Old 25th May 2005, 18:28   #1
DarkestInferno
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 9
MultiMonitor Video support bug.

The OSD doesn't diappear on second monitor (it doesn't appear until you move the mouse on the screen, as normal, but never disappears). Works fine on Monitor 1.

[Edit --> DrO]
can't reproduce this with local files or streams in fullscreen on the second mon (tested on a nView dualview dual mon setup)
DarkestInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2005, 15:21   #2
DarkestInferno
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally posted by DarkestInferno
MultiMonitor Video support bug.

The OSD doesn't diappear on second monitor (it doesn't appear until you move the mouse on the screen, as normal, but never disappears). Works fine on Monitor 1.

[Edit --> DrO]
can't reproduce this with local files or streams in fullscreen on the second mon (tested on a nView dualview dual mon setup)
Tried a fresh install.

The OSD still isn't disappearing on Mon2, I have however noticed that it stops getting refreshed when it would previously disapear but not blacked over. Bug only present since 5.091.

Winamp 5.091 Full using modern skin.
Sys Specs: AMD Athlon 2600, 1GB DDR.
OS: Win2K AS (SP4)
Video: Matrox G400 MAX (DH)
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live
DirectX 9.0c
DarkestInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2005, 12:07   #3
DarkestInferno
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 9
Bug still evident.

Winamp 5.092 Full using modern skin.
Sys Specs: AMD Athlon 2600, 1GB DDR.
OS: Win2K AS (SP4)
Video: Matrox G400 MAX (DH)
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live
DirectX 9.0c


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Posts split from sticky, and moved to own thread.
Can anyone else reproduce this?
DarkestInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2005, 02:22   #4
Bikerwade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerwade
maximize videos in monitor 2

I´ve experienced troubles in 5.091 and up.

If i have a video window open in monitor 2 and double-clicks in it, in order to maximize it, the videowindow blackens, my entire desktop hangs, while the sound of the video still plays... mouse still works, but nothing could be activated other than ctrl+alt+del starting processmanager, from wich winamp can be killed, and everything works fine again.
Bikerwade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2005, 11:41   #5
DarkestInferno
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 9
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=217112

another guy with the same problems in tech support.
DarkestInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2005, 12:04   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,881
Hmm, no, that doesn't seem like the same problem to me.
Similar, maybe, in that it's fullscreen/OSD related....

TobWen says that the seekbar (position marker) stops after a few seconds in fullscreen mode, and then works again when he manually moves it (or something like that... sorry, I wasn't sure if I even understood what he meant). But alas, no-one on the dev/beta team could reproduce it on a clean install of 5.092 (maybe we need a sample video?). There was also no mention of it being a multimon issue. As far as I can tell, TobWen is using a single monitor.

The only fullscreen OSD related issue we've been able to reproduce is when the pause button is clicked, and then after the OSD auto disappears, it doesn't return on mouseover. So it's possible that this bug could manifest itself differently on different systems. The code is being looked at and cleaned-up/optimized for the next release(s).

Edit: And we also know about the issue where the OSD stays onscreen in DirectDraw mode (ie. with Overlay unchecked in Prefs).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2005, 23:18   #7
DarkestInferno
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 9
Precisely, his OSD seekbar stops after a few seconds. When it should be being blacked out. Then works again when he moves the mouse, when the OSD refreshes.

Sounds like exactly the same problem to me, just described by side effects rather then symptoms... however he may (don't know if he was running dual screen or not, though I agree it is unlikely) have it on Monitor 1, and I have it on /only/ Monitor 2.

So we are looking for a difference between my two monitors that matches one of his. lol.

There are a few hardware differences between the two monitors even though it a duel-head card, I have matching Monitors too not that it matters. I /think/ there is a difference in the 'overlay'? If that means anything to you guys? though this may be a wild goose chase, but I know all videos usually play smoother on Mon 1.

I'm willing to do anything to help you out... just say what you want

Further interesting fact, if it helps at all... if the video is near 4:3 then the edges of the video will overwrite the OSD slightly, I don't have a true 4:3 image to see if it would completely refresh it.

Do you have a test screen or somthing, I might knock up a gridlater to try to test.

Thanks.

Dark.

--------------------------------

Ahah! after a bit of investigating I've found that I get the same problem on Monitor 1 if I turn off the Hardware Video Overlay, so it would seem to be connected to the problem.

I'm just going to see if I can reproduce this on any of my other boxes and I'll get back to you.


--------------------------------

Reproduced bug on another box:

Winamp 5.091 Full using modern skin.
Sys Specs: AMD K62 500, 512MB SD.
OS: Win2K Pro (SP4)
Video: Matrox G400 (SH)
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live
DirectX 9.0c

Switched off the Hardware Video Overlay, and boom, the bug reared its ugly little head

Want me to try it in another box without a Matrox card?

Another quick note, in trying to reproduce this bug I noticed the bug you mentioned about the pause button hiding the OSD, so count that reproduced too *grin*

Last edited by DarkestInferno; 2nd June 2005 at 00:52.
DarkestInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump