Old 20th April 2010, 19:35   #1
headlessgeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: America
Posts: 1
Installing Shoutcast in a VPS Server

HI I have a VPS Server Hosting, and I need to know if there is a step by step tutorial on how can I install ShoutCast and correctly configure it to create a Radio, What are the recomended specs that the VPS server should have... thanks in advance
ps ( VPS under Linux )
headlessgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2010, 12:45   #2
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Today's vps offerings will be fine,

Remember shoutcast was built years ago to perform on very low spec pc.s

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....highlight=wget
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 20:00   #3
DennisDee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Hi,

I wouldn`t like to open new thread, since my question is regareded to VPS + Linux. I am planing to start with offering some shoutcast plans inside of our company. But what I would like to know and noone can not explain me, is real specification of vps. I need to know, how much of ram and CPU I need to run around 10-20 shoutcast stations with max bitrate of 128 kbps and 1000 listeners. By that I don`t mean to run each od station with that specifications, but more like 1 station 100 or 150 listeners. I do realize, that I will need a lot of bandwidth, so I was thinking to get VPS with unmetered plan or something like that.

Next question is, but I do not think that I will get the answer here, since it is not a part of shoutcast in some way, but anyway.

How much resource does AutoDJ really takes? I was planing to take separate vps just for storage of mp3 files for autoDJ. So, do I need better cpu/ram on server where shoutcast will be installed or no?


Greetings,
Denis
DennisDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 02:21   #4
Beatsmith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
I'm looking for the exact same answer but I cant find a definite anywhere!
Beatsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
hosting, vps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump