Old 21st December 2008, 21:44   #1
Graham2008

Winamp does not play music

Can somebody help me? I am a Winamp Pro user with a problem: Winamp has stopped being able to play my playlists or albums, it just cycles through the tracks at high speed on the screen. I have a large collection of music/playlists, its taken a year to build it up and rip my CD’s. Now nothing plays at all. Tried upgrading to latest version, but this did not fix the problem. Have tried reading all the forums, FAQ etc and searching, but nothing seems to cover this.
Graham2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2008, 21:55   #2
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator

Have you moved you music files to another directory? If so, the pathes in your playlist files are no longer valid.

Also, is it possible, that you mistakenly checked Nullsoft Diskwriter in Plugins --> Output instead of DirectSound?
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2008, 12:58   #3
Graham2008

Hi Koopertrouper

Thanks for your reply. I have no idea what caused this, but certainly I have not changed the path or location of the music directory etc. I may have pressed something by accident - what exactly is Nullsoft Diskwriter in Plugins and how do I get to it?

I did not fully elaborate on this in my ititial post, but it started just with one Playlist which I had been listening to, then when I tried to listen to it again the next day this behavior commenced. I initially tried other Playlists and they were fine. In order to correct this original problem I deleted and re created the playlist. Then all was fine for a while then over night or between listening sessions the same problem is evident on every playlist. This is my big concern - I have about 38 Gb of music and it took months of downloading MP3s and ripping all my CD's to build this up. Then from this bse I have compiled mny other compilation Playlists.

Graham
Old 24th December 2008, 23:09   #4
J_Darnley
Forum King

Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley