Old 15th August 2001, 23:25   #1
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
Winique Skin

I started this new thread because the other thread's subject wasn't all to helpful on the topic and the skin isn't that new anymore. My site was just updated (link in sig) with a new version of the skin and new screenshots. Hope you guys enjoy, but remember that the skin is still a work in progress. Ideas and words of encouragement are greatly accepted.

Enjoy!
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2001, 23:57   #2
RhinoTrip
Major Dude
 
RhinoTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA Skins: 9
Posts: 897
Congrats on the big "1000" btw - RT

RhinoTrip
Working for the man.
RhinoTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 00:02   #3
Jstalilwyrd
Major Dude
 
Jstalilwyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 948
Send a message via AIM to Jstalilwyrd Send a message via Yahoo to Jstalilwyrd
I'm digging the skin, lunarboy! Hope that upper/lower case letters will be applied later on to WA3 so it'll look pretty close to the real deal. Keep up the good work! (And congrats too on 1K!)
Jstalilwyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 00:08   #4
pixelpusher
Major Dude
 
pixelpusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Left of darkness, Right of light
Posts: 860
Nice site update.
I'm D/Ling your skin now!!!

Good work. I'll get back to you on the skin massage.

Pixelpusher..
pixelpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 01:31   #5
QHOBBES
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: I H8 Mods
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to QHOBBES Send a message via Yahoo to QHOBBES
It's nice to see that despite updates to WA3 people are updating their (i before e except after h) skins. Can we expect to see anything RT? Tip: Make the homepage of the browser the homepage of the skin (if it has one).
QHOBBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 02:26   #6
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
Thanks for the congrats on the big 1k. I feel all special inside. Thanks for your words of encouragement

I think I will finish up my basic script compiler tut before I do some work on the skin. I think I will work on the Winshade mode next and then the nav mode. I'm waiting to do the nav mode because I want to see if I will be able to put the options menu's and stuff inside the skin just like sonique did cuz - after all - this skin is a straight port.

Any suggestions on what I should put in the WaFuncs window??? I think the PL button is pointless because I have the thinger integrated into the WaFuncs window. I can't even tell if the crossfade button even works because winamp crossfades no matter what which is a big for debugging purposes.

Thanks for the support guys! By the way... the AVS preset: "lone - living powerball" looks great in Winique
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 02:32   #7
Ice
Moderator Alumni
Americas Favorite Smut Peddler
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sun Prarie, WI
Posts: 3,303
Quote:
Originally posted by LyleWilson
It's nice to see that despite updates to WA3 people are updating their (i before e except after h) skins. Can we expect to see anything RT? Tip: Make the homepage of the browser the homepage of the skin (if it has one).
you can set the browser's url in a script the most basic way to do it:

code:

Browser browse;
browse.gotoUrl("http://www.ice.kewlio.net");



you could make that happen when winamp opens, or whenever. somehow i think maybe scripts will be more annoying than they're worth. every 14 year old kid trying to be l33t by making an annoying peice of shit.

I'd like to meet a mad man who makes it all seem sane
To work out all these troubles and what there is to gain
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 02:46   #8
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
How about going to that url only when they open the browser. Hey... I could put a "Check for updates" button in the WAFuncs window!! ::Lightbulb goes on in head:: Is it a good/bad idea?
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 02:57   #9
Lamar Snowboarder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 36
Man your skin looks pretty sweet but theres only 1 problem
Every time i goto load it on Winamp it jus crashes hopefully you can help
Lamar Snowboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 05:12   #10
bluekeydesign
Senior Member
 
bluekeydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 407
Send a message via ICQ to bluekeydesign
ya im having the same problem, might have something to do with the bad crc error i got in winzip when unzipping the file.
Jon

Why Llamas? Why not Aardvarks??
bluekeydesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 05:38   #11
jarsonic
Major Dude
 
jarsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,114
Send a message via AIM to jarsonic
yeah. me, too.

I keep getting an error in common.dll, and it crashes studio...

hope that helps or something.

-- Jarsonic

do justly | love mercy | walk humbly
jarsonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 05:53   #12
QHOBBES
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: I H8 Mods
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to QHOBBES Send a message via Yahoo to QHOBBES
Ice, I already knew about this, but the xml looks like the following
code:
<browser id="browser" x="5" y="15" w="-10" relatw="1"
h="-36" relath="1" url="C:\Program Files\Winamp3\winamp3mb.htm"
mainmb="1" />

All you do is edit minibrowser-normal.xml file. The above is just the code from my default skin so I can play WildTangent games in the WA3 MB as well as watch the dancers. By the way im a 15 year old kid trying to be l33t by making an annoying peice of shit (i.e. my stupid default skin that allows you to play WildTangent games and watch the dancers). The Winique skin worked once for me but it was all broken up, then it crashed.
QHOBBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 10:07   #13
Riksruin
Major Dude
 
Riksruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Glos, England, UK
Posts: 1,436
Send a message via ICQ to Riksruin Send a message via AIM to Riksruin Send a message via Yahoo to Riksruin
i dont really think that u need a PL button in the WAFuncs container. because its right there in the thinger.

and about ur problem with the components crashing winamp. mine does that now and again all that u need to do is open and close them in the thinger. i think if u open one component and shut it by clicking the thinger and then clicking it in the thinger again. it should work normally.
Riksruin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 16:58   #14
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
Aren't it the regions ? *just kiddin*
It looks great (on the shot, i can't download it, long story)
Why not make these functions in the skin? or a slide out?
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2001, 00:01   #15
scratch
Senior Member
 
scratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 190
I was able to extract all the files out of the corrupt zip except one, which I was able to get from the old version. So I'm running .29 of the skin now. Should I upload it somewhere or will you fix it yourself, Lunarboy? Also, it's not the greatest, but I added a W to the title that I don't think looks too bad... The updated file is attached.
Attached Images
File Type: png player-placeholder.png (62.6 KB, 432 views)
scratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2001, 00:02   #16
scratch
Senior Member
 
scratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 190
Also, I'm getting a guru on startup, but after that it runs fine. I'm getting this with a lot of the skins though...
scratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2001, 20:32   #17
QHOBBES
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: I H8 Mods
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to QHOBBES Send a message via Yahoo to QHOBBES
scratch, will you upload your version of the skin or tell us what file you have to replace to get it to run?
QHOBBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2001, 23:42   #18
scratch
Senior Member
 
scratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 190
The zip is corrupt, but if your extraction program has error correction it should be able to get every file except player-buttons-new.png. Extract this from .21, put in the right place, zip it up again, and rename to wal. I'd post the wal, except I'm not sure if Lunarboy would approve.
scratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2001, 02:37   #19
Ice
Moderator Alumni
Americas Favorite Smut Peddler
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sun Prarie, WI
Posts: 3,303
Quote:
Originally posted by LyleWilson
Ice, I already knew about this, but the xml looks like the following
code:
<browser id="browser" x="5" y="15" w="-10" relatw="1"
h="-36" relath="1" url="C:\Program Files\Winamp3\winamp3mb.htm"
mainmb="1" />

All you do is edit minibrowser-normal.xml file. The above is just the code from my default skin so I can play WildTangent games in the WA3 MB as well as watch the dancers. By the way im a 15 year old kid trying to be l33t by making an annoying peice of shit (i.e. my stupid default skin that allows you to play WildTangent games and watch the dancers). The Winique skin worked once for me but it was all broken up, then it crashed.
code:

System.onScriptLoaded() {
Browser br;
br = getContainer("mb").getLayout("normal").getObject("browser");
br.gotoUrl("http://goatse.cx");
}

System.onTitleChange() {
br.gotoUrl("http://goatse.cx");
}



by the way, i'm 14. and own the world.

I'd like to meet a mad man who makes it all seem sane
To work out all these troubles and what there is to gain
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2001, 05:25   #20
QHOBBES
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: I H8 Mods
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to QHOBBES Send a message via Yahoo to QHOBBES
Alright if anyone wants a working version of Winique .029 goto
http://www.angelfire.com/az/qhobbes/files/ and click on
winiquev029.zip. Special thanx to scratch for providing the new
player window and the how to. As for Ice, my way is easier, plus
Fancis (sorry if I spelled your name wrong) gave me those
instructions.
QHOBBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2001, 17:34   #21
QHOBBES
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: I H8 Mods
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to QHOBBES Send a message via Yahoo to QHOBBES
WTF is suppose to go in that black circle seen in the picture attached?
Scratch could you make a replacement window for the winshade
mode that includes the w? I also made "new" version of the skin, it
is in .wal format so it will appear in the skin switcher and includes
a new skinshot. If any of the mods and/or adims are reading this can
you set to where we can attach .wal files? For the DL just goto the
same link above and click on winiquev029.wal
Attached Images
File Type: jpg winique.jpg (15.5 KB, 383 views)

Last edited by QHOBBES; 18th August 2001 at 17:59.
QHOBBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2001, 20:40   #22
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
sorry lyle, i have no idea what you mean. care to explain?

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2001, 22:58   #23
scratch
Senior Member
 
scratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally posted by LyleWilson
WTF is suppose to go in that black circle seen in the picture attached?
Scratch could you make a replacement window for the winshade
mode that includes the w? I also made "new" version of the skin, it
is in .wal format so it will appear in the skin switcher and includes
a new skinshot. If any of the mods and/or adims are reading this can
you set to where we can attach .wal files? For the DL just goto the
same link above and click on winiquev029.wal
It's been a while since I used Sonique, but I believe the knob that goes in the black space is for seeking. I'll look into making a new version of the winshade mode graphic.
scratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2001, 00:48   #24
QHOBBES
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: I H8 Mods
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to QHOBBES Send a message via Yahoo to QHOBBES
CraigF the valid file extensions for attaching are .gif .jpg .png
.txt .bmp & .jpeg Since you are a mod can you add .wal (the format
for WA3 skins)? Is that possible or is that up to the vBulletin
people?

Sorry lunarboy1 for taking over your skin, it was broken so we tried
and succeeded in fixing it. Now if only we can get rid off the red
and black box error message. I'll leave that one up to you lunarboy1.
QHOBBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2001, 10:57   #25
Martyr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to Martyr Send a message via AIM to Martyr Send a message via Yahoo to Martyr
i love the skin! this takes me wayyy back, it's been a long time since i used that software... sometimes i miss it, but it would always cut the ends off my music files. wait a minute..!
Martyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2001, 13:23   #26
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
ahh, okay lyle, im with you. i'll see what i can do.

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2001, 18:24   #27
Doggy Dog
Canis Sapiens
(Reviewer)
 
Doggy Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 1,832
Send a message via ICQ to Doggy Dog
Dammit, when I downloaded it, got a nice CRC error in Winzip, and it was in player.buttons or something I think, anyway, it didn't work, anyway, I'm downloading it again .
Doggy Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2001, 03:58   #28
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
sorry everybody about the bad zip file... I found that if you just dl the zip file and throw it in the skins folder without renaming anything it works. sorry bout not bein here. I've been on vacation.

Yes, there is a Guru whenever you load the skin but that is a studio issue and not mine. Read my site for info.

The crashing on closing components has been fixed. I don't know what the hell i did but it works in v0.29.

Sorry about being out for a while again.

The black circle is for the jog wheel but I havn't figured out how I want to do that yet. Hopefully I will find a way.

No new alphas

oh, it's a good idea, but .wal files are usually larger then 102k. Nice idea tho.

Toodles.
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2001, 21:59   #29
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
How come a skin would only work when it is unzipped? Why won't it work all zipped up? Is my winzip screwed up or what? I'm getting pissed. I has surgery on sat and I really don't need this now.
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2001, 22:02   #30
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by lunarboy1
Yes, there is a Guru whenever you load the skin but that is a studio issue and not mine. Read my site for info.
What does the message says ?

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2001, 22:55   #31
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
001C.FFFF007A.0 Null Object Called
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2001, 22:14   #32
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
^ for francis
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2001, 00:03   #33
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
Now works with Alpha L8r.. hopefully . Also got a nifty installer for it. Yay NSIS! Check out the site.
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2001, 00:45   #34
pixelpusher
Major Dude
 
pixelpusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Left of darkness, Right of light
Posts: 860
I just downloaded your skin, But I get an "Invalid crc error" when
I click on it.. Any help....

Should I re-D/L it.

The Pusher...
pixelpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2001, 22:45   #35
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
I have a new installer prog for the skin which should solve the problems. Apparently Microsoft's Compressed Folders zip utility built into the OS is better then WinZip Wow ... microsoft did something good !!!
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2001, 22:55   #36
Sharp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to Sharp Send a message via Yahoo to Sharp
Quote:
I just downloaded your skin, But I get an "Invalid crc error" when I click on it.. Any help....
Should I re-D/L it.
Same.. i downloaded it 4 or 5 times. Always got CRC error.

- Sharp
Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2001, 22:58   #37
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
wait.. are you doubleclicking on the skin itself... unzipping it... or trying to use it through winamp?
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2001, 23:00   #38
Sharp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to Sharp Send a message via Yahoo to Sharp
The .x (.exe) didnt autoextract (crc fail from NSIS)

- Sharp
Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2001, 23:15   #39
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
fuck. How come it works for me?????

What is a good zipping program that works besides WinRAR, WinZip, and Microsoft Compressed Folders?
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2001, 00:46   #40
bass4ms
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 268
How do you rip apart a nsis file? like you do when winzip fails and you want to install it manually
bass4ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump