Old 23rd September 2016, 15:17   #1
mjong99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Winamp not appearing on desktop screen

Currently using Windows 10. Winamp version is 5.666 and Build 3516.

So far I've never had problems until yesterday. Now whenever I launch Winamp, it doesn't appear on my desktop screen, but shows up in the taskbar. Right clicking Winamp in the taskbar only shows Recent songs, Winamp, Pin to taskbar, and Close. I can still play songs when I select a song from "Recent" after right clicking Winamp in the taskbar.

I've tried reinstalling but it does not fix the problem.
mjong99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2016, 16:41   #2
ariszlo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 319
Removing the following file may help:
C:\Users\mjong99\AppData\Roaming\Winamp\studio.xnf

Replace mjong99 with your Windows account name.
ariszlo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2016, 17:17   #3
mjong99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Thank you so much ariszlo. Problem solved!
mjong99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2016, 16:45   #4
atimmons
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
I have the same problem, but removing the .xnf file didn't do anything. I have a dual VGA switch that allows me to turn off my 15" Acer, but Winamp was on that screen when I turned it off. Any other program i've had this happen with just shows up on my internal 13" ASUS laptop screen. But not with Winamp. I like to play Winamp through my HDMI cable to my 52" Westinghouse smart TV. Any ideas on how to get it back?
atimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2016, 06:45   #5
Dwainem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Ditto what atimmons said.

I'm running Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Anniversary edition. I've used Winamp for years. It's worked on this system for years. The issue of only appearing in the taskbar happened recently. Maybe a Windows update issue?

I've removed the studio.xnf file, and that did not help.

I've uninstalled and reinstalled Winamp using this file: winamp5666_full_en-us.exe and that did not help.

Help?
Dwainem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2016, 06:51   #6
Dwainem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Update. First time I uninstalled, I didn't uninstall the user prefs. I did another uninstall and checked both boxes.

After reinstalling and launching, I also selected the current UI instead of the Bento UI.

Now I have the UI available again. I don't know which of the 2 changes fixed it, but I suspect uninstalling the user prefs.
Dwainem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump