Old 16th September 2004, 00:44   #1
NoobSter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ca
Posts: 5
Best EQ for Heavy Metal?

What is the best EQ Setting for Heavy Metal?
NoobSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 00:50   #2
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,226
I think that it is better to experiment, and tweak the settings yourself, since everyone has differnet speaker and soundcard rigs.

I hate people with Alienware machines
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 00:53   #3
NoobSter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ca
Posts: 5
I guess i will have to adjust them my self =/ :*(

Aww, thats mean man.....

I have 3 Alienware Machines =)... 1 Custom... 2 Hp's... 1 Dell....

Mwa Hwa Hwa! LAN PARTY AT MY HOUSE! ( i play about all da' games... =) ) Mwa Hwa Hwa!
NoobSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 01:05   #4
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,562
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
i use the same EQ setting for all my music.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 01:10   #5
NoobSter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ca
Posts: 5
oOo.... i use Rock.. it sounds the best that i can see.... ( well you know what i mean! "Hear" )

If you adjust it to the type of songs you listen to... you will love the songs you listen to ALOT more!
NoobSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 01:11   #6
Myxomatosis
aka bRiAnFuRY
Fuck it dude...
let's go bowling.
(Major dud)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,160
Send a message via AIM to Myxomatosis
Quote:
Originally posted by Bilbo Baggins
I think that it is better to experiment, and tweak the settings yourself, since everyone has differnet speaker and soundcard rigs.

I hate people with Alienware machines
That was pretty random, but I personally can't stand the cases and the prices.

Alex Jones: Do you want the puppet on the right or the puppet on the left? What a bunch of garbage; liberal democrat, conservative, republican. It's all there to control you! Two sides of the same coin. Two management teams bidding for control, the CEO job of Slavery, Incorporated! The truth is out there in front of you, but they lay out this buffet of lies. I'm sick of it, and I'm not going to take a bite out of it, do you got me?
Myxomatosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 01:19   #7
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,226
I read his website
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 01:36   #8
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
The best EQ setting is none at all, assuming that these tracks were ripped by someone who had half a clue as to what they were doing. That's why I stopped downloading songs for the most part. Half of these people have no idea how to rip a cd.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 02:03   #9
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,562
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
my EQ preset is pretty close to nothing. all i did was put it all to zero and then lowered the mids a little(small bass boost). sounds pretty good too.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 02:05   #10
griffinn
Court Jester
(Forum King)
 
griffinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Your local toystore
Posts: 3,501
Send a message via ICQ to griffinn
The best way to enjoy heavy metal is by clicking the "Stop" button.

The smiley slot machine! | Quotable Blog
griffinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 02:18   #11
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,842
I ended up pulling my Preamp down a couple dBs because most audio CDs are manufactured with volume levels that damn near clip the highs off the music. I also lowered the bass ranges on my EQ a little, lowered the midrange levels quite a bit, and put the treble ranges up a little bit. My EQ sliders look like a valley, so to speak. I keep the bass and treble knobs on my stereo amplifier set to 0, too.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 02:23   #12
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
like a valley? I remember hearing somewhere that i should set my EQ pedal to my guitar like that.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 03:42   #13
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Missouri via Tennessee
Posts: 8,814
Send a message via AIM to ryan
Quote:
Originally posted by griffinn
The best way to enjoy heavy metal is by clicking the "Stop" button.

With the current state of the music scene these days, I'll agree with that.
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 04:46   #14
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
My avatar is a good heavy metal band



make that was

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 06:39   #15
xzxzzx
Forum King
 
xzxzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,254
Quote:
Originally posted by sgtfuzzbubble99
I ended up pulling my Preamp down a couple dBs because most audio CDs are manufactured with volume levels that damn near clip the highs off the music.
That shouldn't make a difference, though. If the music is compressed so much that it clips the highs off, they're clipped off - postprocessing after that won't fix it...

Freedom of speech is the basic freedom of humanity. When you've lost that, you've lost everything.
1\/\/4y 34|<$p4y 1gp4y 33714y, 0d4y 0uy4y? | Roses are #FF0000; Violets are #0000FF; chown -R ${YOU} ~/base
The DMCA. It really is that bad. : Count for your life.
xzxzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 07:15   #16
Cognition
Some Random Guy
(Major Dude)
 
Cognition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NZ
Posts: 1,245
Unless you had the preamp above the zero point, where it'd boost the signal and cause it to clip more (or start clipping, if it was already just below). But yeah, lowering it below 0 wouldn't help if the CD had already clipped (which is why analogue stuff was nice, cause it didn't clip in the same sudden way as digital)
Cognition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 07:20   #17
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by NoobSter
Mwa Hwa Hwa! LAN PARTY AT MY HOUSE! ( i play about all da' games... =) ) Mwa Hwa Hwa!
Damn. I wish I had more computers than friends

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 08:19   #18
Sir_Ed
Senior Member
 
Sir_Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hillywood, Holland.
Posts: 252
I'm using the Rock-preset myself. But the problem is a common one and mentioned before. Many different people, use many different ways to rip and so I could well turn out that for the one Rammstein track you'll need the rock preset, for the other Rammsetin track the dance-preset and for your newest Mozart download you're gonna wanna use the techno-preset. So far, though, I feel that the rock-preset is the best.


"My mother never saw the irony in calling me a son-of-a-bitch." - Jack Nicholson
Sir_Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 08:49   #19
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,842
Quote:
That shouldn't make a difference, though. If the music is compressed so much that it clips the highs off, they're clipped off - postprocessing after that won't fix it...
I compress my music to a very high quality, but I also set it to a max of 19.5khz high freq. It's not my encoding that causes the problem, it's the original recording. Most CDs that I have were recorded at a very high volume, but just below actually clipping. If I were to raise my preamp above 0 at all, my music would start clipping. I don't do any volume normalizations before I encode, either. I encode straight rips. So, to keep my music from clipping, I simply turn down the preamp a notch or two, then I set my grapic equalizer like I mentioned above. That way, there isn't any distortion or clipping.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 09:18   #20
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
I dont use the EQ at all for anything. I listen to a lot of rock MP3's but I prefer listening to CD's unripped trough my hi-fi. The best way to get a good rock sound is to use a decent amp with decent speakers. I bought my system because it should work well with rock music and it certainly does. Splashout a few hundred quid on a seperates system and then start enjoying music like you haven't done before.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 10:00   #21
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,220
Why EQ?

first rip cd's to mp3 only with LAME --alt-preset standard. CDex (see my sig) is a good program that is easy to config. Also use the latest stable lame (right now 3.96.1), never use alphas or betas!
http://rarewares.org/mp3.html

if you have decent speakers there is no need for eq at all. if you have near decent speakers like I do, use Enhancer.
nybergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 10:05   #22
Cognition
Some Random Guy
(Major Dude)
 
Cognition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NZ
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally posted by sgtfuzzbubble99
I compress my music to a very high quality, but I also set it to a max of 19.5khz high freq.
CD's have the frequency cut off above 20Khz anyway, because of the Nyquist theorem. Er, that's probably not worth explaining, but, yeah.
Cognition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 10:27   #23
lostonline
Where am I?
(Major Dude)
 
lostonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally posted by nybergh
if you have decent speakers there is no need for eq at all. if you have near decent speakers like I do, use Enhancer.
I'd mostly agree with this, I don't equalize at all on my hi-fi (although I do make some minor adjustments on my PC as I use cheap speakers with that most of the time).

Kids, you tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.
--
Homer Simpson
lostonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 10:46   #24
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Quote:
Originally posted by Cognition
CD's have the frequency cut off above 20Khz anyway, because of the Nyquist theorem. Er, that's probably not worth explaining, but, yeah.
But this is not the best you can get, it's the minimum you can away with. Much better to use a higher still sample rate like used on SACD.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 11:08   #25
Cognition
Some Random Guy
(Major Dude)
 
Cognition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NZ
Posts: 1,245
Oh, yeah of course, he was just talking about CDs. You can't allow frequencies above half the sample rate, but DVD and SACD and stuff are higher so yeah the cutoff can be higher.
Cognition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 11:40   #26
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
But this is not the best you can get, it's the minimum you can away with. Much better to use a higher still sample rate like used on SACD.
If you're a bat (and like copy protection).

Quote:
Beside the fact, that DSD is not the state of art, but crap -- Frank Klemm
The answer to the SACD vs. DVD-Audio question is: CD -- DigitalMan
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 11:41   #27
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
I was talking about sample rates, my point is valid .

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 12:33   #28
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
The number of postive blind tests between 24bit/96khz and 14bit/44.1khz is extremely low, and most of them were done with special equipment (most speakers aren't even able to reproduce 20khz).
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 13:02   #29
Cognition
Some Random Guy
(Major Dude)
 
Cognition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NZ
Posts: 1,245
"That's why all new Reference Series models come with a state-of-the-art 19mm titanium dome Hypertweeter™ for massively extended HF performance. Mounted in low diffraction, chrome-plated steel enclosures time aligned with the main array, they deliver flat response to 50kHz and useful energy up to 70kHz." - KEF

They're insane. They also have a 1000W home theatre sub which is over half a metre square and plays down to 16Hz.
Cognition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 13:06   #30
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Great for dog owners.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2004, 22:10   #31
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,285
dude, your java applet hurts my litestep.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009, 18:31   #32
Zax_14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
my best setting is:

preamp cranked to the max

60 - almost to the top
170 - a little below 60
310 - a bit above neutral
600, 1k and 3k - at neutral (+0 dB)
6k -same as 170...basically its the one that controls the drums that are not bass or cymbal (the torns and snare) so it needs to be high for better sound...
12k - same as 310
14k - a little below 6k
16k - as 6k...


...ah screw it...you didn't get anything...ill just link a photo...xDD

http)://img338.imageshack.us/i/26668955.jpg/ (it doesnt want to show the link for some reason...just remove the bracket after "http"...its imageshack...dont worry...)

you can play around a bit but this is the template...bass and treble high, mid-range low, spike at 6k...

Last edited by Zax_14; 4th August 2009 at 18:46.
Zax_14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009, 23:16   #33
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Uhhh, I'm all for metal and all but i'm not for bumping a GD thread. Tuckerm DISAPPROVES.
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 00:18   #34
P$ycHo™
Flakmonkey!
 
P$ycHo™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DM-Campgrounds
Posts: 1,870
it was only 5 years old, no reaon to go "Uhhh"
P$ycHo™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2009, 01:49   #35
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,443
Metal needs no EQ.
Just turn everything ALL THE WAY UP AND ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!

\m/
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2009, 02:22   #36
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
That's not Metal. Can't have Metal without scooped mids.
(yes, during recording)
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2009, 02:53   #37
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
That's not Metal. Can't have Metal without scooped mids.
(yes, during recording)
Don't forget to tune the E string so that it's like a shoelace.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2009, 06:11   #38
Paul_Bags
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 722
Biggest amp and speakers you can find. Metal shouldn't be so much 'heard' as 'felt as a concussive force inside your skull'. And all kinds of concussive force from others in the mosh pit, if your doing it right.

I mean seriously, music that sounds better if you thrash your head back and forth?
Paul_Bags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2009, 06:41   #39
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,562
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
If you have to thrash your head back and forth to make it sound good it must suck quite a bit.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2009, 09:26   #40
kingo'mountain
in need of banned aid
 
kingo'mountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: over the rainb... uh... nevermind
Posts: 2,716
i wholeheartedly agree
kingo'mountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump