Old 8th November 2003, 03:36   #1
Ryo94
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Winamp5 Visualization Studio

HI, I'm using Winamp3 and contrary to Winamp2 the visualizations run infinitely more faster in fullscrean (overlay mode 640x480x16bits). What makes this big difference between the Visualization Studios of Winamp2 and Wianamp3? and why Winamp5 seems to have the same VIS studio of Winamp2 if this was to much slowy than Winamp3's VIS studio? Why?
I'm running Winamp3 and Winamp5 in this pc:
Athlon 2400+
512 PC2700 ram
Ati AIW radeon 32MB
WinXP Pro SP1
Ryo94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 04:34   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,074
Firstly, Winamp (1.x, 2.x, 5.x) and Winamp3 are two different programs/products. However, AVS is practically the same in both players, though the latest version (v2.7pre8) is in Winamp 5.0

I'm moving this from wa3-dis to the AVS forum, where the experts there should be able to help you setup AVS to run as fast and smoothly as possible.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 05:05   #3
Nic01
Major Dude
 
Nic01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Biggest Little City
Posts: 508
Send a message via AIM to Nic01
FAQ, (3rd topic from the top), question #7.

[soon to leave, sirs]
Nic01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 05:19   #4
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
There are few differences between the different versions of AVS up until the newest releases with WA5. The version that came with WA3 was actually a good bit buggier. And it should also have run slower seeing as how WA3 uses up a good bit more system resources. I think the opposite effect must have happened because of some other reasons - background processes, etc.
anubis2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 08:07   #5
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
It's the 16 bits! AVS 2.51 for WA3 has 'fast software bpp conversion'. Try to run your graphics card at 32 bits, AVS is a lot faster that way.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 15:33   #6
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
and it looks better at 32bit

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 17:44   #7
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Actually I suspect it's the pixel doubling which is turned on by default in Winamp3. Which anyone with half an eye for detail would notice when comparing the 2 results.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 18:40   #8
Ryo94
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Quote:
Actually I suspect it's the pixel doubling which is turned on by default in Winamp3.
YES, you're right UnConeD, cheking the pixel doubling option in Winamp5's VIS run equal or even better than Winamp3's VIS.
THANKS A LOT!!!
Ryo94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump