Old 29th June 2004, 01:29   #1
Mazanzy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 10
"[Connection] Timed Out" for live stream

I only use Winamp to listen to a certain college radio station's live feed, so all I have to do is click the Winamp icon and click "Play," and get the message, "[Connecting] Source1."

Lately, though, it's been timing out. It's happened a few times before (like when the station's website is down), but there are currently no problems with the site or its live audio stream. I haven't been playing around with Winamp's controls - I don't know how to!

Is this something to be worried about, or should I assume it's an issue of the radio station's?

Thanks, and my apologies if this question is listed in the "Greatest Hits."
Mazanzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2004, 02:08   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Try one or more of the following...
  • Clear the Internet cache
    MS Internet Explorer > Tools > Internet Options... > General tab > click the 'Delete Files' button under "Temporary Internet Files"
    -or-
    Control Panel > Internet Options icon > General tab > click the 'Delete Files' button under "Temporary Internet Files"
  • Make sure Winamp's 'Internet Connection Settings' correctly reflects your Internet connection
    Ctrl+P > General Preferences
  • Are you on a firewall? Make sure it is configured to allow Winamp full access. The same may apply for a privacy/content protector.

Also URLs for internet radio stations can change from time to time. If you are connecting from playlist(s) or bookmarks, try going to the Internet Radio section of the ML, SHOUTcast or the stations' web page to connect and update the url.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump