Old 15th June 2007, 14:41   #1
Steve3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Shoutcast in Windows Vista

I was using Shoutcast in my XP, and bought a new computer with Vista. I installed everything, but when I try to edit the Shoutcast DNAS configuration, I can edit it, but not save it. It tells me that the path is incorrect. The path that it says is incorrect, is where the actual file is. I have installed and uninstalled many times. Please help me. Thanks....Steve
Steve3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 15:27   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Make sure you are logged into as administrator. Have to give yourself write access to the folder, since Vista doesn't like anything writing in the Program Files directory.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 17:55   #3
Steve3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
I was using the administrator account on my computer. I am just totally confused!
Steve3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 20:07   #4
cfinn06
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Here's Your Answer!!!

I have Vista, and I had the same problem, all you have to do is go to C:\Program Files\ and right click on the folder labled Shoutcast and click properties. Once the properties dialog box opens, uncheck the Read Only attribute and cick OK. Next click the Radio Button Labled "Apply Changes to this folder, subfolders and files. and you should be all set. PM me if that doesnt work k

Better Than U ~ Upick Radio
cfinn06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 23:24   #5
cfinn06
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
correction,
dont right click the shoutcast folder, open it and right click the file sc_serv.ini and click properties. then uncheck the Read Only attribute and cick OK. Next click the Radio Button Labled "Apply Changes to this folder, subfolders and files. sorry for the Inconvenience
cfinn06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2007, 22:51   #6
Steve3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
I did do that. The read was unchecked on that file. So, what I did, was copy the file I had on my XP desktop to the Vista laptop. I was able to transfer the info. Now, I can see it outputing the info, but it is not broadcasting. It is so frustrating. Thanks for all your help.
Steve3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2007, 13:26   #7
cfinn06
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
I dont understand its not broadcasting. please post your server log plz, thanks it seems vista isnt very compatable with alot of things so dont get frustated cause its not ur falt
cfinn06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2007, 16:42   #8
Steve3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Ok....It is all set...it shows that the output is working...but it isn't. In the status window, it says error...yp.shoutcast.com gave error (NAK) and also this
yp.shoutcast.com gave extended error Please give your station a name (in the dsp plug in YP tab). Ok...I don't know where this tab is. Please help....Thanks....Steve
Steve3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2007, 16:50   #9
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
output > yellowpages button on the dsp

Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2007, 21:02   #10
Steve3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Thank you so much. I found it and made the entries. Also...for those using vista and can't edit the config.....I found out that right click on edit config, and click on run as administrator, and you can edit that page. It has been a learning experience. Thank you everyone for your time and help.
Steve3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2007, 18:37   #11
im_dj_vampy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to im_dj_vampy
Steve just wanted to say thanks for the info on editing the sc_serv file in Vista. i tried everything i could think of to make that file work for me and with me to change..but i did as you said and ran as admin thru the start menu.. works like a charm.. thanks again Steve.. good work.
im_dj_vampy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump