Old 9th February 2006, 12:10   #1
RobGrant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 263
HM Edit GUI behaviour

I guys, I've not posted here for a few months. Quick question - is there any way to stop the utterly stupid behaviour of HM Soft's (otherwise excellent) editor regarding deleting a GUI element.

The problem is that when an element is deleted, the field number for every other element is then changed. This is clearly stupid, as then everything in the installer that references these other objects now breaks or misfires. Ridiculous!

Any ways round it? There are lots of items on this page, as it has tickboxes for whether software is detected, so precise interation regarding which software is present is crucial.

Thanks!

Rob
RobGrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2006, 14:03   #2
bhaelochon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 35
Send a message via ICQ to bhaelochon Send a message via AIM to bhaelochon Send a message via Yahoo to bhaelochon
I think it must renumber the fields, because InstallOptions iterates through them in a "1 to n" fashion, where n is equal to the NumFields key in the INI. I believe you'll find other InstallOptions page creators exhibit the same behavior.

"Never hold your farts in. They travel up your spine and into your brain, and that's where you get shitty ideas from." - Unknown
bhaelochon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2006, 14:50   #3
iceman_k
NSIS Dev
 
iceman_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston, MA, U.S.A.
Posts: 455
EclipseNSIS InstallOptions Editor has exactly the same behaviour. It must, otherwise AFAIK the IO Plugin will throw an error.

Cheers,
Iceman_K

EclipseNSIS - An NSIS IDE for the Eclipse Platform | My contributions to the wiki
iceman_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 07:41   #4
RobGrant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 263
Hmm, so you think it's a design problem? That is rather irritating, but I suppose if it's that deep then we can't fix it here. Thanks guys!

Rob
RobGrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 09:31   #5
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Maybe it'd be a good idea to have the editor generate a header file, like MSVC's resource.h, that will include defines that link identifiers to real names.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 09:43   #6
RobGrant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 263
That would be a much more elegant thing to do, yes. The UI editor is almost unusable for altering a screen (like the one I use) with multiple elements that the installer needs to refer to to update.
RobGrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 09:45   #7
iceman_k
NSIS Dev
 
iceman_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston, MA, U.S.A.
Posts: 455
One workaround for Rob is to not delete the element- instead convert it to a label (so it can't grab tab focus) and position it offscreen.

Cheers,
Iceman_K

EclipseNSIS - An NSIS IDE for the Eclipse Platform | My contributions to the wiki
iceman_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 09:53   #8
RobGrant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 263
hah...that sounds enough like a hack that I like it Good answer!
RobGrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump