Old 25th May 2016, 19:23   #1
robertroos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Setting up DNAS with multiple bitrates

Hi,

Does anybody know how to setup Shoutcast DNAS to serve multiple streams at different bitrates. I'm struggling to set it up properly. I'm only able to setup 1 port with the portbase setting. But I think that I require an extra port for each bitrate stream? Am I right?

In summary my settings are:

portbase=2199
streamid_1=1
streampath_1=tunein128
streamauthhash_1=xxxx
maxuser_1=100000
streamid_2=2
streampath_2=tunein320
streamauthhash_2=xxxx
maxuser_2=100000

It runs on a Debian Linux system and the script executes well and DNAS shows two streams in the control panel. But I'm not able to mount two sources to DNAS. If I do that I get an error message:

2016-05-25 18:09:25 ERROR [SRC x.x.x.x:59343 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 source rejected. A source is already connected.
robertroos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2016, 23:41   #2
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,526
check the admin page, source connection details /admin.cgi?mode=sources -- you're probably using a v1 source -- the password for the stream #2 should be in the info page as legacy password - usually password:#2

the host and port you give the source is the same, the password determines which streampath the source will be connected to.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2016, 19:08   #3
robertroos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
I think that the problem has been solved .. I've used the secondary password with the #2 within my broadcasting application.. And now it seems to mount both streams.. thanks!

B.t.w. do you know which stream is primary for clients since I'm using just a single port and FQDN/IP address? Is the stream with the #2 password secondary? E.g. are all clients connecting by default to the stream without the #2 password? Or is there a way to manipulate the preferred default stream?
robertroos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2016, 00:12   #4
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,526
the default v1 style stream would use / as the streampath. and i think that will always be assigned to stream #1 -- you directly access any stream via its streampath url.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2016, 13:23   #5
robertroos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
I've created two streampaths

streamid_1=1
streampath_1=tunein
streamauthhash_1=xxxx
maxuser_1=100000
streamid_2=2
streampath_2=tunein320
streamauthhash_2=xxxx
maxuser_2=100000

Do you suggest to use the following streampaths? In my case:
http://x.x.x.xort/tunein and http://x.x.x.xort/tunein320

The weird thing is that if I enter the URL http://x.x.x.xort/ I can add any streampath behind the URL it always shows a player? For instance if I use the URL http://x.x.x.xort/blablabla it also plays a stream. Is this by design the default stream then?
robertroos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump