Old 29th May 2012, 16:19   #1
WyomingPBS

Shoutcast DSP with microphone = no music

New WinAmp+Shoutcast DSP user here... I've been podcasting for several years on a Linux box, but after a crash this weekend I need to get up to speed on the WinAmp solution. I got everything working fine except the microphone part as described here:
http://www.streamsolutions.co.uk/fla...als/Decks_mic/

The problem: If I follow the directions to change input source to Sound Card so I can use the microphone, the music stops streaming until I change input source back to WinAmp.

I'm using an external USB sound interface with the mic and headset plugged into the interface.Laptop is a Compaq Presario with Windows 7 Ultimate. Don't know that it matters, but it's a Behringer podcast kit --- Xenyx 502 mixer, Behringer UCA200 audio interface, headphones, and microphone.

I don't know what version of Windows was used to make the above-linked tutorial, but the options I get don't resemble it in the least. Clicking the Mixer button takes me to the Sound setup in the control panel, where I have tabs Playback, Recording, Sounds, and Communications. The Recording tab shows the internal mic and my USB mic. If I click on the latter, I get another four-tab window with General, Listen, Levels, and Advanced. On the Listen tab I can check a box that says "Listen to this device", and there is a picklist of destination for playback device. Also radio buttons for continue / not continue using on battery power.

I have tried all the combinations of changing that checkbox and the playback choices, and nothing has any effect.

It's not completely stopping me -- but obviously having to stop the music, change input sources, click to talk, change input sources back again, and restart the music means a lot of dead air when I want to make announcements between songs. And I can no longer sign off over the closing theme song at the end of my show.