Old 2nd August 2014, 20:53   #1
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
URL + DSP + Advert:

I was approved for the SHOUTcast Free Streaming Service but have not been able to connect. I emailed support@SHOUTcast.com but haven't recieved a response yet so I thought maybe someone might have some insight.

According to the Welcome Email the Server URL is master.shouitcat.com. I replaced "localhost" in the DSP with this URL, left the Port at 8000 (since the new Port is the same) and replaced the the password with my RMO password. The DSP changed from Not Connected to Connecting then after a second back to Not Connected. Later I noticed in the RMO that the Live URL is listed as master1.streamonomy.com instead. So I then tried this URL but the same result. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Also the Welcome Email indicates that all SHOUTcast v2 encoders are supported. However, I broadcast with "OtsAV DJ" software which is only fully compatible with DSP 1.9.0. Although streaming is possible with DSP 2.0.0 the "Title Updates" don't work (none of the later DSPs work at all). What is the disadvantage of using DSP 1.9.0 or will it not work at all? I did test DSP 2.0.0 as well but still couldn't connect. If I must use DSP 2.0.0 I currently send the Artist and Song Title metadata to the TuneIn Air API via the "Now Playing Tool for OtsAV". Is it possible for the SHOUTcast YP directory to use the metadata sent to TuneIn?

Further, can the file to trigger the 2 minute stopset be a Station ID less than 2 minutes long with the Advert: metadata in the Artist and Song Title fields? This file would then trigger the 2 minute stopset for those listeners in the ad countries while the remaining listeners would just move on to the next song. After the 2 minute stopset the listeners in the ad countries would then be rejoined at whatever point the current song was playing at. Alternatively could the trigger file be a song over 2 minutes long (with the Advert: metadata ) so that listeners in the ad countries would just hear ads for the first 2 minutes of the song and then be rejoined to the song after the stopset?

Thanks for any help.
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 00:33   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
I cannot answer most of your question as I don't know enough of the new setup and would hope that you'd get a response from the main support people about those points you've raised (when you sent it I don't know but most things don't get replies ovr the weekend).

however the version of the source dsp plug-in trying to be used was not designed to be run via a 3rd party program and there is also numerous bugs in that release which were fixed in later builds but those won't work with such 3rd party software (as the plug-in heavily relies on Winamp for the metadata via Winamp's api methods which I strongly doubt the software you're using even vaguely supports). so what you're trying to use isn't really all that compatible with what is required by the service.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 10:16   #3
ulysse31
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Here's my shoutcast V2 encoder working with the new streaming service of shoutcats.com… Maybe it can help !
In the SID you have to put your shoutcast ID and in username "encoder"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shoutcastv2.png
Views:	1690
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	51329  
ulysse31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 10:43   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the config settings are not going to be the issue. it's trying to use a Winamp plug-in (and what is now an old and buggy release) in something that does not support most of the API methods the plug-in needs to be able to do things - as "OtsAV DJ" pretty much only supports loading Winamp v2.x plug-ins so it's no wonder that what the Source DSP (even with the initial 2.0 release needed from the Winamp instance) does not work correctly.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 12:11   #5
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
Thanks for the responses. I emailed support last Tuesday. I'll email them again.

It looks like ulysse31 you're using the SpacialNet Encoder. DSP 1.9.0 doesn't have a "User ID" field and although it has a "Station ID" field it is grayed out. DSP 2.0.0 has a "User ID" field which is usually left blank but I entered "encoder" and tried to connect but no luck. DSP 2.0.0 only has a "Stream ID" field which is set to 1 since I only have the 1 stream but I did try replacing it with my SHOUTcast ID from the Welcome Email but still no luck.

Since you're also sending your stream to "master.shoutcast.com" at port 8000 the use of the SHOUTcast ID would make sense since how else would the system know which stream it was receiving but even the latest DSP doesn't have a "SHOUTcast ID" field.

I just saw your second response DrO before I posted this. Once I do get the config settings sorted if I'm still unable to connect then I'll have to contact Ots. Up till now I've always been able to stream with the old DSP. Ots is aware of the compatibility issue but doesn't appear to be in a rush fix it.
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 12:35   #6
aron9forever
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 47
try edcast standalone, it allows good sound mapping unlike winamp so you can use it with any piece of software as long as you have a good audio card, or you set up virtual cables
aron9forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 17:19   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
edcast isn't v2 protocol compatible from what i remember - which is the crux of things as we require the v2 protocol to be used when connecting to the service (with things like the v2.x Source DSP and some other software supports - the screenshot is from SAM i believe).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2014, 22:32   #8
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
I re-emailed support@shoutcast.com. I've since realized that when I applied for the service I filled out the "SHOUTcast Streaming URL" line on the form with the URL of one of my relay servers and not the main server from which I am trying to send the stream. Maybe this is the problem. This cannot be changed in the Radio Manager so I emailed them the main server URL and asked them to update the info. Hopefully I'll hear back soon.
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2014, 21:34   #9
renaudsn
Radionomy Team
 
renaudsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Hi,

The servers are only compatible with Shoutcast v2 broadcasting software.
You should use a current build of the DSP to ensure maximum compatibility and reliability.
Numerous broadcasting software, like the ones from Spacial Audio, provide a good enough Shoutcast v2 implementation so that it can be used to connect to the platform.

Kind regards,

Renaud

Radionomy - IT
renaudsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2014, 18:33   #10
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
Hi DrO. I've sorted out the configuration issues with the help of Renaud from Radionomy. I'm using the latest DSP v2.3.4 and have now entered the “SHOUTcast ID” issued by Radionomy in the "Stream ID" box and selected "Connect using: v2.x mode". However, I am still unable to connect to the Radionomy SHOUTcast server. Renaud tried connecting at his end and was successful. It appears to be a cipher issue which I thought was related to v1 DNA servers. Any thoughts? Here is a copy of the log (I've x’d out the Stream ID):

2014-08-11 13:44:48 Metadata: Artist=; Album=; Genre=; Year=; Comment=; Title=Harry Connick, Jr. - (It Must've Been Ol') Santa Claus (The Cutting Edge of Christmas);
2014-08-11 13:44:48 Playing Artwork: Cleared;
2014-08-11 13:44:48 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:48 Cipher Response Received
2014-08-11 13:44:48 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:44:49 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:50 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:44:50 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:44:51 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:51 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:44:51 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:44:52 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:52 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-11 13:44:52 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:44:52 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:44:53 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:53 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-11 13:44:54 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:44:54 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:44:55 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:55 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-11 13:44:55 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:44:55 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:44:56 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:56 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-11 13:44:56 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:44:56 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:44:57 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:57 Cipher Response Received
2014-08-11 13:44:58 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:44:58 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:44:59 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:44:59 Cipher Response Received
2014-08-11 13:44:59 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:44:59 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:45:00 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:45:00 Cipher Response Received
2014-08-11 13:45:00 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:45:00 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:45:01 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:45:01 Cipher Response Received
2014-08-11 13:45:01 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:45:02 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:45:02 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:45:03 Cipher Response Received
2014-08-11 13:45:03 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:45:04 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:45:04 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:45:04 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:45:05 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:45:05 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-11 13:45:05 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:45:05 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:45:06 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: xxxxxx; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-11 13:45:06 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-11 13:45:07 Disconnecting
2014-08-11 13:45:07 Reconnecting [1]
2014-08-11 13:45:07 Not Connected
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2014, 10:01   #11
renaudsn
Radionomy Team
 
renaudsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Hello,

This does look to me as a problem between you and the platform.
Can you check that with a simple telnet, nmap or netcat command that you are able to use the 8000 port as an outgoing port on your connection ?


Kind regards,

Renaud

Radionomy - IT
renaudsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2014, 11:24   #12
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
Port 8000 is open for outbound connections.


Outgoing port tester

This server listens on all TCP ports, allowing you to test any outbound TCP port.

You have reached this page on port 8000.

Your network allows you to use this port. (Assuming that your network is not doing advanced traffic filtering.)

Network service: unknown
Your outgoing IP: 158.222.xxx.xxx
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2014, 11:41   #13
renaudsn
Radionomy Team
 
renaudsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Are you even able to ping the server ?

Kind regards,

Renaud

Radionomy - IT
renaudsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2014, 14:40   #14
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
Yes, I'm able to ping the server.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ping Test.png
Views:	821
Size:	78.3 KB
ID:	51344  
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2014, 14:55   #15
renaudsn
Radionomy Team
 
renaudsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
I've checked your IP against our logs and there's definitely something weird.
We have to analyse this with DrO.


Kind regards,

Renaud

Radionomy - IT
renaudsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2014, 13:26   #16
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
I tried sending the stream from a different computer with a different IP using a different ISP and experienced the same "Cipher" errors. This rules out the possible issues on my end. Perhaps there is an issue with the DNAS server configuration?
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2014, 20:55   #17
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
with Winamp closed, can you open %appdata%\Winamp\Plugins in Windows Explorer and then rename dsp_sc.ini to something else e.g. -dsp.sc.ini

then start Winamp and re-setup things within the Source DSP as required and try again. as the DNAS is seeing the connection from you but based on the error the plug-in is logging, i suspect that there's something not right with the dsp_sc.ini you're currently working with (hence the renaming of it rather than deleting it so i can check it later if what i've suggested does work).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2014, 21:17   #18
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
Renamed dsp_sc.ini and re-setup DSP plugin but same issue remains.
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2014, 21:32   #19
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
ok, that was not what i was hoping for. can you please provide an info tool report please (http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins). also can you try explicitly setting the plug-in to use the v2 protocol instead of 'automatic' and vice-versa as needed.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 00:08   #20
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
I ran the Winamp Info Tool and have attached the .zip file with the extended report.

Winamp is running on an administrator account.

I have tried connecting in both v2.x and automatic modes without success.

I had previously mentioned to Renaud on the Radionomy board that when attempting to connect in v2.x mode without "Automatic reconnection on connection failure" checked I receive the error message "Unable To Connect To The Server. Enable 'Automatic' or 'v1.x' mode."

When attempting to connect in Automatic mode I initially receive the message "Automatically Switching SHOUTcast Protocol Mode From v2.x to v1.x". Subsequently I receive the message "Authentication Error: Invalid DJ / User ID or Password".

As posted above I tried sending a stream from a different computer with a different IP using a different ISP and had the same result. Perhaps this is a DNAS server configuration issue?
Attached Files
File Type: zip Winamp_Info_Report_08-18-2014.zip (7.7 KB, 351 views)
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 11:13   #21
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
well we need to work out what the cause of the issue is so we're going to have to look at things from both sides (as i'm not sure which side is at fault for the issue). though as others are using the Source DSP to the same DNAS setup (including Renaud), there has to be something specific about your setup / connection to the DNAS which is causing an issue.

as you mention it also happens with a different ISP connection, i'd also have to start wondering if some sort of A/V or firewall on the machine being used is causing an issue. as we've definitely got a record of the connection being made from the Source DSP to the DNAS


so the main thing from the info tool report is that you've not applied the required plug-in updates (link is in my signature). there are also a number of unofficial dlls in the root of your Winamp folder which i guess are from some 3rd party plug-ins you've previously had installed but i don't see those being directly used (definitely not by anything official in the install).

[edit]
we're going to try an update of the DNAS to something newer than the last public build to see if that helps with the issue. will update when it's been deployed for testing against.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 14:43   #22
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
as per my edit above, a newer DNAS version has been deployed so over to you to try again.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 15:50   #23
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
Thanks DrO. I applied the plug-in updates and disabled the firewall and anti-virus software but still receive the same error messages.
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 16:10   #24
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
rightio, is what we were expecting (but not wanting to hear).

if you can leave it trying to re-connect to the DNAS then we'll see what can be found from the debug output from the DNAS.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 17:29   #25
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
Ok. I've left it running. The reconnection timeout is currently set to 1 seconds. If you'd like me to change this let me know.
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2014, 00:27   #26
masg1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 27
I've changed the reconnection timeout back to the default of 30 seconds since it will be running for hours overnight.
masg1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2014, 11:46   #27
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
quick update, we've had a look at the DNAS logs and also based on what i'm now able to replicate (be that a good or bad thing depending on how you look at things), it's still not clear what the cause of the issue is (though it might be the Source DSP but don't hold me to that).

so i'll need to do a bit of debugging to work out what is going on and will advise further when i've had a proper look into things.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 08:43   #28
engineer101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
SHOUTcast Streaming Service: Server Not Responding!

Hi DrO,

Our station got approved for the SHOUTcast Free Streaming Service but we were unable to connect to the server. We have followed all the steps shown on the Welcome Email with no results. Here's the dsp_sc_3.log:

2014-08-29 02:57:08 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: 1; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-29 02:57:08 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-29 02:57:08 Disconnecting
2014-08-29 02:57:08 Unable To Connect To The Server. Enable 'Automatic' or 'v1.x' mode.
2014-08-29 02:57:08 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: 1; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-29 02:57:09 Cipher Response Received
2014-08-29 02:57:09 Disconnecting
2014-08-29 02:57:09 Unable To Connect To The Server. Enable 'Automatic' or 'v1.x' mode.
2014-08-29 02:57:09 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: 1; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-29 02:57:10 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-29 02:57:10 Disconnecting
2014-08-29 02:57:10 Unable To Connect To The Server. Enable 'Automatic' or 'v1.x' mode.
2014-08-29 02:57:10 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: 1; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-29 02:57:11 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-29 02:57:11 Disconnecting
2014-08-29 02:57:11 Unable To Connect To The Server. Enable 'Automatic' or 'v1.x' mode.
2014-08-29 02:57:11 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: 1; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-29 02:57:12 Disconnecting
2014-08-29 02:57:12 Unable To Connect To The Server. Enable 'Automatic' or 'v1.x' mode.
2014-08-29 02:57:13 Connecting to... Server: master.shoutcast.com; Port: 8000; Mode: v2; Stream ID: 1; DJ / User ID: n/a
2014-08-29 02:57:13 Sending Cipher Request
2014-08-29 02:57:14 Disconnecting
2014-08-29 02:57:14 Unable To Connect To The Server. Enable 'Automatic' or 'v1.x' mode.

Also I'm attaching some pictures for you review. I hope you are able to help us.

Best regards,

Manny
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ping.JPG
Views:	683
Size:	170.7 KB
ID:	51360   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM.JPG
Views:	771
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	51361   Click image for larger version

Name:	Source.JPG
Views:	917
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	51362  
engineer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 09:14   #29
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
I've merged your thread into the existing one as its the same issue and pretty much appears to be the Source DSP confirmed as being at fault (I don't have an ETA on a resolution as I'm still working through (as time allows with other work that is being done) the Source DSP's code to try to determine the cause).

additionally even though the posted error log appears to match the now known issue, you've not entered the correct streamid into either of the sources you've shown (as both show sid=1 which is not valid as per the details you would have been sent).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 10:31   #30
engineer101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Exactly! You're a Genius DrO! I just replaced the stream ID with the SHOUTcast ID that was provided ln the welcome email and VOILA! it works now ONLY with SAM Broadcaster.
Unfortunately, it does NOT work with the latest version of the source SHOUTcast DSP Plug-in 2.3.4 for Winamp (31st July 2014).

I have noted also that the streaming cuts off and is not smooth as normal @ 128kbps. The audio quality is not that good either.

Also the Advert: file is not triggering the commercials?
engineer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 10:37   #31
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by engineer101 View Post
Unfortunately, it does NOT work with the latest version of the source SHOUTcast DSP Plug-in 2.3.4 for Winamp (31st July 2014).
as already noted, it won't until we determine what is causing the Source DSP to drop the connection incorrectly (and it affects earlier versions of the Source DSP).

Quote:
Originally Posted by engineer101 View Post
I have noted also that the streaming cuts off and is not smooth as normal @ 128kbps. The audio quality is not that good either.

Also the Advert: file is not triggering the commercials?
hopefully those issues should be resolved as part of some further software updates coming over the next month. though i'm not aware of audio being re-processed from what is received and that might be more down to what the source is providing than anything on our side. how are you playing the stream to make that observation ?
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 15:57   #32
engineer101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Audio from same source (SAM) is sent to two SC servers:

1. Stream A: Centova Cast V2 SHOUTcast server and
2. Stream B: SHOUTcast Free Streaming Service server

When you compare streams A and B side by side, Stream A sounds cleaner with less artifacts, noise, choppiness and interruptions than Stream B both streaming @ 128kbps when listening using Windows Media Player.

Audio coming from Stream B improves a lot when listening using Winamp player.

Finally, radionomy stats page doesn't work.

I hope this helps. Thank you for all the time and effort you put into this wonderful project.
engineer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 16:07   #33
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's hard to compare A and B with what you're saying as they're not currently comparable systems (with how they are currently implemented).

though the audio improvement when playing in Winamp vs WMP is somewhat concerning as there should be nothing like that happening irrespective of what is going on with the stream.

i suspect the stats issue is due to things still being sorted out. if it's still not ok for on monday morning post back and will try to get someone to look into it.

i'm just a small cog in the bigger picture
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 21:01   #34
engineer101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Hi DrO,

I was able to fix the Stream B audio issue when playing in WMP just by setting Protocols for MMS URLs to include the HTTP protocol. However, neither Stream A or B are able to send Artist & Song Metadata when playing them using WMP, Tune-in, VLC, iTunes or any other Android/iOs App except for the desktop version of Winamp.

After troubleshooting, configuring and then restarting our Centova Cast V2 Servers as we normally do in these cases. Unfortunately, it didn't help and our listeners are starting to complain about not receiving the art covers and song metadata as they normally do.

I don't know what changed but this problem didn't happen before two days ago. Hope you can help us :/
engineer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 21:17   #35
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
see http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=373139#known and point #3 until a new DNAS is released later this month (that's the only thing i can assume is causing the title issue for you now).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 21:40   #36
engineer101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
I see but I can assure you that this problem didn't happen before (two days ago) ...it was perfect!

How can I temporarily set disableicy to 0 in Centova Cast V2?

Also when trying to Update Authhash I get this message:

Error Code: 462.
Parameter error.
[Invalid parameter k]

On the other hand, we have the Advert: runing for the past two days but it doesn't seen to do anything.

Thank you
engineer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 21:53   #37
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i don't know what the Centova setup has or hasn't done and i wasn't even aware of v2 working with the v2.x DNAS and it required v3 of Centova to work correctly with the v2.x DNAS.

the fix just has to be added to the config file used by the DNAS and the DNAS restarted (assuming the version of Centova you're using doesn't wipe custom edits of the file). you'll need to consult any Centova documentation on how to do that (the most i've done has been with Centova 3.x setup and i've no idea how much things have changed between the two versions).

the 462 error is mentioned in the part of the thread i linked to. if you really need to change the values associated with it (as the issue does not prevent listing unless bad data has gotten through), then you'll need to pm me the authhash(s) and the details you want changed.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 22:21   #38
engineer101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Yeah, When trying to fix the metadata problem myself, one of the things I did was to delete, remove and clear all the authhash(s) and Create new ones. The problem with that was that now the website URL was changed to shoutcast.com instead of our website URL.

I wonder which option would be better for SC2 streaming:

1. VPS hosting with DNAS server installed or
2. CentovaCast hosting as currently used

Finally, any ideas of what is the issue with the Advertisements thingy?

TIA
engineer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 22:36   #39
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the default website is one of the server side fixes in place to ensure the listing works before a new DNAS is provided which resolves the issue. if you pm me the authhash i can change them for you to the correct value instead of the default value (that is all too often set as no one seems to care much about their listing details *grumbles*).

i'd just run the DNAS directly but that's me and i've no idea what is the better option for your actual needs (so i'm not going to give a final answer on that matter).

as for the advert thing, it's probably waiting on the DNAS update we're trying to finish off to get it working correctly (new code and new issues and all that fun stuff).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 22:55   #40
engineer101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
"...and all that fun stuff)" LOL... DrO, you're amazing! Thank U ;D
engineer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast For Business & Monetization

Tags
streaming service

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump