a too technical language), the guy I read about on google was not talking about it, but anyway, it worked fine after that and stopped crashing.
I didn't touch this file since then, but today when I wanted to read it again, Winamp crashed after the damn 45 seconds... The option in "plug-ins" was still disabled, I checked google again and went through posts from today to 2004, but nothing seemed to be helpful.

I don't know if there's a link, but Windows (I'm using Windows 7) is telling me sometimes that I'm not using a legal version and should reinstall Windows. But 10 minutes after it's already okay, and my version is legal again, even if didn't do anything.

I don't really get an error message or something when Winamp crashes, it just says "Winamp has stopped running, windows is looking for a solution", and then "blah blah windows will tell you if a solution exists" but then it tells me nothing.

I guess I could just convert my WMA file into an mp3, but I don't know if it will loose its quality or something like that, and maybe I'm not the only one with this problem. Anyway, I hope you will help me, I need to work with this file for a job and winamp is really the only one that can do everything I need to do.
Thanks !
Milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2013, 21:58   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
could really do with you trying to follow and provide a crash dump from the steps in this post http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...86&postcount=6 (as this keeps cropping up but no one so far has provided what is needed to try to determine the cause of the crash).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013, 17:49   #3
Milla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
I'm sorry, I followed the steps but couldn't get any dump file or anything in the dumps folder. When I write the line, the cmd window just tell me some useless things about procdumps and how the file will be named. I tried making winamp crash before enter the command line, but it doesn't changed anything. I guess that was a bit naive.

(Should I continue on the other post you linked to me ? I didn't saw it at first, sorry)
Milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013, 18:25   #4
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,624
Hi Milla,

What other post (the link to DrO's plug-ins is not needed for this)? The link in the thread pointed to in post #2 above just points to the ProcDump app. You may have entered the command incorrectly, be sure to type all the characters in the command string or just copy and paste the string into the command-line window.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013, 19:04   #5
Milla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
DrO's link in the message point to a single post that was an answer to a whole conversation, I went on it by clicking on the link at the top right of the page. But it was way too long and I didn't read it, but I assume there was no solution given if DrO still asks me to do that...

I'm the kind that would make type mistakes, so I tried a few times and corrected myself 3 times before pressing enter, and I'm pretty sure I entered the command correctly. Except for the spaces, but it's not important, isn't it ? The copy-paste didn't work.
Milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013, 19:15   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
ignore the nunzioweb link - that's just part of my forum signature.

it is important to try to get a crash dump and with what i linked to, just following the steps exactly as shown in the post should be all that's needed to get it working. without knowing what errors you're seeing when trying to do it, i cannot advise on how to correct things to get the dump file needed.

if not, there's little to do to try to official fix it other than to stop playing WMA files and use a different file format (which is most likely not an option and would strongly advise against converting from WMA to something else as you will loose audio data in the process).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013, 19:39   #7
Milla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
This is what I did :
I downloaded the folder by following the link, putted it in some random place, extracted it, then paste the procdump.exe and its useless eula.txt in a "dumps" folder directly in the C: disk. Then I opened the command window, typed what I had to, checked that the winamp.exe was in the same place as the command line was saying, pressed enter. This is what I get after that:
http://img11.hostingpics.net/pics/616715winamp.png

And at the end of the text :
http://img11.hostingpics.net/pics/292866winamp2.png

I just have the feeling that showing this to you is useless, but I don't know what else I could do.
(Winamp was playing while I made that.)
Milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013, 21:17   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
are you maybe using a 32-bit version of windows i.e. is Winamp installed in C:\Program Files\Winamp instead of in C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp ?
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013, 22:07   #9
Milla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
I have a 64 bit version of Windows, and Winamp is installed in Program Files (x86). Just rechecked that.
Milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2013, 23:56   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's not working as just seen a missing space in the first screenshot (between the -f "" -x part).

Quote:
procdump.exe -e 1 -f "" -x c:\dumps "C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp\winamp.exe"
copy and paste that line exactly as-is.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2013, 00:34   #11
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
You can copy it via right click menu, to paste it into the cmd window use CTRL+V.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2013, 08:17   #12
Milla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks, I'm so used to paste with ctrl+v that I forgot the right click menu...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...119_091148.zip

This time winamp didn't crash at 45 seconds, but when I pressed pause.
Milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2013, 17:47   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
can you repeat again with v5.65 please as the dump indicates you're using v5.63 and too much has changed with how the plug-ins are built, etc which means i'm not able to match things back to that old version.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2013, 18:26   #14
Milla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...119_192415.zip

version 5.65
Milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
crash, seconds, winamp, windows, wma

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump